We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fishing holiday”
Review of Cranford Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Torrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranford Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fishing holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Couldn't have wished for a better place to stay, so relaxing accommodation was comfortable and spotless, great location even managed to catch a few carp. Thanks to Paul & Niki for making us welcome. Also the Cranford Inn was a great place to spend the evening and good luck to Sharon , Adrian & Wally hope it all goes well for them. So glad we discovered it. We will definitely be coming back . Tony and Mandy Somerset

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Manager at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thanks a million you two, glad you enjoyed your stay, i'll pass on your best wishes to the pub. Doors always open
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just returned from a damp week in Devon but this did not spoil our time at Cranford Cottages. Fishing was a bit off but we still had a great time.Paul was the perfect host and kept saying he was sorry for things he had no control over ,like the weather and the fish not feeding.He also offered to take us to a couple of pubs as the pub on site was not doing food,nice gesture.Cranford is a lovely place to visit and hope to return soon.
Dave,Robert & Keith

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Deejay653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Manager at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thanks Gent's, Glad you all enjoyed your stay and you're always welcome back anytime.
Here to a good summer….Fingers Crossed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We have just had a fantastic weeks fishing at cranford cottages the fishing was excellent and fish in top condition our cottage was very nice and the lakes are in top condition.We have stayed in other places and thay are not a patch on cranford cottages,Paul and Niki are great hosts and Paul is always on hand if you have a problem of any sort, pub served some fine food and ale.We will be returning next year i thank Paul and Niki for a fantastic week and see you next year, thanks again Steve & Rich

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thanks Steve & Rich, Glad you both enjoyed your stay and your very welcome to return whenever you fancy. don't forget to send me the pics and i'll put them on the website. Enjoy your summer. All the best Paul & Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks break at Cranford Cottages and we had a fantastic time, our cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped and overlooked the large lake at the back and the front door was only 16 paces from the pub which served good food and well kept ale. The fishing was excellent and the fish themselves were in superb condition. The surroundings are well maintained and picturesque and the wildlife is in abundance.The only thing that could have been better was the weather, but it didn't put a damper on anything. For those who don't like fishing, there are plenty of towns, beaches and attractions not far away that makes Cranford Cottages an ideal base. Paul and Niki are great hosts and always there for help and advice. We don't usually go back to the same place twice, but Cranford is the exception and we look forward to returning later this year. Keep up the good work and see you soon!! Rae & Toby.

Room Tip: All cottages are of the same high standard although we prefer to be overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thanks for the kind words you two, we are all glad you enjoyed your stay & looking forward to seeing you both again....fingers crossed with some sun, i'm sure it's out there somewhere. can you tell Toby it's was a "Spotted Flycatcher"... Have a super summer all the best Paul & Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from a second visit to Cranford & loved every minute of it again. We stayed in a different cottage this time which was every bit as good as the first visit. They have recently been refurbished & are a pleasure to stay in. All you need for a perfect relaxing break. The picturesque lakes which are beautifully looked after are located virtually in your back garden & contain lots of fish in top condition. We managed to catch quite frequently even in the cold weather. Paul & Niki are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome & to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Trust me we will be returning on a regular basis from now on!!! We have stayed in numerous similar venues over the years but found this to be the friendliest along with the personal touch that is missing from a lot of others. The pub is perfectly located in a courtyard along with the cottages & also provides good home cooked food & a warm friendly welcome from great staff & locals. Many thanks Paul & Niki, see you again soon!!! M&J

Room Tip: All as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concrete1Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks a Million you two, so glad you've found us and even more that you enjoyed your second stay. Always a pleasure and looking forward to seeing you both again in the Autumn. Have a great summer.... Paul & Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife Maggie and I have just returned from a few days at Cranford. We stayed in Dovecote cottage which we found to be incredibly comfortable and very clean. So much so that we did not want to come home! Our cottage was literally a few paces form the main lake, so Ideal for fishing at this time of year. Nice and close to nip back for a warm up from time to time. As well as the outstanding accomodation I was particularly impressed with how well managed the whole site is and as a keen angler, how nice the lakes looked, especially considering it's winter. The owner Paul is a really knowledgable angler and his advice soon put me on th fish. The fishing was just like the old days before commercial fisheries came along and I have to say that I don't think I have enjoyed fishing quite as much for years. Considering it was mid February I was surprised at how many fish I caught and at the pristine condition they were in. The owners were always on hand to help with anything, Paul even dragged himself out of the shower one evening to come and rescue us when I stupidly locked us in the cottage!
On Thursday 14th we enjoyed a romantic meal in the Pub restaurant and found the food to be excellent and very good value for money.
This is the first time we have ever given an excellent rating to anywhere we have stayed, but I really cannot fault Cranford.

Room Tip: The cottages facing the lakes have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Manager at Cranford Cottages, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thanks Jeff, glad you both enjoyed your stay. Nice to know all are hard work is appreciated especially when you've expericed us in winter, summers a real treat and we love it when new anglers share our passion.... Be a pleasure to have you back... Thanks again Paul & Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have recently returned from a lovely break at the Cranford Cottages and had the most enjoyable and relaxing time.
The cottage we stayed in this time was a really good size for four adults, being pleasantly furnished and comfortable. Each cottage also has an outside seating area, with some overlooking one of the fishing lakes. Be sure you have plenty of bread scraps for the ducks that visit the cottages on a regular basis! Our daughter loved looking out for the ducks and other wildlife and my partner became quite an obsessive "twitcher"!
The kitchen is well equipt, the bedrooms have plenty of hanging space and storage and the beds are really most comfortable.
The pub on site is a stones throw from the cottages and provides good food and a warm welcome. Children and families are catered for and there is a wide choice of wines, spirits and beers.
The Cranford Cottages provide an ideal base for fishing breaks and family holidays alike. There are some beautiful towns and beaches only a short journey away and several attractions to keep all the family entertained including The Big Sheep, Atlantic Village, Dartington Glass and the miles of sandy beaches North Devon has to offer. The nearby towns of Bideford and Barnstaple, provide a wide variety of dining options, not forgetting the cafes serving traditional Devon cream teas!
We have been staying at the cottages for several years and look forward to going back again in the years to come.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Torrington
10.1 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#5 of 12 in Great Torrington
45 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#10 of 12 in Great Torrington
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Umberleigh
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in Great Torrington
9 reviews
2.9 mi away
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Great Torrington
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranford Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford Cottages

Property: Cranford Cottages
Address: Crantor St. Giles In The Wood, Great Torrington EX38 7LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Great Torrington
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cranford Cottages, we are a family run business with over 30 years experince, come and relax in our self catering holiday cottages set in our glourious grounds, enjoy a fabulous evening in our busy friendly traditional devonshire longhouse pub, we are located in rurual North Devon, nestled amongst England's wonderful countryside, with both Dartmoor and Exmoor both a leisurely drive away, you can be sure to unwind and relax in a tranquil and idilic location ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranford Cottages Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing