We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
244
111
38
27
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
244
111
38
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oxborough hall the pub coach house rooms national trust john lennon main building four poster underfloor heating sunday lunch open fire lamb food was lovely checking out pudding wine list evening meal two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We spent two lovely nights for a short Easter break. The weather was wet most of the time, but did not spoil the stay at this great pub/restaurant . We had the dog with us, who was made very welcome in bar! The staff were great and very attentative, nothing too much trouble. Great breakfast and two excellent evening meals, roast lamb very good! We will be back...

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevinbP5432HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear kevinbP5432HT

Thank you for your feedback - and so positive when all of us were struggling with the wet weather dampening our spirits - time for some sunshine!

We are delighted to have made your visit to this unique area of Norfolk such a success and that you will be back.

With best wishes

Catkin, Giles and all the Bedingfeld team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We spent a night in the coach house at the side of the pub. The room was really nice. Bed was firm, big enough to move in, really clean and a small little TV which we didn't mind. There is underfloor heating. The only issues we had were its at the side of the pub where there bins are, and needs some kind of screen around the bins, and the light from the overhead smoke detector is like having a green moon in the room.

the staff and the meal was great, we had the roast beef and lamb and it was huge and tasty with non typical veg..not a pea on the plate either! Reasonable cost too

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Alan R

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review - feedback is extremely important to us and your balance of positive and negative aspects is perfect for keeping staff morale high.

We are under a lot of pressure at this moment as we are in the midst of building a brand new state of art kitchen and yet continuing to produce fabulous food and carry on 'as normal' in a fraction of the space we had before - in an already cramped and hot badly designed kitchen.

The good news is the building is due to be finished by the end of the month! Sean Fletcher and his team of builders are a Brilliant and are working so hard to catch up from setbacks of snow/bad weather and other unexpected hurdles. I have asked them to now help organise for screens (excellent idea, thanks!) to be put in front of the outer area of the new build ie where the laundry bins are kept (not the actual rubbish bins - they are well out of sight!). The light from the overhead smoke detector has foxed me though - any ideas? I can sympathise and wonder whether I ought to have some spare airline packs of eye pad covers?

So glad you enjoyed your food and that the staff made you feel well looked after. Also happy to see you finding the prices we charge reasonable - we think so and always keep a wary eye on them.

Best wishes and looking forward to you returning we hope in the near future.

Catkin, Giles and all the Bedingfeld Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice two night stay away.

Room was well appointed, quaint and had everything we needed. Extremely comfortable bed, fresh linen and great shower pressure. Room clean and adequate.

A lovely evening meal in the pub side and we were allowed to bring our dog with us. Very tasty burger and great selection of wine. Staff very pleasant. A really enjoyable experience.

Breakfast was not to the same standard. In fact very disappointing but I suspect this was one off. I will not base my opinion on breakfast as I honestly don’t believe it reflects the true standard and potential of this lovely place but it was below par.

I would, despite this, definitely return and thank all who made our weekend a good one.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sewie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear DerbyMoore

Delighted you had overall a very nice stay and that you found the rooms well appointed, quaint and with everything you needed including a comfortable bed, fresh linen and great shower pressure - and that the room was clean and adequate.

Also the evening meal (with the plus of being able to have your dog with you) with your choice of a burger being tasty along with a great selection of wine - and staff pleasant such that you had a really enjoyable experience. Wow - all good but then....what happened??

It must have been awful and I do apologise - such a disappointment for me/us as well as everything else seemed to be so good in your eyes. Such a shame as it obviously affected your scoring tremendously - I hope we can improve on your score for us and appreciate that you say you will definitely return.

With best wishes in the meantime,

Catkin, Giles and All the Bedingfeld team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We had been here before for a drink and decided to come for a special birthday meal. The main meals were poor and very dissapointing. My partner and I had the vegetarian canaloni it was not very appetising at all, it was a small portion which had dried out and came with a portion a salad made up of rocket and diced pepper with no dressing so also dry and a piece of oil soaked galic bread. Others in our group had the chorizo chicken which came with two small pieces of potato no veg / salad or any kind of dressing/sauce and didn't seem to have any chorizo so also dissapointing my desert was nice but the chocolate torte was hard and my partner left his. We said nothing at the time as it was a birthday celebration and we didn't want to spoil it.
We might call in for a drink sometime but will not be eating there again.
It was also very slow between courses.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank norfolkali2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear norfolkali2017

Your review is disappointing all round - and a puzzle as it does not tie in with our many other positive reviews. I am so sad you did not say something at the time or in private at the bar/till as we would do our best to ensure what you order is what you want to eat. If you do call in for the drink, please talk to us more or look around and see if others are having meals that tempt you.

Thank you for taking the trouble to give us valuable feed back.

With best wishes,

Catkin, Giles and All the Bedingfeld team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived late in the afternoon after a visit to the nearby National Trust property. Had not booked but they were able to seat four adults and two small children. All had roast chicken or lamb with vegetable selections which were very good. Draft ales sampled were well kept. Enjoyed and would return if in the area again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IanS765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catkin P, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Ian S

It has been a long journey to be in a position to offer meals throughout the afternoon at the weekend - in tune with how people operate on many different timetables these days - a visit to Oxburgh Hall (National Trust) opposite usually takes a good hour even two - so important to be able to offer meals to fit in with this timetable.

Draft Ales are an additional bonus as the National Trust Refectory Style Dining Room does not have a bar as such. Children and dogs are very much welcome - we give both treats for good behaviour!

We very much hope you will return to this area soon and visit us again. There is so much to explore in this undiscovered part of South West Norfolk (pingos for example - we have just finished a new Pingo trail in Foulden/Gooderstone Common nearby).

Best wishes

Catkin, Giles and All the Bedingfeld team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews