We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Winnersh
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This impromptu outing mid-week was most enjoyable. Nice decor and ambiance and we were made very welcome. The food was great and our dietary requirements were accommodated without fuss. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maiden08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    23
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rooms good, convenient, food good too”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My son and I stayed here for a few days. I found it pleasant and adequate in every way, the rooms were comfortable, the restaurant was decent pub style food. Nothing to complain about in any way.

I would go there again, but would I make a special trip no not really.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pizza Day for our family”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rather than getting takeaway pizza for the family we decided to eat in at the Pheasant Inn as we live nearby. The Pizza's were great and had the largest quantity of toppings I have ever seen on a Pizza. We could not finish and the left over's were put in box for us to take home. We have eaten here a number of times and reading the recent reports the quality can be a bit temperamental. We have always had good food and we eat out a lot in Italy so know how passionate the Italians are about food. Come on Roberto and Luana where has this passion gone! I do agree with one of the comments that "Real Ales" is advertised out side and they only had "Doombar" which is OK. I would expect "Ales" to mean more than one commercial branch. There are so many small brewery's around one or two more would be good. Also the decor is a bit pub rather than Italian restaurant. A few table cloths and set places with candles would help.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank antrrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTLEY HORRIF”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

So after everywhere was fully booked me and my partner were passing by and having previously been recommended and thought it looked nice from the outside we went in and tried it. We got seated straight away (layout was a bit like a school dining room) drinks order taken immediately ... Very timid waited came and took our food order promptly no manners or smile. Food came in 10 mins v impressed but immediate thoughts was pre cooked. Partners beef from roast was tough but was ok. I ordered king prawn asparagus and crab risotto, where do I begin.. Rice was hard, no starchy texture like a risotto should, LOADS of asparagus 3 prawns and NO CRAB. Tried to eat it but after my teeth were full of hard rice and 7/10 mins later when we got asked if food was ok I said not really I complained said I wasn't paying and told my reasons I had no apology and she walked off. 5 mins later returned and just took my plate away. My partner asked for the bill and it came back with the risotto on she said nothing about it being taken off or left on there.. It was still on the bill. When she came to take payment I mentioned it and she said in the most rudest tone of voice you have to pay.. I said I don't have to pay for anything I said my food was awful explained my reasons again. She just replied ' if you don't pay I will call the police'... Absolutely shocking!!! In the end we left the appropriate money and walked out.. All I can say is thankgod we wasn't a old civilised couple being threatened by the police! DO NOT GO

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having read several raving reviews we decided to pop round for dinner. Food is ok pub style but not spectacular. We went on Friday night and there were 5-6 tables @ 8pm. Still a bit buffled how chef is only to replace with fried egg but not poached egg. Staff were friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baleine_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 
Earley, Wokingham
 
Winnersh, Wokingham
Woodley, Wokingham
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing