We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Find!”
Review of Windsor House

Windsor House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor House
Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Find!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised at how very good this bed and breakfast is. The room was very comfortable, the bed superb (I have a bad back and the mattress was wonderful). Breakfast was ordered at breakfast time and cooked to order. The quality of the food was excellent and very well presented. The hosts very friendly and helpful. What more can I say. I cannot recommend Windsor Lodge enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smugglerscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had a lovely stay here when I stayed for a total of six nights for business. Elaine is a great host and had my full English breakfast ready, waiting for me in the morning. I would stay here again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful house, the decor detail is amazing. Really comfortable rooms. Cyclist friendly with lock up facilities. Brilliant. Really helpfull advice on dining and a fantastc breakfast to get us on our way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterTonyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A comfortable B and B, lots of hot water and Radox supplied very welcome after a days cycling.
bicycles stored safely in the garage. A sitting room viable for guests. Both hosts very helpful.
Good breakfast. We enjoyed a tasty Indian meal in the town.

Room Tip: Choice of twin or double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venetiastent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed with my son whilst cycling the Tarka trail. We arrived looking like drowned rats but where instantly made comfortable, our bikes safely locked away, and our clothes dried. The room was very nicely furnished and warm. Windsor House has lovely gardens and terraces. Sadly we didn't have time to enjoy those, maybe next time. Many thanks for being so hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed for a night while doing the West Country Way cycle ride over Easter weekend. Our hosts were very welcoming, friendly and stored our bikes safely.

The Band B itself is clean, comfortable and really nice. Just round the corner from the town centre.

Many Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather-forestdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the ground floor room for 3 nights over a weekend and were impressed with Windsor House, we would definitely recommend it. Elaine is an excellent host, breakfasts are great and she is very helpful to guests not so familiar with the area. If we need to stay in Torrington again, this will be our first choice, particularly for the friendly welcome and easy parking.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Torrington
6.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
9.8 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#9 of 12 in Great Torrington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor House

Property: Windsor House
Address: Windsor House New Road, Great Torrington EX38 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Great Torrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor House Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing