We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THE USUAL HOLIDAY INN STANDARD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Certificate of Excellence
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NOT THE USUAL HOLIDAY INN STANDARD”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived here on Friday night for a two night stay. There were four off us and we had booked together through Trivago. The check in was okay but not friendly and the hotel was very modern and spotlessly clean but thats where it ends for all off us. To cut a long story short we all felt that the hotel was being run by the staff with no sense off customer service. Our friends got put in an executive room and we called down to ask if we could (as we there for my 50th!!) they said no as no rooms left. When I mentioned this on Saturday on the way out the reception staff said we should have notified him immediately and he would have given us a room .... !!!! We would not return or recommend as this was only one off a few incidents that shows the staff's lack of interest in going the extra mile. I will say that the breakfast host on Sunday was exceptional, friendly and efficient and he had a smile on ;-) I would like to add that our friends arrived at the Hotel later than we did, so we had checked in two hours before them. It was only when we went to greet them in their room that we noticed they were upgraded and that is when we went to call reception. We would not ask our friends to vacate the room after travelling from Dublin to celebrate my birthday (they did offer!!) but would have expected the staff allocating the rooms to notice that the four off us were travelling together as the rooms all on the one reservation. We have stayed in lots of Holiday Inn's and we have had so many pleasant and WOW experiences that makes you want to go back, but not this time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear mattjac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see such high scores for Sleep Quality and Value. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    374
    117
    50
    57
See reviews for
233
337
53
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friend and I decided to book a spa weekend at this hotel. We were greeted by a very nice person at the Reception - Daniel, but later had to deal with not a very nice lady! She spoke too fast, did not tell us when is the check out and did not give us any information about the Spa.The hotel itself is very modern, with great rooms, comfy bed - everything is great! Spotlessly clean! The Spa was good. The treatment was OK - had better and the room was just too cold to relax. The swimming pool open to all is great. Breakfast was awesome - big selection and naturally squeezed juices. Overall a good stay but could have been better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have used HI chain many times over the years and experienced this hotel for the first time.
The staff at check-in were pleasant and asked us our requirements. All requests were delt with in an efficient manner. The room was very comfy and suited our needs.
Had lunch and breakfast here, the service was excellent and the food was good quality if a little small on potion size for the cost.
Overall, a high standard of hotel within this chain.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here as it was the ideal location for a wedding we were attending in Sonning. Didn't realise this hotel had recently been refurbished or opened and found myself pleasantly surprised by the clean, modern hotel and its facilities.
Our room was very spacious and had all the amenities we required for our one night.
Prior to leaving for the Wedding we sat in the Hotel Bar and was treated to a pianist playing background music which was very pleasant.
The hotel arrange a taxi for us which was a very efficient service too much like the receptionist who served us.

All in all, a great stay and everyone we met was polite and friendly.

Even after my stay, I received faultless service as I had left my property in the room. My email enquiry was returned within hours and once I had paid for the postage of my item, this was returned to me very promptly.

Top Marks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel, really clean, tidy and well presented...but as its a large chain I wouldn't expect anything less.

We went as a family of four and they were really welcoming and made a fuss of the kids, which they loved.

We ate one night in the bar which, although the food was exceptional, was a bit pricey.

Links to London and Legoland are good with just a 30min trip down the M4.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here fro just one night at a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. It is a new, modern hotel The room was lovely with high quality beds, linen and a pillow menu. There was a fridge, flat screen TV , iron and ironing board and free WiFI. Breakfast was great. Full English or continental. Dinner was OK but the veg were very, very undercooked.
The indoor pool was huge with comfy loungers from where you could order a drink. We even saw one couple have a champagne cream tea poolside.
All the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a room for my elderly mom and brother so they could visit their grand children. My mom is in her 70,s and has a heart condition so needed my brothers help to drive the 250 miles to Reading. Naturally we wanted somewhere comfortable for both of them to stay for a 3 night visit so booked a room with twin beds at the Holiday Inn.

When my mom arrived she was told she would have to move rooms twice as the hotel had run out of twin rooms for Saturday?! We booked this room and paid for it 3 months ago!! When she told the receptionist that this really wasn't acceptable she was told it was just too bad. In the end we had to go to the hotel and remonstrate for an hour before things where resolved. Naturally this upset my old mom and spoiled the start of her holiday.

So we have rated the hotel poor because the nobody needs that sort of heartache when checking into a hotel. Once things where resolved the room , the food and the service where all very good. Shame it took so much hassle to short out.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you to you and your family for choosing our hotel for your 3 night stay.

I was rather surprised however to read your review as you will be fully aware since this was pointed out to you by the assistant front office manager and the reservations manager who both dealt with you on arrival, that you in fact booked a double room and merely requested a twin room. This is no way guarantees a twin room but is merely a request. The reason your mother was unable to book a twin room for all three nights in the first instance was due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked on twin rooms on the second night of your stay from several months ago, as explained to you in detail on check in.

As the assistant front office manager fully appreciated the seniority of your mother and in order to assist, she sought head office approval to overbook on twin rooms for the Saturday evening thereby enabling your mother to stay in a twin room for all three nights as hoped.

It is rather disappointing in the circumstances considering the efforts made by the hotel, that you posted a factually incorrect review and fail to acknowledge that you never had a booking for a twin room in the first instance.

I thank you for your recognition of the good quality of our 2 AA rosette cuisine and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
4.3 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Address: Wharfedale Road, Winnersh Triangle, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional AA 4 Silver Star hotel within close proximity of M4, Reading, Bracknell & Wokingham setting new standards in design & service. Offering tranquil spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with luxury bedding and 32" flat screen TV. Complimentary secure underground parking for all guests and delegates. Extensive Esprit Wellness & Spa facilities including 19m indoor pool, large Life Fitness Gym and Dermalogica Spa Treatments. Enjoy relaxed dining in the 2 AA Rosette Caprice Restaurant with outdoor terrace or visit our stylish Monty’s Bar & Lounge to relax and enjoy a drink or quality bar meal in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying music by our talented resident pianist. 8 state of the art conference and banqueting suites for up to 220 guests with dedicated Conference Manager. Air-conditioning and fibre Wi-Fi throughout. Ideally located for London (30 minutes) from adjacent Winnersh Triangle station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading m4 Jct10 Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 Winnersh, Wokingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing