We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor business experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

check-in, lost my details.... please fill in this form. stayed 20+ nights this year previously.

free wifi.... doesn't work. complained and was told - 'well of course it doesn't work.. its free. give me some money to use the one that works'. customer experience= shocking. very expensive too. never coming back...

Room Tip: go to the moat house or the Hilton if you need the internet. 4g or 3g doesn't work here either
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Repeat Guest

Thank you for your repeat business at our hotel. Please accept our apologies that you were inconvenienced by the matters you refer to in your review.

On your most recent stay you booked through American Express Travel who merely provided your name on the booking without any information about your IHG profile.

Upon arrival you mentioned that your details were not on the registration card as previously, and the front office manager took over your check in and explained that the agent had made the booking without any details to identify your IHG profile. She immediately found your profile and attached it to your booking to ensure that you were awarded your reward club points. The hotel as you will appreciate were not at error and perhaps since this seems so important to you, it would be better to communicate this requirement to American Express Travel for any future bookings you have at any hotel as I am aware you mentioned this happens to you all the time at other hotels too.

I apologise that you found the complimentary internet slow for your requirements. Our free internet complies with the IHG standard which specifies the precise bandwidth and fact that it is only intended for light browsing and not large volume emails or streaming. If you do require high speed internet, kindly note we offer this for an additional charge

I also note that on your most recent stay you were even upgraded to an executive room on a goodwill basis so we find your review disappointing in the circumstances.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Superb modern hotel, very friendly staff and helpful staff, good location, very welcoming, excellent evening food and superb breakfast choice and quality with no feeling of being hurried or rushed.
Spotlessly clean truly superb rooms (stayed in executive suite).
Ample free secure parking. Overall very pleased, great value for money, would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katylou555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights wiith my wife. The Hotel may be a few years old, but it looks and feels pretty new. Spotless in public areas and our room. Very comfortable night's sleep.Food and drink a little on the pricey side, but good. Self service breakfast excellent in quality. Service and staff friendliness excellent.
Downsides? a complicated lift system which is too clever for its own good, And more lighting in the bathroom, plus shower caps, would be much appreciated.

Room Tip: Any which do not overlook a road, afford a quieter experience.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived here on Friday night for a two night stay. There were four off us and we had booked together through Trivago. The check in was okay but not friendly and the hotel was very modern and spotlessly clean but thats where it ends for all off us. To cut a long story short we all felt that the hotel was being run by the staff with no sense off customer service. Our friends got put in an executive room and we called down to ask if we could (as we there for my 50th!!) they said no as no rooms left. When I mentioned this on Saturday on the way out the reception staff said we should have notified him immediately and he would have given us a room .... !!!! We would not return or recommend as this was only one off a few incidents that shows the staff's lack of interest in going the extra mile. I will say that the breakfast host on Sunday was exceptional, friendly and efficient and he had a smile on ;-) I would like to add that our friends arrived at the Hotel later than we did, so we had checked in two hours before them. It was only when we went to greet them in their room that we noticed they were upgraded and that is when we went to call reception. We would not ask our friends to vacate the room after travelling from Dublin to celebrate my birthday (they did offer!!) but would have expected the staff allocating the rooms to notice that the four off us were travelling together as the rooms all on the one reservation. We have stayed in lots of Holiday Inn's and we have had so many pleasant and WOW experiences that makes you want to go back, but not this time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mattjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear mattjac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see such high scores for Sleep Quality and Value. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friend and I decided to book a spa weekend at this hotel. We were greeted by a very nice person at the Reception - Daniel, but later had to deal with not a very nice lady! She spoke too fast, did not tell us when is the check out and did not give us any information about the Spa.The hotel itself is very modern, with great rooms, comfy bed - everything is great! Spotlessly clean! The Spa was good. The treatment was OK - had better and the room was just too cold to relax. The swimming pool open to all is great. Breakfast was awesome - big selection and naturally squeezed juices. Overall a good stay but could have been better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Izzie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have used HI chain many times over the years and experienced this hotel for the first time.
The staff at check-in were pleasant and asked us our requirements. All requests were delt with in an efficient manner. The room was very comfy and suited our needs.
Had lunch and breakfast here, the service was excellent and the food was good quality if a little small on potion size for the cost.
Overall, a high standard of hotel within this chain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here as it was the ideal location for a wedding we were attending in Sonning. Didn't realise this hotel had recently been refurbished or opened and found myself pleasantly surprised by the clean, modern hotel and its facilities.
Our room was very spacious and had all the amenities we required for our one night.
Prior to leaving for the Wedding we sat in the Hotel Bar and was treated to a pianist playing background music which was very pleasant.
The hotel arrange a taxi for us which was a very efficient service too much like the receptionist who served us.

All in all, a great stay and everyone we met was polite and friendly.

Even after my stay, I received faultless service as I had left my property in the room. My email enquiry was returned within hours and once I had paid for the postage of my item, this was returned to me very promptly.

Top Marks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
4.3 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
11.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10

Address: Wharfedale Road | Winnersh Triangle, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range: £63 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional 4 Silver Star 2 AA Rosette luxury Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct10 within close proximity of M4, Reading, Bracknell & Wokingham setting new standards in design & service. Offering tranquil spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with luxury bedding and 32" flat screen TV. Complimentary secure underground parking for all guests and delegates. Extensive Esprit Wellness & Spa facilities including 19m indoor pool, large Life Fitness Gym and Dermalogica Spa Treatments. Enjoy relaxed dining in the 2 AA Rosette Caprice Restaurant with outdoor terrace or visit our stylish Monty’s Bar & Lounge to relax and enjoy a drink or quality bar meal in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying music by our talented resident pianist. 8 state of the art conference and banqueting suites for up to 220 guests with dedicated Conference Manager. Air-conditioning and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout. Ideally located for London (20 minutes) from adjacent Winnersh Triangle station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading m4 Jct10 Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 Winnersh, Wokingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing