We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply 'Awesome'”
Review of Way Barton

Way Barton
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Torrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Way Barton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply 'Awesome'”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I think I have summed up the experience of staying with Dawn at Way Barton....Quite simply the best Bed and breakfast you are ever likely to find. From Dawn's warm welcome to the very sad good bye you will be pampered and made to feel extremely welcome. The beds are extremely comfortable and the breakfasts are (or should be legendary!) Make sure you're hungry at breakfast time as Dawn will ensure you are 'fully fuelled' for the day....All in all a wonderful experience...I have stayed several times now and most certainly will be back...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The best B&B we have ever stayed in...cant wait to return. Set in fabulous countryside...very peaceful. Luxury 5* accomodation...fine linen...fluffy towels ...lots of extras. Greeted on arrival with tea and freshly baked scones with jam and clotted cream served in the beautiful orangery. The best Full English Breakfast ever. Great selection of fresh fruit. Impossible to find any fault.

Room Tip: All are lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynmhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in Dawn's new cottage (having stayed in the other one the year before). Lovely building and Dawn is an excellent host! Peaceful surroundings. All in all a great holiday!
Plenty to do in the area and some good places to eat out nearby

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyemalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Shetland Islands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were here for just the one night but were made to feel like good friends by the wonderful hostess. We were pampered more here than we have experienced anywhere else and nothing was too much trouble.
The location, room and breakfast were superb and is the standard that all b&b establishments should strive to achieve !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shetlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a one night B&B stay at Way Barton before attending an event in Barnstaple. The standard of accommodation is superb. The bedroom was extremely comfortable with many delightful little homely touches that gave it charm. Dawn, the owner, couldn't have been more caring and hospitable. There was a delicious cream tea in the lounge on arrival, and our every need had been carefully thought through. The lounge is very comfortable with a log burning stove and many DVDs available with the TV. In the morning we had a wonderful farmhouse style breakfast, including freshly cooked plums which were delicious. We will definately stay at Way Barton again when next in North Devon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilaryH847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My partner was doing a course at the Soap Kitchen in Great Torrington and I found this B&B through an internet search and I'm very glad I did. The farm is a lovely old building set in beautiful countryside - ideal if you like peace and quiet. Dawn, the proprietor, looked after us wonderfully for the 3 nights we stayed: the kind of personal, genuine service you don't get in hotels. By way of example, there had been a large snowfall the day before we were due to come and she kept us updated throughout the day as there was a real danger we couldn't get there. We were also very late arriving - nearly 11.00 in the evning which was no problem for her.

The room we stayed in was really comfortable and spacious and we had use of a lovely lounge in the evening with a fire lit each evening. Breakfast was great with local produce and we were also treated to fantastic scones in the afernoon when we came back.

The weekend was a Christmas present and this worked out perfectly. We couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Perfect B&B, perfect hosting. If you're thinking of going, do.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

When we arrived we were welcomed with a fresh baked Devon cream tea which was absolutely delicious, especially after a long drive. We stayed in the cottage which is delightful with its own private garden and wonderful views over the lake. We had the biggest and best ever breakfasts in the main house and were made to feel completely at home.

Close to fantastic beaches and beautiful countryside, we will definitely be going back to Way Barton, I can honestly say it was the best holiday I have ever had!

Fiona Beddoes-Jones

Room Tip: Dawn is so helpful, if you speak to her about your requirements she will put you in the best room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Torrington hotels
3.3 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#10 of 12 in Great Torrington
21 reviews
2.3 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#5 of 12 in Great Torrington
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in Great Torrington
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Great Torrington
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Way Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Way Barton

Property: Way Barton
Address: Sherwood Green Cross | St. Giles in the Wood, Great Torrington EX38 7JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Great Torrington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Way Barton Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing