We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top attraction.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torrington 1646

Torrington 1646
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Top attraction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

History- boring. Civil War- worthy and pompous.
WRONG!
This place is amazing, made fascinating by excellent presentation of real interest. Very personalised- for one part there were just the two of us and a re-enactor.
It was indeed interesting and humorous, and we learned facts we'd never known before, and saw aspects we'd never thought of in events and life in the past.
Parking is right outside, but beware, you'll need to pay for more than 2 hours (not expensive but the whole thing can take nearly 3, and if you stop for a coffee or snack you'll go into the fourth hour.
We handled muskets, we took part in military tactics, we looked at clothing, the customs and attitudes, we walked around a herb garden. We went out into the dark of Torrington streets in 1646, and saw bodies, punishments. And it would have interested the PlayStation generation as much as it did us!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cafe..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Met a friend for lunch...which extended into just over 2 hours.. The staff just let us have our chat in peace. Gorgeous salad sandwich for me and a bacon sandwich for my friend...YUMMY.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahgemini59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE PAST BROUGHT TO LIFE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our second visit to 1646 and it will not be our last. It was certainly worth it and the characters taking us round were wonderful and in costume which all helped to bring history back to us. They encouraged us to take part and Colin was put in stocks and Kath was dressed up as a lady of the time and Colin dressed as a soldier in full armour. They even take us back to the butcher/surgeons theatre who showed how surgical procedures were done in that era, again with audience participation!!! The whole experience was mind boggling (to say the least) and would strongly recommend it to anyone, young or old.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin and Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“History comes alive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

An immensely interesting and humorous, interactive encounter with 17th century life during the upheavals of the English Civil War. This was out third visit, and our Aussie guests were captivated by the actors who took us through the details of daily life, armaments, the herb garden, medical practices, and all the stuff you were not told at school. I now know which leaf to select for use in the privy, and why Doctors came to be called Quacks!
It's best to book in advance to be sure of a tour at a suitable time. We took the two hour tour, but a one hour tour is available for those with less time to spare. Enjoy refreshments in the cafe, served by volunteers in full period costume. The Rat Pasty however, is not for the faint hearted!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Horrible history and a lot of laughs on a cloudy afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We heard about this museum from an elderly lady in a country pub who assured us our sons (9 and 12) would love it. Mmmmm. Well, the weather was uncertain, we'd visited Dartington Glass, and had lunch at the excellent Brown's deli, so we went along.

We are so glad we did. It is a small museum, where you get handed from one historical figure to the next as you wander around. The staff are amazing - funny, eccentric and very knowledgeable. Give yourself over to the experience and you will find yourself helping out at an amputation (!!!!), being treated for toothache, and learning to use a pike and a sword. We will all remember this afternoon - and the horrible history we learned - for a long time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torrington 1646 also viewed

Great Torrington, Torridge
Great Torrington, Torridge
 
Great Torrington, Torridge
 

Been to Torrington 1646? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing