We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind hosts”
Review of Windsor House

Windsor House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor House
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed with my son whilst cycling the Tarka trail. We arrived looking like drowned rats but where instantly made comfortable, our bikes safely locked away, and our clothes dried. The room was very nicely furnished and warm. Windsor House has lovely gardens and terraces. Sadly we didn't have time to enjoy those, maybe next time. Many thanks for being so hospitable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed for a night while doing the West Country Way cycle ride over Easter weekend. Our hosts were very welcoming, friendly and stored our bikes safely.

The Band B itself is clean, comfortable and really nice. Just round the corner from the town centre.

Many Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather-forestdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in the ground floor room for 3 nights over a weekend and were impressed with Windsor House, we would definitely recommend it. Elaine is an excellent host, breakfasts are great and she is very helpful to guests not so familiar with the area. If we need to stay in Torrington again, this will be our first choice, particularly for the friendly welcome and easy parking.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Only a brief stay during a Coast to Coast bike ride, but it is clear that this is a really excellent b&b nonetheless. We arrived soaked through with filthy bikes and bags (and a bit late), but both owners were very welcoming and helpful. They helped us store our bikes in the shed and get our stuff upstairs, and generally couldn't have been more welcoming. The room (first at the top of stairs) was lovely and quiet, and had a huge private bathroom just across the landing - everything was immaculately clean and tidy. Elaine recommended a pub for food that was just what we needed (The Black Horse) and the breakfast the next morning was great.

Overall, it was just what we needed for our stopover and would be just as great for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have stayed at Windsor House on 3 occasions now. Elaine is a lovely and welcoming hostess. The rooms are beaturifully decorated and really comfrotable and 'roomy'. The breakfast is delicious so beware you just can't say 'No' to Elaine's cooked breakfast!! We would recommend Windsor House to anyone who is looking for a warm, welcoming and 'feel at home' B & B. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed at Windsor House for two weeks (in mid Oct and late Oct/early Nov). I was working around the Torrington area. It was a great place to stay. A perfect B&B. Excellent value for money. A lovely house and a very warm welcome. It is easily one of the best B&Bs that I have stayed at. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruralresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my husband and 18-month-old daughter. Lovely relaxed place with nicely-decorated rooms and comfortable beds. The owners were really friendly and very accommodating to our little one.

We were in the family room, which has level-access from the front door.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Torrington hotels
1.2 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#10 of 12 in Great Torrington
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in Great Torrington
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Great Torrington
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor House

Address: Windsor House New Road, Great Torrington EX38 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Great Torrington
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windsor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor House Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing