We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Smytham Manor Holiday Park(Great Torrington)(Great Value!)
US$40
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor House(Great Torrington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Cavalier Inn(Great Torrington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
11
6
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
6
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeef stewhome madethe pubfull englishdraughtcidersupperdevon
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Having looked at trip advisor for places to eat we booked a table at The Black Horse. We were not disappointed as the food was freshly cooked & the portions sizes were excellent value. We did have to wait for approximately 30-40 minutes to be served & for the starters to arrive, but it was well worth the wait! The menu states that there maybe a delay as the chefs value quality & not fast food. The restaurants decor was dated but in keeping with the building. The restaurant was very busy and the staff were working very hard to keep everyone happy. Well worth a visit!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank SarahHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

We had a great meal on our visit to Torrington
The staff were polite and attentive but not too much
The food was well cooked and ample
Try the cod dish
The restaurant is very nice and clean the toilet also
I would recommended this restaurant if you have never been to Torrington

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

What a lovely old building with lots of history to it. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. We booked in and made our way to our room. The decor was very tired and could do with some tlc. The room itself had a rather old yellow sink in it with taps that dripped once they'd been turned on and the bath was badly stained with rust around the plug. The bed was comfortable enough though and we had a good night's sleep.

The landlady was very friendly and cooked a tasty full English the following morning. Overall, the bed was comfortable and the shower hot but it was quite expensive given the condition of the room and bathroom but we had an enjoyable stay in this very old, quirky inn and were made very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannamarie1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Central comfortable food was outstanding we enjoyed our stay very friendly staff ! An old fashioned Inn with a lot of character definitely worth a visit we would recommend . Housekeeping probably not as good as could be

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

The restaurant has original oak beams with inglenook fireplaces. The special Valentines Day menu had a choice of 5 starters, 3 mains, 6 desserts plus a bottle of bubbly for two and coffee all for £19.95 pp. The quality of the food was outstanding! The scallops starter was spot on - and the fillet steak main course was first class - so tender and succulent with a delicious selection of vegetables. We finished off with a mouthwatering raspberry & passion fruit pavlova.
We have never eaten better! All credit to Bev and her super efficient team.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews