We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to enjoy the best of Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranford Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Torrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranford Cottages
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy the best of Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Fab friendly staff always at hand to make sure your stay reaches all expectations! Well presented clean comfortable cottages set in a truly beautiiful location offering views of countryside. If fishing is your thing there are a number of mature, well stocked private lakes, including carp tench and bream. There are well presented grounds to wander in. All cottages are just a few steps away from a pub that does great food based in the grounds where kids are welcome. The cottages are In a good location if you want a picturesque base to explore the surrounding areas. A few miles from stunning beaches (about 20 / 30 min drive) that are good for surfing or just a day at the beach for all the family. Close to Barnsataple (big town), Bideford (small town) and nearest town is Torrington a quaint picturesque town to spend a happy morning in, and close enough to get fresh bread every morning. We have been going for several years with our family and we're going back again this year and cant wait!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardh241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thanks Rich, Great as always to have you and your family stay, Thanks for the kind words and look forward to seeing you all again... Best wishes Paul & Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Spent a fortnight at the Cranford Cottages in August and can’t recommend them highly enough. Pretty cottages set in a courtyard within 10 paces of a friendly pub which serves food so there’s no need to cook – touch! The cottages are spotlessly clean with two bedrooms, lounge, bathroom and kitchen – they also have an outside patio area and lovely views and are fully equipped with anything you may need.

Husband fishes and was very impressed with well stocked (private) lakes and very well maintained swims and had a great couple of weeks angling with something for everyone to catch if fishing is your thing. For all coarse angling fishing widows out there who have spent weekends/holidays in less than pretty surroundings, Cranford Cottages are definitely for you! But we would go back even without the fishing – beautifully maintained grounds in a picture perfect setting and so peaceful and relaxing.

Also, a great base for everything that North Devon has to offer - so near to so many things, Bideford, Bude, lovely beaches, and loads of attractions for kids within very easy reach – something for everyone.

Last but certainly not least, hosts, Paul & Nicky, are fantastic - so friendly and welcoming and couldn’t do enough for us – will be a treat to go back – and we definitely will!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 006andahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
What a lovely review, kind words and we are so very glad to enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your next stay and thanks again. Best wishes Paul & Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Spent a long weekend in Devon, The cottages are beautiful, in a lovely courtyard next to a pub, what more could you want!!! 2 bed with bathroom, lounge and kitchen, we were made to feel very welcome. Beautiful views of the Devon countryside, they have a lake on site for fishing and we saw some clay pigeon traps next to the lake. 10 minutes from the seaside, spent a great day out at the big sheep great fun for the family, also 15-20 minutes to Atlantic village outlet shopping village with great adventure park kept me n the kids busy while the wife went shopping!! Loved it and will definitely be going back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Leightonm347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thanks for your Kind words, Niki & I are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit, Apologies for the late response. All the best for the rest of 2012 Paul & Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My friends and I spent two nights at the Cranford Inn while visiting the area. We loved it! The cottages were actually small apartments where we had a kitchen, a living room, two bedrooms and a bathrooms. It was a very nice surprise as we didn't expect the cottage to be so big (we thought we would have just one bedroom). The decoration is traditional, but with a little French touch, certainly because of the French owner. We were delighted to see lavender bags in our rooms. In addition, the restaurant is beautiful: a typical English pub that is very charming. The food there was delicious. The menu offers traditional English pub food, but also surprising meals, such as venison sausages, or great French specialities and desserts. We had the pear and almond tart: it was amazing! Also, the owners were lovely. We had great conversations together and they were really helpful. I think if you want to relax in a traditional English pub with a little "quelque chose", then you should definitely stop by the Cranford Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Torrington
10.1 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
5.2 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Week Farm
#2 of 4 in Bridestow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riverside Cottage Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranford Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford Cottages

Property: Cranford Cottages
Address: Crantor St. Giles In The Wood, Great Torrington EX38 7LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Great Torrington
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cranford Cottages, we are a family run business with over 30 years experince, come and relax in our self catering holiday cottages set in our glourious grounds, enjoy a fabulous evening in our busy friendly traditional devonshire longhouse pub, we are located in rurual North Devon, nestled amongst England's wonderful countryside, with both Dartmoor and Exmoor both a leisurely drive away, you can be sure to unwind and relax in a tranquil and idilic location ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranford Cottages Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing