We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
241
110
38
26
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
241
110
38
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oxborough hall the pub coach house rooms national trust main building four poster sunday lunch underfloor heating open fire pork belly on arrival food was lovely nice room checking out pudding wine list evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Weekend break for birthday. Stayed in Coach house (with dog) which is small and basic. Cheap and cheerful (e.g. instant coffee and regular teabags in room with no green/fruit teabags, biscuits, bottled water, nor coffee bags ) but bed very comfortable. Shower only ( does it say this on the website? If not, a good idea to say so). Staff were polite and friendly but got the impression no one takes responsibility to improve a customer's experience. When asked if the radiator in the restaurant could be switched on because we were cold, we were told it was either cold or burning hot.....it and we remained cold throughout our meal! Food was very average and disappointing. Breakfast was full english or when asked what the alternatives were, was told eggs anyway you like...no smoke salmon, nor vegetarian (other than leave off the bacon & sausage!). Buffet style table where cereal served in plastic 'tupperware' type boxes, jam -marmalade - yogurt single, communal dishes...Our local cafe/deli does better than this! Appreciate that it was snowing outside but inside the breakfast room was cold. Our evening meal was a disappointment. The restaurant was busy but having to wait 35 minutes for starters ( which required no cooking) and the dessert not materialising was a poor show. The main was fine but nothing special. Good wine list but no bottles of organic wine on the list and these days, surprising to find a hotel that doesn't offer NZ wine by the glass. Perhaps, were were unlucky but I fear not. Having hoped for a really lovely stay, to celebrate a birthday, with good food and sumptuous surroundings we did not find it at the Bedingfeld Arms. Unlikely to recommend or return which is a shame because it has scope to be so much better. Needs to review its attention to detail, standards and match the 4* it apparently has.

Room tip: more space - rooms inside the hotel rather than coach house
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Xifra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Xifra

Thank you for your very comprehensive review. I will break it down to be clear.

1. Accomodation - Coach Rooms (five) are our most basic choice and as such simple, contemporary, cosy and comfortable. The unexpected bonus is that two of the rooms are flexible with zip and link beds making the choice of a double or twin bed option. Also three of the rooms are dog friendly. All five rooms have individual outside entrance making them attractive in being away from the main buzz of the restaurant/bar/main building. Showers are clearly described in the website description - only the Bedingfeld Suite has a bath as well as a shower. A kettle for tea/coffee and chilled water in bottles/biscuits are provided in each of these rooms as well as a TV mounted on the wall and also a hair drier. An Ironing Board and Iron are available on request as indeed every aspect I can think of (plug adapter, ear plugs, toothbrush, tights...you name it although I have been told paracetamol etc is beyond my remit).

2. Dining Room - warmth/radiator - we are having problems with the thermostat which is why the staff said it is either very cold or burning hot. The electrician is often chased on this but apparently we have a very sensitive thermostat on the radiator and perhaps that might be the next item on our list to update - we are currently building a brand new kitchen to replace the previous badly designed kitchen.

Six years ago the Inn was boarded up and abandoned for a year with 6 owners in 9 years previously. It has been a challenge but we are managing in a measured way to bring it up to the much higher standards expected by most of us who have travelled further afield.

3. Food - I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations here either. However, we are often complimented on our food - so constructive detailed advice here is welcome. Breakfast you explain more - we adapt the full English breakfast to suit the dietary requirements or tastes of our guests. Our guests are usually appreciative of this more personal way of cooking for an individual.

We are only a nine bedroom inn with a pub in a very rural part of Norfolk. We have to be mindful of costs and limit our wastage - to maintain our very reasonable costs/charges which I am sure you must have noticed when comparing other establishments with us.

4. Wine - thank you for highlighting the growing demand for organic wine and that you were unable to have NZ wine by the glass - this would be due to local demand - which is growing but more slowly in this rural/poorer part of Norfolk.

Everything else must seem very good value so that is the plus side of not having what you expect. We do hope to achieve what you expect but I suspect this will come with time.

5. Misnomer - 'sumptuous surroundings' and the choice of our most simple and basic coach rooms. I am sorry to highlight that your expectations exceeded what we could provide. However most people find the Bedingfeld Arms - 'a home from home', a unique location with a friendly welcome and relaxed but attentive attitude to make everyone happy. I think sadly you must have had a bad start and from then onwards the situation was never going to improve. This is very sad for all of us. I apologise again.

Please take a moment to read through the very many reviews and be reassured of returning to find an even more determined effort to please and make your visit happier than the last time.

With best wishes and thank you for trying to explain everything to us.

Catkin, Giles and the Bedingfeld team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We stayed in one of the dog friendly cottages and were a bit disappointed with the room.
It was basically just big enough for the bed, so very little room for us or our small dog. Also the hard floor was not very cosy for us or our dog.
The bed was 2 singles pushed together, so wasn't too comfortable either.
The main building was a much nicer experience - we had dinner in the bar and it was OK as was breakfast next morning.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Court62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Court62

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the size of your room.

The bed is a Zip and Link one which means we can offer more flexibility for two of our 9 bedrooms - and the mattresses are above spec which has meant we receive many compliments about how comfortable they are.

The wooden floor is much more practical than our original internal decoration using carpets - especially being on the ground floor with their own separate entrances. Also being dog friendly, this has been a much improved option. We have spare dog blankets, mats and even dog bowls but usually dog owners bring their own extra comforts - often on a par with those bringing children!

The more boutique style of bedrooms are the four bedrooms inside the main building but these are not dog friendly/welcome as we respect those that do not have dogs in their lives. This reminds me to mention an excellent website called Borrowyourdoggy - I keep meaning to offer ourselves as an ideal drop off/pick up site as we have many local walks and Oxburgh Hall (National Trust) across the road is dog friendly too (in the grounds, not the house though).

We allow dogs in the bar area of the Bedingfeld Arms - next to the cosy log fire. There is limited seating for eating with them in the bar as well.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With best wishes,

Catkin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Stayed here last night in one of the coach houses.Quite nice atmosphere a bit too smokey at the bar though due to their open fire.Food was quite nice the coach house rooms must have had a thin wall as could hear someone next door. But yeah this place is quite nice but not brilliant

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Dave B

Thank you for saying we are 'quite nice'. I am disappointed we don't score highly in your books.

Open fires are rare these days and the down side is that if the wind is blowing hard, then this can make the fire draw badly and that makes the fire puff smoke in the room/bar rather than up the chimney where it should go! I will try and fix that - no wind or no fire - not sure which at the moment.

A thin wall - a loud voice - a loud TV - so many aspects to consider but we shall continue to work through our list. A useful reminder here to check this out. Thank you.

Best wishes in the meantime,

Catkin, Giles and the Bedingfeld team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

I stayed at this hotel for a 3 day conference. I had a room in the Coach house, which was very comfortable and generally well appointed. The shower was ok the first day, nothing special and not to the expectation of power shower performance described in the brochure. However on the second day, the shower was very weak. The other issue is with more attention to detail on cleaning. There was a certain amount of dust in corners, on flat surfaces. Skirting were grubby from where the mop left dirt behind. This was also noted in the common areas. It would not win '4 in a bed', on that alone.

The food was excellent and simple twists on classics. Price wise it was what you would expect from the area average. The staff was pleasant and efficient.

A large private room is offered for group dinners and conferences, but the facilities are not very good for business meetings of more than half a day. The audio visual lacks a projection screen (the flat screen TV is simply not good enough for readability from the back of the room), the facility has no supply of power cables and adaptors for projection from laptops, and we had to bring our own cables and extensions for power and data transfer for the TV. We could not use our projector as there was no screen or any white surface for projection. Finally, the seating is very uncomfortable for working sessions.

The restaurant was busy, it was half term, and the atmosphere was nice. A bit more attention to some of the deficiencies which are not massive fixes would dramatically improve its appeal.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeanne7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Meal for 7,including 1 Gluten Free. Squid followed by venison excellent
Great service and cooking by chef John. Generous portions had by all.
Wine and Beer plus cider. Well priced and ample choices. Great time had

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank rixy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear rixy2017

Belated Thank You for your wonderful review and feed back!

Best wishes

Catkin, Giles and the Bedingfeld Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews