We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky with a twist of tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Oxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quirky with a twist of tradition”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Okay TripAdvisors! If there was a perfect Inn it would be here. Nothing is perfect but this is near enough perfect. The pub is beautifully furnished and you will get a warm welcome. The fish and chips were perfect and if you're lucky the landlady will come and say hello. The service was impeccable; quick and the staff are interested and quick. Surrounded by a beautiful garden, you must also check out the interesting statue in the garden! Just walking distance from Oxburgh Hall this place IS a treasure. If there is one place in your lifetime you should visit ... it IS HERE!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    82
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
47
192
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, staff could not be more helpful. food very good. bedingfeld suite which we stayed in was lovely. The pub area and restaurant had good feel, breakfast greast, meal in evening very nice. Overall a nice area with plenty to see, very lush. Gardens very nice. weather great. visited bircham windmill, recommend bread.

Room Tip: bedingfeld suite excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hall125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were looking to explore a new area of the UK and plumped for this area mainly because of the quality accommodation offered by The Bedingfield Arms. We stayed in the rooms in the coach house - a single storey row of rooms giving us direct access to the outside which we really loved. Our room was tastefully decorated and had about as much as we needed for a two-night stay. Perfectly clean and the bathroom with shower was spacious enough. Bed was extremely comfortable and we found that money had been spent on what we would say were the important areas. The room was not huge but then we weren't planning a party in there! We ate breakfast in the hotel which was cooked to order and offered full English or part therof - lovely. We ate evening meals there on both nights - there really isn't anywhere else nearby so just as well it was good - Excellent food, we ate the venison and duck one night and the steak and calves liver the second both delicious with refined modern presentation and good value. Wine was not overpriced for a restaurant and the choice was a little different from the norm. Service was friendly and welcoming from arrival to departure and a chat can always be had round the bar - although we didn't take our own dog they are made welcome and the country ambience was all the richer for that! We walked whilst there and visited the big house and gardens in which you can easily lose at least half a day - it's worth taking the guided tour which is included in your admission cost. Would stay again in a flash.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned if you opt for the coach house rooms they are perfectly adequate and pretty s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trottingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Last time we visited the Bedingfield Arms was a few years ago, just for a meal. It was ok but a bit 'pubby', however, as part of our 'see the county before we leave' mission, we bought a Groupon voucher for B&B plus a drink. Good value. We paid an extra £10 for the green sleigh bed room which is a very spacious room in the main house. As we had some torrential showers, it was nice to relax in our room before venturing out (sadly Oxborough Hall, N.T. is closed on Thurs & Fri) but it's worth venturing just over the road to the church ruins which house some very rare terracotta memorials. The decor of the hotel is very tasteful, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff - mainly young - were friendly and efficient. Pity we were only there for the one night! There was a real buzz in the bar with plenty of folk around, perhaps for just a drink, or to eat in the restaurant. The only criticism would be that they should invest in better quality pillows, and to have some fresh fruit available at breakfast, otherwise everything was top notch and still worth 5* and I would certainly like to return before we leave the county.

Room Tip: The green sleigh bed room overlooks the back of the hotel (some wooden outbuildings) but then out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the Bedingfield Arms on weekend of 17th May to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely pub, although we were extremely lucky with the weather and spent the afternoon in the gardens. Pub has character and is tastefully decorated and stylish. Staff, although quite young, were excellent. Very professional, efficient and always chatty and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. Stayed in one of the adjoining coach houses which was comfortable and clean, also nice to be away from the main pub. Food was excellent and service first class. Literally a stones throw from Oxborough Hall (National Trust property) which is also stunning. Really worth a visit to the Hall and treat yourselves to a stay over at Bedingfield Arms. we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a short trip that we booked for a birthday break, we found it on a discount voucher site and booked up as it looked great value for the price. Having never been to the area we had no idea what to expect, other than what we read here and online elsewhere.

On arrival, the place looked stunning and the gardens were a place that you just wanted to sit and enjoy a drink or two. It was so relaxing, comfortable and safe for our two girls to run free - we knew after 10 minutes that we had found a lovely place to stay. We arrived an hour early but went in to see if our room was ready, it wasn't so we went over to see Oxborough Hall. This was the first time we met the young man who worked here, named Rob, and to be honest from start to finish he was brilliant. He could not have been more helpful and dealt with everything we asked perfectly and also he was great with our 2 year old. Thanks Rob!

When we got to see the room (Green), it was large enough for four of us and had plenty of space for our travel cot. However this area was our only gripe with The Bedingfeld Arms as it is very basic, poorly finished and lacked attention to detail in cleanliness. To elaborate and whether you are paying full price or discounted rates here you do not expect Asda value tissues still in the Asda box on the bedside table or the heated towel rail in the bathroom coming away from the wall. The cupboard by the single bed also had a lock hanging off it and when you think this room is about £100 per night the touches should be there and not as basic as this. I would say the cleanliness was average, the bathroom was dusty and we found used rubber gloves in the bin when we got in - the worst thing was dead flies on the single bed - however it was very hot and everywhere had flies buzzing around and maybe the bed hadn't been slept in with previous guests but still should of been checked considering it was still been cleaned when we arrived a few hours earlier. Having said all this it was comfortable, just not good value even at the rate we paid.

We ate here on our first night, my Wife loved the Muntjac dish and I had a Venison burger, as did our eldest Daughter. The burger itself was really tasty but served in a pretty awful supermarket bread bun and some unhappy looking chips that were supposed to be chunky but were just terrible. For a £13 burger a homemade bun and proper pub style chips would make this a great dish. While we are on the food I don't want to forget that on arrival we had a Ploughmans lunch and it was easily the best Ploughmans I have ever had - the Piccalilli was amazing!
Again on food, you must have breakfast here as we could not fault it. The service goes without saying as they are immaculate, friendly and just on the ball. Over the two days we had eggs benedict and the full english and it was pretty special! Our girls had a great portion and plenty of cereal, porridge, juice etc to pick from on top.

A pretty isolated area with no shops or bus etc but we knew this was the case, we needed Milk for our 1 year old and again Rob sorted this for us. You need a car when staying here.
So it may be a mixed bag and slightly overpriced but we would without a second thought stay here again and most probably will do so. This is mainly down to the staff (Rob and the blonde lady at breakfast), the food (if they sort the burger!) and just the amazingly relaxing atmosphere. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADAM J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My partner Christine & I, plus of course Barney, would like to say a very BIG thank you to the owners and staff of this lovely country Pub/Hotel/Restaurant, I mention all 3 as thats how I found them, all 3 in 1 place.
We could not wish to stay and eat in a more friendly establishment if we tried and that's why we're returning at the end of next month for another 2 nights of relaxation.
I highly recommend this establishment if you're looking to stay in the heart of Norfolk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0TD0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
2.2 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Property: The Bedingfeld Arms
Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough
The Bedingfeld Arms Oxborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing