We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen party House”

Review of Beaford House

South View of Beaford House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South View of Beaford House
Beaford House Open staircase from Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
South View of Beaford House
Beaford House
Open staircase from Drawing Room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
Bedroom No 8
Dining Room
Kitchen
Main Entrance
Devon cream tea!!
Kitchen
Private Hot Tub
Horses surround the grounds
snow winter 2010
Views from the terrace
Main Entrance
Civil Ceremonies licensed
Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Great Torrington, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lucygilla...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Hen party House”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had such a fantastic time at Beaford House. The views are stunning and it has all the facilities you need and more for a great weekend (or week!) away! We made Use of the pool, hot tub and brilliant new BBQ hut in the garden. The house was clean and very well stocked for large gatherings/parties. The main room is huge with a table to seat more than 20 people and plenty of space to play games inside if the weather isn’t good. There is an AGA and electric oven, industrial dishwasher, so no one has to fight over the washing up and vast amounts of crockery/cutlery etc. It is in a very quiet area with beautiful surrounding countryside and animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
So pleased you all enjoyed your weekend.. look forward to welcoming any of you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling a little tired! Both Beaford house and me, after 7 nights in uncomfortable beds.”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Yes this is a perfect place for a large gathering, and the kitchen, rooms, bedding, pool, hot-tub are all extremely clean - which is a huge plus, however it is in desperate need of a cash injection and an update.

The room decor, bathroom and the beds do not feel that they have been updated since the 1980's - it feels in need of some TLC. The are not quaint, just dated.
Small things like broken tiles and leaky taps, power showers that trickle water (we managed to fix 3 of them) - but most, the highly uncomfortable beds. Yes I have a bad back so I am very conscious, but it also meant I lay on all of them. This stops me recommending this holiday rental.

On the plus side, stunning view, well maintained grounds and very clean all round - but other competition does it better these days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Such a shame you didn't mention any of your issues during your stay, we would have done our best to sort things out. Feel a little surprised you mention the house is dated !! It is constantly updated, rooms revamped and decorated and after all the house is a country Manor not a modern house..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenbake...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous venue for a special birthday weekend!”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a wonderful weekend at Beaford House earlier this year to celebrate my 40th birthday with friends. Every couple had a glamorous bedroom and the venue catered to everyone's different wants and needs- quite an achievement when you're trying to keep a big group happy! The kitchen was well equipped and there was lots of room to prepare a three course dinner which we ate together in the huge function room/ dining room and other meals. It ticked every box for facilities with the hot tub just the icing on the cake. The scenery is beautiful and we had lovely walks on the doorstep for us and the dog. So lovely that she was welcome too! We will definitely return and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jbloggs12...
1 review
“Our Wedding”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The venue is stunning and great scenic views which make brilliant photo back drop out in the garden. The venue was perfectly sized being able to seat, for us, 84 day guests. We brought in our own caterers, bar and disco. The kitchen is only equipped for a small number of guests due to it being a country house kitchen not a catering one, so be prepared for your caterers to request to bring more equipment and may be limited.
With plenty of time to decorate and personalise the venue there was no rush to tidy up giving us a great opportunity to relax with close family in the hot tub. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
So pleased you both had a wonderful day.... would love a photo or 2 to use on our website please !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktb-1984
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We rented the house from Friday to Sunday early June for a gentleman's stag weekend. I can't fault in anyway! From the booking to facilities to the garden it was perfect!! I would more than highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review.. glad you had a great stag weekend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarW76
1 review
“40th birthday celebrations”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My friend & I both turned 40 in September and we wanted to celebrate with our friends in a country house. After months of searching we found Beaford House, which ticked all our boxes, great location, plenty of bedrooms with good bed ratio for our friends to share or couples to have their own en-suite room and plenty of room to cook & dine. When we arrived at Bedford house we were overwhelmed with the beauty of the house, gardens and breath taking views. The swimming pool and hot tub was an added bonus to enjoy both the sunrises & sunsets. We found the house very clean and well equipped for everyone's needs. The owner Katie was extremely welcoming and provided a professional service throughout. We all thoroughly enjoyed our weekend & would highly recommend staying at Beaford House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
So pleased you had a great weekend.... look forward to welcoming any of you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
“Perfect venue for my sister's hen party!”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016

20 of us stayed at Beaford house as a surprise for my sister's hen party. The house was beautiful, clean, and the perfect size for our large group. The booking process was made very easy for us and I always received quick responses to my emails. The stay was affordable too. I would definitely recommend Beaford house!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your weekend.. look forward to welcoming you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing