We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the perfect place to meet old friends”
Review of The Cranford Inn

The Cranford Inn
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional country pub set in a peaceful courtyard surrounded by North Devon countryside, serving an excellent range of local & regional ales, craft beer, spirits and wines. Our small but comprehensive menu offers a variety of classic pub dishes with a twist, "old school" bar baskets, and an ever changing specials board of modern cuisine. A friendly welcome awaits at The Cranford Inn.
Valthe, Drenthe, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the perfect place to meet old friends”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having selected the Cranford via TripAdvisor I was pleasantly surprised by the almost otherworldy atmosphere of the pub and its yard, which offer a sense of comfortable seclusion. We had lunch there with old friends to get up to date. The lunch was homely, well cooked and tasty and we spent all afternoon in the pleasant ambiance of the restaurant. Go there and you will not regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    26
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A fair offering”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a reasonable pub/restaurant, but it was not busy so there was not much of an atmosphere. This was a shame because it is an attractive pub in a nice setting.
We were greeted in a friendly way and could have no complaint about how we were served. The food was OK - not very imaginative but a good pub standard. Portions were large and prices reasonable.
In an area with few good places to eat this was a haven really - it just needs a bit of pep to make it a real draw.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bonhomie A-plenty”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Dropped in here in the pouring rain on a Monday lunchtime with our slightly damp dog. We were the only couple plus furry friend in the pub and were made very welcome. Excellent food and convivial company. We would love to go back if we get another chance before we head home. Thoroughly recommended. Hope Wally found his new truck!

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Proper Food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had the lasagne, chips and garlic bread, can honestly say it was the best lasagne I have had in a long time. my husband had rump steak and he said it was very flavoursome. It was all at a reasonable price as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dining Heaven”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fresh, perfectly cooked food with very generous portion sizes, served by wonderful hosts. The friendly welcome and ambience was the perfect way to end a days fishing at this lovely place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cranford Inn also viewed

Great Torrington, Torridge
Great Torrington, Torridge
 
Great Torrington, Torridge
Great Torrington, Torridge
 

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing