We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break away in beautiful setting & very attentive hostess!”
Review of Way Barton

Way Barton
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Torrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Way Barton
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful break away in beautiful setting & very attentive hostess!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We recently stayed at Way Barton and can thoroughly recommend it. Dawn, our hostess was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. She greeted us with a tasty cream tea in her lovely sitting room. The whole house is filled with interesting artefacts from around the world and everywhere was clean and immaculate. The bedroom was very comfortable with lots of lovely touches. The breakfast was the best we'd ever experienced at a B&B ( or any top class hotel come to that!) from the home cooked peaches and cranberries to the perfectly cooked scrambled eggs. All this and set in beautiful grounds too-exquisite!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole5610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a quality B&B through and through, from start to finish. A wonderful setting with excelllent walks around the grounds and lake, & a chance to see the beautiful horses, donkeys & ducks :-).
The room was extremely comfortable, quality furniture & equipped with everything, spotlessly clean too. Breakfast was magnificent & beautifully served. We can't wait to stay again!
Finally our biggest accolade must go to our host, Dawn as she did everything possible to make our stay the pleasure that it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soutenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Beautiful B&B and lovely setting. My partner and I stayed for a friends wedding and we could not fault the service. Dawn was such a great host and she cooked the best breakfasts on earth! Especially what we needed the morning after the wedding. Very peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoroccoLover1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Outstanding because of the warm welcome with tea and scones, the beautiful rooms with elegant furniture, the lovely linen and huge fluffy white towels and an excellent breakfast with eggs gathered only minutes earlier, home made jam and lots of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My kids and I stayed at Way Barton and had a wonderful time. They particularly loved the donkeys! Dawn made us feel very welcome and the breakfasts were delicious. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt well looked after. The rooms were very comfortable and the setting is so peaceful with great views of the Devon countryside. A great location to explore the Tarka Trail, Dartmoor, Rosemoor and Clovelly with lots to do and see in the area. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

If you want 5 star treatment without breaking the bank then this renovated farm house is for you. Beautiful, welcoming house lovingly furnished. The bedroom was spacious, the bed comfortable and lots of toiletries available.The breakfast was outstanding - fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurts, variety of cereals and whatever you wanted cooked to order. Although we had tea making facilities in the room (fresh milk provided) we were greeted in the afternoon with fresh scones (to die for!) and gorgeous jam and cream with a pot of tea. Since the summer has been a little cool, Dawn made sure we were comfy by putting the heat on eve and early morning. Every attention to detail considered. The grounds are extensive, you can talk to the horses and donkeys and wander round the lake. Good eating places are within 2 and 6 miles.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My fiancé and I have stayed at Way Barton on three occasions and have had a wonderful stay each time. Dawn, the owner, provides a fantastic welcome, the rooms are well decorated and beds very comfortable!! In addition, the breakfast is outstanding and plenty of it!!

The grounds are idyllic and the location is perfect for travelling to the North Devon coastline as well as down to Exeter.

We would definitely recommend Way Barton and I think the fact we've stayed here three times and are booked in for a fourth at the end of this year says it all!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKPWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Torrington hotels
2.3 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#5 of 12 in Great Torrington
45 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#10 of 12 in Great Torrington
18 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Great Torrington
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in Great Torrington
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Way Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Way Barton

Property: Way Barton
Address: Sherwood Green Cross | St. Giles in the Wood, Great Torrington EX38 7JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Great Torrington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Way Barton Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing