We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place”
Review of Windsor House

Windsor House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor House
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed for three nights in the downstairs room. The room is tastefully decorated and the bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room temperature was just right. I am a wheelchair user and whilst it was not perfect, it was as near as made no difference. It has a wet room and I was very comfortable. Elaine and her husband could not be more helpful and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. There is off road parking which is a must in Torrington. Hopefully, I will return one day.

Room Tip: I cannot access upstairs so only saw the downstairs bedroom but as the rest of the house is classy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bulkington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Exceptional B&B. Great rooms and . Terrific breakfast with a great view of nearby countryside. Off street parking. Easy walk into the town. Great value. Look no further if you want a B&B in Torrington or surrounding area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a real gem, if you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area, look no further. Lovely friendly owners, wonderful house lovingly restored and decorated. My Wife and I stayed here one night, I would have stayed for longer if I could. We had the four poster room overlooking the rear garden. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, could've slept for week! The loo was a separate room next door but it really didn't matter. Décor design and styling throughout was on a very high standard. Fantastic value, yummy breakfast...shall I go on. Book here now. Very nice china Elaine!! :)

Room Tip: Four poster room - such a comfy bed and nice shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised at how very good this bed and breakfast is. The room was very comfortable, the bed superb (I have a bad back and the mattress was wonderful). Breakfast was ordered at breakfast time and cooked to order. The quality of the food was excellent and very well presented. The hosts very friendly and helpful. What more can I say. I cannot recommend Windsor Lodge enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smugglerscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had a lovely stay here when I stayed for a total of six nights for business. Elaine is a great host and had my full English breakfast ready, waiting for me in the morning. I would stay here again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful house, the decor detail is amazing. Really comfortable rooms. Cyclist friendly with lock up facilities. Brilliant. Really helpfull advice on dining and a fantastc breakfast to get us on our way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterTonyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A comfortable B and B, lots of hot water and Radox supplied very welcome after a days cycling.
bicycles stored safely in the garage. A sitting room viable for guests. Both hosts very helpful.
Good breakfast. We enjoyed a tasty Indian meal in the town.

Room Tip: Choice of twin or double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venetiastent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Torrington
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
559 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
378 reviews
6.0 mi away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#7 of 36 in Bideford
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#10 of 12 in Great Torrington
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Great Torrington
9 reviews
7.3 mi away
West Country Inn
West Country Inn
#31 of 36 in Bideford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor House

Property: Windsor House
Address: Windsor House New Road, Great Torrington EX38 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Great Torrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Windsor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor House Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing