We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torrington 1646

Torrington 1646
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Found this really small cafe which is part of the Torrington 1646 site.
Fresh cake and coffee and a vast range of marmalades, chutneys and jams. Mmmmm
Free Wi-Fi also provided and tourist information office in the same building.

Helpful?
Thank SexyEag1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Journey back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The brochure suggested booking a tour and so called to do so. Not sure that it was obligatory though.

We arrived, and were greeted by a character who immediately involved the children in some banter and engaged with them straight away. The tour is in 4/5 parts and as it seemed to be quite low key (in terms of numbers) we were joined on the tour by new arrivals as we went around.

the whole thing was very informative, very engaging, with adults and children being invited to participate in all manner of things - pike drill, dressing up in uniform, head in the stocks / pillory etc.

It was a bit "Horrible Histories comes to life" for the kids and very enjoyable throughout our 2.5hrs - 3 hrs.

I think it was £24 for a family of four and the car park is right next door, and would suggest putting 4hrs on your ticket.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The grand kids loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was the second time the girls visited this attraction last time their mum went in with them, this time grandad and I went. We thoroughly enjoyed it, the girls ( aged 9 & 11 ) volunteered to assist and when grandad helped out the 'surgeon 'with his operation they were very amused. We all had a great time and I think the girls learnt things they did not know before their visit. We enjoyed soup and a lovely roll afterwards in the cafe. A very pleasant time was had by all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“won't go again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Oh dear, we called in to the cafe at this attraction yesterday for lunch after visiting the town. We ordered a bowl of soup and a panini and two cups of tea. We waited for 25 minutes for the tea to come and after 40 minutes I went in to ask where the food was to be told it was on its way. There were others waiting too, one young family had been there for over an hour before their food came. The girl in the kitchen was working flat out and in a tizzy and struggling to cope. The two waiting staff were young and inexperienced. What shouold have been a nice leisurely lunch in the sun turned into a rather disappointing one. All of us in the garden said we wouldn't be returning. Shame as it could be such a good place. More staff needed to make this a well run cafe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 921SueD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A "must see" if you are in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

A big thanks to all the staff at this attraction. Great value fo rmoney and certainly NOT tacky. The enthusiasm of the 2 main "characters" made the day. Funny, informative and very hands on. A great day out for any age group. Recommended highly. The 3 hour tour for around £7 was unbeatable. Carpark is cheap too, make sure you put a ticket on the car as it was patrolled.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torrington 1646 also viewed

Great Torrington, Torridge
Great Torrington, Torridge
 
Great Torrington, Torridge
 

Been to Torrington 1646? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing