We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location and really nice food.”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Torrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Horse
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while cycling the Devon coast to coast. The staff helped get our bikes stowed and were really helpful even though it was a just Friday night.
The rooms are clean and basic but good value. The food was very good. Both my daughter and I had portions which almost beat her and didn't quite beat me (and I like my grub!) breakfast was nice in the restaurant and we were helped on our way again.
A good, friendly traditional English inn with great food and beer. Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My boyfriend's mum, dad and older sister live in Great Torrington and we visited the Black Horse for Sunday dinner. Although they were sold out on some of the puddings we were still able to find one that we would like and I enjoyed the after dinner coffee. My boyfriend and I also went out together as a couple on another night and we had their sizzling chicken skillet - which was lovely.

Good atmosphere and value for money!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a lovely lunch in the restaurant across from the public bar. The lunchtime special fish and chips was tasty and well presented, as were the paninis. The surroundings are very traditional and cosy. The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was plentiful, good quality and good value. Draught ale and cider was also good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We had lunch here on New Year's Eve . We have been coming here for years. There are relatively new managers and the place looks clean and tidy. The beer was well kept. All in all a nice Devon country pub. The food was tasty, but didn't taste home made. The best alternative in Torrington.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank jollyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Torrington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
The Puffing Billy Trading Co
#10 of 12 in Great Torrington
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#4 of 12 in Great Torrington
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
Smytham Manor Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in Great Torrington
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
Greenways Valley Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Great Torrington
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse

Address: High Street, Great Torrington EX38 8HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Great Torrington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Great Torrington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing