We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Food is utter garbage seriously very poor and the staff are out just plain rude. The management are not much better.

Very unhappy with the stay and fire alarm at 02:30 in the morning without even an apology.

Shame really but this could be a good place but food and staff make it a place to avoid at all costs

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel shortly after our opening.

It is by receiving constructive feedback that we are able to improve our standards and service.

I apologise that you were inconvenienced by the fire alarm but you will appreciate that the safety of guests is paramount when the alarm is activated.

I am pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and have recently been awarded 4 star classification by the AA in recogntion

We hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    367
    111
    48
    54
See reviews for
223
324
53
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

On arrival the waitress was very rude - twice! Definitely felt it important that we all knew I was in the wrong for waving at her after waiting for her to come and take our order in the cafe when we were the only people in there. When we were ready to leave I couldn't find anyone to give money to, a staff member rushed around trying to find someone. I went off and paid my car parking fee (£2, £1 if you spend more than an tenner, which of course at that point I hadn't so wasn't entitled to the massive discount!) went back and still no-one to pay, asked again and a lady produced the wrong bill, she corrected it and left, I had to chase after her with the money, and then it took her 11 minutes to bring change. In total I was over 30 minutes paying for some coffee and pastries, and still the only person there!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twyfordlautrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Have always stayed at the Hilton hotel in Reading and will definitely return there in future. This new Holiday Inn, with an extremely complicated name - M4 junction 10 - which it is NOT on, rather located in an area called Winnersh Triangle of Reading, which would be a better name, is not worth staying until it sorts itself out.
The team there don't know what they are doing, have not received the enough training (and they admitted this themselves) and had no concept of customer service. The bar service was slow, the outside of the hotel dull, located in the middle of an industrial site. Parking charges applied until I had to argue with the Receptionist that we had spent money in the hotel. This place really need sorting out and is harming the Holiday Inn brand at the moment. I would not recommend, and will not be staying again. Stay at your own peril, there are much better hotels in Reading and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toughguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed for one night just as a get away and I will definitely be going back. Ok the surroundings aren't fab (on an industrail estate) but having said that ithe hotel is 5 mins off the M4 so easy to get to. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and I felt the service was 2nd to none. Went to explore the Esprit leisure bit and was met by a nice young man who showed us around and explained everything. The pool was lovely as was the sauna and steam room. We were there on a dinner bed and breakfast package which was very good value for money, you get to choose a 3 course meal from their table d'hote menu and there was a good choice of 4 for each course. The food was very nice and the service impeccable, many thanks to Ahmid our waiter who was attentive and made us feel very welcome. Also the recepetion staff were jolly and nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks for a great stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanook27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
715 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

A 3 night stay at Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 on Bed and Breakfast basis. Chose this hotel as the previously used hotel in Reading was full due to the Farnborough Air show.
The hotel is situated across the other side of the dual carriageway from Winnersh Triangle Railway Station. There is a footbridge from the Station directly to the hotel.

I was warmly greeted at reception as a Platinum Member and I was given an upgrade to an Executive Room, the features of the hotel were pointed out at check-in.

The room was on the third floor and sumptuously furnished, more Crowne Plaza than Holiday Inn with a smell of 'newness' to it. As it is a new build hotel some thought has been put into the design of the rooms like well positioned plug sockets and a TV that has more than just a handful of channels, however WIFI is still an expensive chargeable extra. There was tea and coffee available, iron and ironing board, bath robe and excellent range of toiletries in the bathroom and a powerful shower.

Breakfast was fine but not spectacular, coffee was brought to the table and was of good quality. The staff were never ready at the allotted opening time which left a few people quite frustrated who had busy schedules to keep to.

Had room service on the first night, it was delivered in good time and was brought up on a table and elaborately laid out however the food did not merit the high charge the hotel were asking for it so I ate elsewhere on the other nights.

The hotel is nicely designed and luckily I did not have problems that some people had as in the reviews and from comments in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I am not sure what some of the reviewers are talking about, having stayed here 3 times in July already this will be my base when in Reading and surrounding area. To put it bluntly it is 100% better than another HI less then 5 miles away. It is very good value for money while being easy 4miles away on M4 from J11 Reading. I find it better than the Majeski too, which i stay in a lot.

As a new hotel you expect some snagging and i must say the only problem i have had was lack of real feather pillows, although this was sorted within 5 min by very cheery front of house.

The rooms are first class as you would expect, large comfy beds, good rain shower, fast bath and LCD with lots of channels including all the +1 et al type. Best room is the accessable room as its bigger than standard but doesnt not have a bath.

Room wise only gripe is aircon is little weak for a new hotel and take lot of time to cool room to the 16c freezing temp i like and there are no country views ;-)

Reception was quick as was check out, plenty FREE underground parking, large bar area with good menu and a top class Gym and 20M swimming pool, sauna and steam room that would no be out off place in a spa hotel.

To clarify, the pool and Gym area are fantastic with pleanty Life Fitness kit, fantastic pool, large sauna and a great steam room. By far the best in the area.

Food wise, i have had Montys menu twice and it was speedy and did the job. Steak was as required, Lamb burger too. Drinks wise, hotel prices but hey ho, £3.80 for stella is expensive imho. That said, there is a pub 5 min walk away and pleanty of places to eat within 2 miles.

The bar has a plenty of seats, sofas and LCD tv which to be fair need to be off the News channels atTnight, stick it on ITV or BBC please.

Breakfast was fine with pleanty of selection, lots of seating and staff on hand to assist.

Overall i would say the Holiday Inn J10 is well worth any business or lesuire break, being ideally placed, lower costs than other reading hotels. There is no comparison to this and the other HI brands in area, it is miles above the dated expensive hotels.

Well worth 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluebear74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
On behalf of the management and owners of the new Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 , I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful feedback following your stay at our hotel.

it is always extremely encouraging for our new team to know that their efforts are recognised and appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your positive commendations with us

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10 in the near future

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Service slow. Food very disappointing. My parents had Asparagus Soup which was not hot enough. I had Caesar salad poor presentation and avareage in taste. My husband had steak baguette with chips My Dad ordered a bowl of chips both portions were greasy cold and tasted of stale oil. Sent both back 15 minute wait for new fresh serving of chips still greasy and not cooked properly very disappointing first time visit especially as we live locally to hotel. Have been put off visiting hotel again this time for a meal in dining room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny_stace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
3.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
4.3 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
4.1 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Address: Wharfedale Road, Winnersh Triangle, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional AA 4 Star Merit hotel within close proximity of M4, Reading, Bracknell & Wokingham setting new standards in design & service. Offering tranquil spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with luxury bedding and 32" flat screen TV. Complimentary secure underground parking for all guests and delegates. Extensive Esprit leisure facilities including 19m indoor pool, Life Fitness Gym and Dermalogica Spa Treatments. Enjoy relaxed dining in the 2 AA Rosette Caprice Restaurant with outdoor terrace or visit our stylish Monty’s Bar & Lounge to relax and enjoy a drink or quality bar meal in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying music by our talented resident pianist. 8 state of the art conference and banqueting suites for up to 220 guests with dedicated Conference Manager. Air-conditioning and fibre Wi-Fi throughout. Ideally located for London (30 minutes) from adjacent Winnersh Triangle station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading m4 Jct10 Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 Winnersh, Wokingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing