We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inhospitable welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a room for my elderly mom and brother so they could visit their grand children. My mom is in her 70,s and has a heart condition so needed my brothers help to drive the 250 miles to Reading. Naturally we wanted somewhere comfortable for both of them to stay for a 3 night visit so booked a room with twin beds at the Holiday Inn.

When my mom arrived she was told she would have to move rooms twice as the hotel had run out of twin rooms for Saturday?! We booked this room and paid for it 3 months ago!! When she told the receptionist that this really wasn't acceptable she was told it was just too bad. In the end we had to go to the hotel and remonstrate for an hour before things where resolved. Naturally this upset my old mom and spoiled the start of her holiday.

So we have rated the hotel poor because the nobody needs that sort of heartache when checking into a hotel. Once things where resolved the room , the food and the service where all very good. Shame it took so much hassle to short out.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you to you and your family for choosing our hotel for your 3 night stay.

I was rather surprised however to read your review as you will be fully aware since this was pointed out to you by the assistant front office manager and the reservations manager who both dealt with you on arrival, that you in fact booked a double room and merely requested a twin room. This is no way guarantees a twin room but is merely a request. The reason your mother was unable to book a twin room for all three nights in the first instance was due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked on twin rooms on the second night of your stay from several months ago, as explained to you in detail on check in.

As the assistant front office manager fully appreciated the seniority of your mother and in order to assist, she sought head office approval to overbook on twin rooms for the Saturday evening thereby enabling your mother to stay in a twin room for all three nights as hoped.

It is rather disappointing in the circumstances considering the efforts made by the hotel, that you posted a factually incorrect review and fail to acknowledge that you never had a booking for a twin room in the first instance.

I thank you for your recognition of the good quality of our 2 AA rosette cuisine and our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just stayed overnight on a weekend trip to Highclere Castle. This hotel is ultra modern very clean and hi tech. The staff are friendly and helpful if you need anything. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and varied but all self service even down to the toast. All in all a functional but mostly corporate hotel that does what it says on the tin . ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: all rooms to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our third stay at the hotel and once again it didn't disappoint. The hotel is modern, immaculately clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is plentiful with enough to keep you going for the rest of the day. We used the restaurant and bar on both evenings of our stay and the food was lovely, with a great choice of menu. But what makes this hotel really special are the staff, they are so friendly and helpful and just can't do enough for you - a real credit to the Holiday Inn chain and many could learn from their example. We will definitely be back again next year for our annual reunion with friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanies752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband booked this as a Christmas present. An overnight stay and spa treatment. On arrival, the reception staff were really friendly, underground, free parking included in the price. Went straight for spa treatment, amazing!! The only trouble was our treatment was at 1 and we couldn't book in until 2, so ended up leaving all our stuff in the car ( including our swimwear) and after treatment had to get changed, check in, then went back down to the pool. Saunas were really lovely. The pool was fine, but seating was a little sparse. Room was AMAZING!! We had an executive suite, which was light, spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and had both overhead and hand held shower as well as a bath. Dinner was really tasty and had a good choice. Breakfast was fantastic with a huge choice available, however, being vegetarian, I would have liked the choice of a vegetarian sausage. During both meals, you could not fault the service. Friendly, polite and informative. Checkout was really easy too. As a couple with a young family, we don't get to go away much on our own, but we would definitely try our very best to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mcrslash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked VERY late in the day to stay here to use it as an overnight stop to split up a lot of travelling to and from Legoland.

We thought the rooms very stylish, with clean lines, not lots of stuff littering the place, and the room felt luxurious and spacious. My son liked being Heathrow side of the hotel so he could use the app on his Kindle Fire to work out where the planes were going, but we got no aircraft noise.

The hotel had a pool, but we had very little time other than to sleep and have breakfast, but we appreciate the underground parking and the ease of access by a lift straight to the lobby, which save a lot of effort lumping bags too and fro.

Breakfast was good (and they cooked extras to order for no apparent fee) and I loved that they had black pudding on the full English bar !

Overall, a good night's stay, although my 3 year old did trap his finger in the sofabed, which cut it and caused some alarm at 3a. Not sure if it was my son's fault, but the area where the springs are down the side of the bed near the top of the bed, are very exposed and could trap fingers easily.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_EssUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very new looking and very sharp and clean. But in the middle of an estate full of offices that has cameras everywhere. The Hotel serves the purpose if you are in transit and hard to find fault on really. Staff good. Food good. Secure parking was free to guests and Reception was excellent. Spa was a little bit of a let down. Very basic as Hotels Spa's Go and missed little things like swimming costume dryers and had to wait for booked treatments that I brought to their attention 10 mins after my appointment. Restaurant Waiter was on a mission to get a tip and at the end of Dinner but I decided not too and he showed a change of attitude. Still I did have a lovely nights rest.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrKarisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a 2 day spa break for the 3rd and 4th August, and can honestly say we had a wonderful time. The hotel itself is really lovely, with a great feeling of airiness and space. All the staff were very good and friendly. The breakfast choice was superb, every taste was catered for, hot, cold, vegetarian. The hot food was kept really hot, a nice change from a lot of breakfast buffets, where it can be luke warm and tired.
The spa was really nice and friendly. The mud therapy was to die for, and left my skin really soft and smooth. The gym was good, with lots of equipment. The pool was really lovely, as was the steam room, nice touch with the tea tree steam!
The rooms were nicely decorated, and looked new. The shower was brilliant, we especially liked the fact that you had a static drench shower, AND a hand-held one as well, AND you could have them both on together!
Would definitely come again, especially for a spa break.

Room Tip: go for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tatts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
4.3 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
11.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10

Address: Wharfedale Road | Winnersh Triangle, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range: £62 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional 4 Silver Star 2 AA Rosette luxury Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct10 within close proximity of M4, Reading, Bracknell & Wokingham setting new standards in design & service. Offering tranquil spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with luxury bedding and 32" flat screen TV. Complimentary secure underground parking for all guests and delegates. Extensive Esprit Wellness & Spa facilities including 19m indoor pool, large Life Fitness Gym and Dermalogica Spa Treatments. Enjoy relaxed dining in the 2 AA Rosette Caprice Restaurant with outdoor terrace or visit our stylish Monty’s Bar & Lounge to relax and enjoy a drink or quality bar meal in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying music by our talented resident pianist. 8 state of the art conference and banqueting suites for up to 220 guests with dedicated Conference Manager. Air-conditioning and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout. Ideally located for London (20 minutes) from adjacent Winnersh Triangle station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading m4 Jct10 Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 Winnersh, Wokingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing