We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Cranford Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Torrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranford Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from spending a wonderful week at the Cranford cottages. This was our first visit here. The accommodation is clean, very well equipped and very comfortable, you really couldn't wish for more, set in beautiful Devon countryside and of course 3 well kept fishing lakes on your doorstep. Lovely pub right next to cottages. My husband and son really enjoyed the fishing. Paul and Nikki are great. Paul was really friendly, welcoming, helpful and relaxed and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. We had decided on the first day that we would be returning. Ideally situated for visiting all Devon has to offer. If you like fishing and beautiful countryside you've found the ideal place. Thank you Paul, Nikki and Archie.........
Bruce, Sally and Joe

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Salcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Glad you all enjoyed your stay, thanks for the feedback much appreciated. Hope you all enjoy the rest of the summer and hope to see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Cranford Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

A brilliant 5 days at the Cranford, weather was kind and this part of Devon looks so lovely when the sun co-operates. This was our first visit. Lovely cottage, very comfortable and all facilities that you could ask for. Beds very comfy. A very big thanks to Paul who made us feel at home straight away. We could not have asked for much more. Fishing was a bit slow to begin with but picked up as the week went on. That was partly me and partly the heat I think. Once I got into the swing of it, I was bagging up on Tench, Bream and Rudd. The carp eluded me this week but as Tench are one of my favorite species, no worries, we will be back next year. A big thanks to all. Rick

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks Rick, glad you all enjoyed your stay, welcome back anytime. Enjoy the rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Couldn't have wished for a better place to stay, so relaxing accommodation was comfortable and spotless, great location even managed to catch a few carp. Thanks to Paul & Niki for making us welcome. Also the Cranford Inn was a great place to spend the evening and good luck to Sharon , Adrian & Wally hope it all goes well for them. So glad we discovered it. We will definitely be coming back . Tony and Mandy Somerset

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Manager at Cranford Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thanks a million you two, glad you enjoyed your stay, i'll pass on your best wishes to the pub. Doors always open

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just returned from a damp week in Devon but this did not spoil our time at Cranford Cottages. Fishing was a bit off but we still had a great time.Paul was the perfect host and kept saying he was sorry for things he had no control over ,like the weather and the fish not feeding.He also offered to take us to a couple of pubs as the pub on site was not doing food,nice gesture.Cranford is a lovely place to visit and hope to return soon.
Dave,Robert & Keith

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deejay653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Manager at Cranford Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks Gent's, Glad you all enjoyed your stay and you're always welcome back anytime.
Here to a good summer….Fingers Crossed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We have just had a fantastic weeks fishing at cranford cottages the fishing was excellent and fish in top condition our cottage was very nice and the lakes are in top condition.We have stayed in other places and thay are not a patch on cranford cottages,Paul and Niki are great hosts and Paul is always on hand if you have a problem of any sort, pub served some fine food and ale.We will be returning next year i thank Paul and Niki for a fantastic week and see you next year, thanks again Steve & Rich

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thanks Steve & Rich, Glad you both enjoyed your stay and your very welcome to return whenever you fancy. don't forget to send me the pics and i'll put them on the website. Enjoy your summer. All the best Paul & Niki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks break at Cranford Cottages and we had a fantastic time, our cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped and overlooked the large lake at the back and the front door was only 16 paces from the pub which served good food and well kept ale. The fishing was excellent and the fish themselves were in superb condition. The surroundings are well maintained and picturesque and the wildlife is in abundance.The only thing that could have been better was the weather, but it didn't put a damper on anything. For those who don't like fishing, there are plenty of towns, beaches and attractions not far away that makes Cranford Cottages an ideal base. Paul and Niki are great hosts and always there for help and advice. We don't usually go back to the same place twice, but Cranford is the exception and we look forward to returning later this year. Keep up the good work and see you soon!! Rae & Toby.

Room Tip: All cottages are of the same high standard although we prefer to be overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thanks for the kind words you two, we are all glad you enjoyed your stay & looking forward to seeing you both again....fingers crossed with some sun, i'm sure it's out there somewhere. can you tell Toby it's was a "Spotted Flycatcher"... Have a super summer all the best Paul & Niki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from a second visit to Cranford & loved every minute of it again. We stayed in a different cottage this time which was every bit as good as the first visit. They have recently been refurbished & are a pleasure to stay in. All you need for a perfect relaxing break. The picturesque lakes which are beautifully looked after are located virtually in your back garden & contain lots of fish in top condition. We managed to catch quite frequently even in the cold weather. Paul & Niki are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome & to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Trust me we will be returning on a regular basis from now on!!! We have stayed in numerous similar venues over the years but found this to be the friendliest along with the personal touch that is missing from a lot of others. The pub is perfectly located in a courtyard along with the cottages & also provides good home cooked food & a warm friendly welcome from great staff & locals. Many thanks Paul & Niki, see you again soon!!! M&J

Room Tip: All as good as each other
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concrete1Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford-Cottages, Owner at Cranford Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thanks a Million you two, so glad you've found us and even more that you enjoyed your second stay. Always a pleasure and looking forward to seeing you both again in the Autumn. Have a great summer.... Paul & Niki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Torrington hotels
3.1 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#4 of 12 in Great Torrington
48 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#10 of 12 in Great Torrington
21 reviews
2.9 mi away
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Great Torrington
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
#6 of 12 in Great Torrington
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cranford Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford Cottages

Address: Crantor St. Giles In The Wood, Great Torrington EX38 7LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Great Torrington
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cranford Cottages, we are a family run business with over 30 years experince, come and relax in our self catering holiday cottages set in our glourious grounds, enjoy a fabulous evening in our busy friendly traditional devonshire longhouse pub, we are located in rurual North Devon, nestled amongst England's wonderful countryside, with both Dartmoor and Exmoor both a leisurely drive away, you can be sure to unwind and relax in a tranquil and idilic location ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranford Cottages Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing