We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a few teething problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2010

A 3 night stay at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 on Bed and Breakfast basis. Chose this hotel as the previously used hotel in Reading was full due to the Farnborough Air show.
The hotel is situated across the other side of the dual carriageway from Winnersh Triangle Railway Station. There is a footbridge from the Station directly to the hotel.

I was warmly greeted at reception as a Platinum Member and I was given an upgrade to an Executive Room, the features of the hotel were pointed out at check-in.

The room was on the third floor and sumptuously furnished, more Crowne Plaza than Holiday Inn with a smell of 'newness' to it. As it is a new build hotel some thought has been put into the design of the rooms like well positioned plug sockets and a TV that has more than just a handful of channels, however WIFI is still an expensive chargeable extra. There was tea and coffee available, iron and ironing board, bath robe and excellent range of toiletries in the bathroom and a powerful shower.

Breakfast was fine but not spectacular, coffee was brought to the table and was of good quality. The staff were never ready at the allotted opening time which left a few people quite frustrated who had busy schedules to keep to.

Had room service on the first night, it was delivered in good time and was brought up on a table and elaborately laid out however the food did not merit the high charge the hotel were asking for it so I ate elsewhere on the other nights.

The hotel is nicely designed and luckily I did not have problems that some people had as in the reviews and from comments in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

I am not sure what some of the reviewers are talking about, having stayed here 3 times in July already this will be my base when in Reading and surrounding area. To put it bluntly it is 100% better than another HI less then 5 miles away. It is very good value for money while being easy 4miles away on M4 from J11 Reading. I find it better than the Majeski too, which i stay in a lot.

As a new hotel you expect some snagging and i must say the only problem i have had was lack of real feather pillows, although this was sorted within 5 min by very cheery front of house.

The rooms are first class as you would expect, large comfy beds, good rain shower, fast bath and LCD with lots of channels including all the +1 et al type. Best room is the accessable room as its bigger than standard but doesnt not have a bath.

Room wise only gripe is aircon is little weak for a new hotel and take lot of time to cool room to the 16c freezing temp i like and there are no country views ;-)

Reception was quick as was check out, plenty FREE underground parking, large bar area with good menu and a top class Gym and 20M swimming pool, sauna and steam room that would no be out off place in a spa hotel.

To clarify, the pool and Gym area are fantastic with pleanty Life Fitness kit, fantastic pool, large sauna and a great steam room. By far the best in the area.

Food wise, i have had Montys menu twice and it was speedy and did the job. Steak was as required, Lamb burger too. Drinks wise, hotel prices but hey ho, £3.80 for stella is expensive imho. That said, there is a pub 5 min walk away and pleanty of places to eat within 2 miles.

The bar has a plenty of seats, sofas and LCD tv which to be fair need to be off the News channels atTnight, stick it on ITV or BBC please.

Breakfast was fine with pleanty of selection, lots of seating and staff on hand to assist.

Overall i would say the Holiday Inn J10 is well worth any business or lesuire break, being ideally placed, lower costs than other reading hotels. There is no comparison to this and the other HI brands in area, it is miles above the dated expensive hotels.

Well worth 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebear74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

On behalf of the management and owners of the new Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 , I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful feedback following your stay at our hotel.

it is always extremely encouraging for our new team to know that their efforts are recognised and appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your positive commendations with us

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 in the near future

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Service slow. Food very disappointing. My parents had Asparagus Soup which was not hot enough. I had Caesar salad poor presentation and avareage in taste. My husband had steak baguette with chips My Dad ordered a bowl of chips both portions were greasy cold and tasted of stale oil. Sent both back 15 minute wait for new fresh serving of chips still greasy and not cooked properly very disappointing first time visit especially as we live locally to hotel. Have been put off visiting hotel again this time for a meal in dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny_stace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Duration of stay : 2 weeks. I am a traveling consultant and have been to many Holiday Inns. This is by far one of the more stunning new Holiday Inns but right from day 1, the hotel has been riddled with serious service and management issues through most lines of customer service. The general manager is unfortunately hopeless and the crew of people under him suffer. Dinner took 2.5 hrs, phone systems broke down, garage security is faulty and room service randomly services the rooms. I have spoken to numerous guests and they have complained on many fronts.
I am sorry to be so negative about a potential jewel in Holiday Inns portfolio. I have never felt so bitter and disappointed. I have tried to offer constructive help but been ignored by the GM on all fronts. Refuses to acknowledge a platinum member's help.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CharlieSKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments about our new hotel.

We thank you for your constructive feedback about the service issues experienced during our first few weeks of opening as a new hotel.

I am pleased to advise that following a recent AA inspection, we have now been awarded 4 star classification and the matters you refer to have all been addressed.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 in the near future so you can fully enjoy our wonderful new facilities you so kindly complimented us on

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We booked the stay in this new hotel weeks ago. Now arriving we heard from the staff within 3 hours at least 15 time, that they are not open for long and many things are not ready. But the room rates charged are still full and at a premium.

Some experiences:
- My wife called this morning from when she can check in and she received the feedback 13:00h would be no problem. When arriving at 13:40h nobody could recall this statement and no room was ready
- The minibars are not stocked, even not with water, will be done next week
- The safes are not working – technicians to come at Friday
- TV equipment in the gym – told by the gym instructor to be working next week. Later told by some lady which claimed to be part of the owner group, they will never have TV
- Restaurant service and food, just bad. When ordering food at the bar
receiving a beer took 25 minutes,
getting the food took 60 minutes,
Steak ordered well done – served medium
Peppercorn sauce served with the steak – burned
Tuna – dried out and burned,
Pasta tasteless and cold
Finding somebody to manage these issues another 30 minutes
When talking to the manager in charge, she mentioned - Tuna and pasta should be this way .
Another interesting statement was that the newly posted rates have been discounted to accommodate shortcomings, but since we ordered so early we need to pay the full price - bad luck that we are overpaying.

Overall the hotel is not worth a stay and very disappointing. Any understanding of service is completely absent and in particualr the restaurant and bar staff doesn't seem to be trained.

On top when settling my bill for leaving in the morning the hotel wasn't able to issue a VAT invoice. It took me overall more than 30 minutes for the payment process.

We are now happy to move out and the Hilton in Reading offers a much more prfofessional impression.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TLE1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at our hotel immediately after opening. As you will appreciate, in brand new hotels, there are occasional teething problems such as a safe that may not work which can not always be known until the hotel has opened . Fortunately we were able to offer you an alternate room with a functional safe and to address the matters you refer to during your stay

I am pleased to advise that the hotel has gone from strength to strength in the weaks since opening, and we are very proud to announce our classification as 4 Star following an inspection by the AA this month

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 in the near future to fully enjoy our exceptional new facilities

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This hotel is very modern and stylish - Had a few teething issues but it had only been opened a day. We stayed on the executive floor and the rooms were very nice

Food was great and service very sharp - Def stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brighton-Boys-1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful commendations following your recent stay at our new hotel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us which are very important to the management and the team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
0.9 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
2.5 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10

Address: Wharfedale Road | Winnersh Triangle, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range: £62 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional 4 Silver Star 2 AA Rosette luxury Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct10 within close proximity of M4, Reading, Bracknell & Wokingham setting new standards in design & service. Offering tranquil spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with luxury bedding and 32" flat screen TV. Complimentary secure underground parking for all guests and delegates. Extensive Esprit Wellness & Spa facilities including 19m indoor pool, large Life Fitness Gym and Dermalogica Spa Treatments. Enjoy relaxed dining in the 2 AA Rosette Caprice Restaurant with outdoor terrace or visit our stylish Monty’s Bar & Lounge to relax and enjoy a drink or quality bar meal in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying music by our talented resident pianist. 8 state of the art conference and banqueting suites for up to 220 guests with dedicated Conference Manager. Air-conditioning and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout. Ideally located for London (20 minutes) from adjacent Winnersh Triangle station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading m4 Jct10 Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 Winnersh, Wokingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing