We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Languostines to die for!”
Review of Bedingfeld Arms

Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oxborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An attractive Georgian 9 bedroom coaching Inn and restaurant in the heart of rural Breckland village of Oxburgh, with a large south facing garden, open log fires and comfortable relaxed seating, The Bedingfeld Arms has recently been lovingly refurbished and specialises in serving good locally sourced foods, all of which are cooked freshly every day. With a good wine list and well kept real ales, beers and ciders. Menu changes regularly. Booking is adviseable on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Had the most amazing lunch today! Me & a friend had the languostines and they were absolutely delicious! A generous portion with a scrumptious broth at the bottom which was happily soaked up with some toasted ciabatta with a side of skinny fries. I bring all my friends here and they are desperate to come back. The atmosphere is warming, staff always happy and chatty without fail. This place is truly a gem, they never let you down on the quality of food, nothing is ever too much trouble and I love it immensely.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianStar, Owner at Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Nicola W

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are all delighted.

We look forward to seeing you again, Soon!

Best wishes

Catkin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

A welcoming and friendly place to go for a meal. We hadn’t visited for some time but it has been transformed by its new owners - roaring log fire, comfy sofas and tastefully decorated. Real ales eg Adnams and Woodfordes on tap.
Our service was excellent throughout. The meal was fine with a good rib eye steak and fish pies. My beef burger was ok too.
I would recommend a visit

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank RobertE417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianStar, Owner at Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Robert E

Welcome back!

We have just passed our 6th anniversary since we opened our doors after rescuing the boarded up and abandoned Bedingfeld Arms.... so you have been away for a while. It has been quite a journey and so all the happy feedback makes us feel the efforts by all those involved, worthwhile!

The beef burger is made from our own local herd of Aberdeen Angus beef reared on the farm. Watch this space as we are always developing and improving - the latest project is a complete new kitchen which is being built at this very moment (hoping the snow stops soon).

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review on us.

We look forward to welcoming you back - sooner than later!

Best wishes

Catkin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Wow, what an amazing venue, we booked the Stone room for our parents 80th Birthdays, the food was amazing, the staff bent over backwards to accommodate our needs, we also stayed the night, our room the Bedingfeld Suite was just stunning, thankyou to all, cant wait to go back x

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank lesleystewart180866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianStar, Owner at Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear lesleystewart180866

Fabulous to hear back that your special occasion lived up to all expectations! Good news for All of us.

The Oak and Stone Private Dining Room is proving a great success and increasingly popular for a wide variety of occasions - still no extra charge for booking the room. Good idea to book ahead as the busy season approaches fast. 9 bedrooms on site with nearby self catering places to stay takes the sting of travelling out of the equation and more possibilities of truly relaxing by enjoying all at the Bedingfeld Arms as well as nearby Oxburgh Hall, Didlington Garden Nursery and Gooderstone Water Gardens.

The snow has kept us on our toes as well as the building project - a brand new state of the art kitchen - so we are very much looking forward to the summer ahead!

Best wishes and many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review.

Catkin Parker and ALL the Bedingfeld Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Following a family cycle ride to the cafe at Oxborough hall, we found it closed and popped over to the Bedingfield arms in the hope of a hot choc and slice of cake. This was our 1st time to the Bedingfield and considering we were in our cycling scruffs, the staff were very accommodating and even rustled up some complimentary left over cake for us. It was a lovely treat and we'll be making this our new cycling refueling station! Lovely pub, lovely decor, really nice staff, win win!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

A lovely garden pub, nice features, homely etc. Quite an upmarket feel. Food available all afternoon being Sunday. Tables with infra red heating outside.

It is entirely up to the owner whether to provide vegan alternatives, but on request they were good enough to assist rather than say -'that's the menu'. 2 of our party however ended up with some veg, and as a special - one mushroom. No one can expect too much when turning up on spec and asking for something off the menu. However, it was a lot of money for carrot, pickled red cabbage, parsnip, fresh broccoli, and a mushroom. There was roast potato but this was dried up and greasy. Our meat eating friends said their choice was average, but overpriced at £13.50. It wouldn't be too difficult to keep 3-4 of the many frozen vegan ready meals now available that would suit both vegetarians and vegans, and roast some parboiled potatoes separately from the meat, in a little olive oil with a few herbs. Some fresh carrots, swede, sprouts or other veg steamed fresh to order. No one minds waiting a little longer either in this situation, but this assumes the kitchen can cope of course. (Toby Carvery do very well in all these areas).

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank summersunshine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bedingfeld Arms also viewed

 
West Acre, King's Lynn
 

Been to Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing