We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Merrymouth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrymouth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fifield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Lovely owners and staff - nothing too much trouble. Food is lovely. Very central for visiting the Cotswolds. Don't be put of by the road - the inn has lovely gardens and a friendly horse. If you live nearby it's worth popping in for a pint and to take in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Merrymouth Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I chose this Inn as it is well placed for Burford or Stow and other areas of interest around Oxforshire and Gloucestershire. Although just off a fairly busy road it has many compensations. Firstly, it has the most enchanting garden in two sections where you can sit and eat, enjoy a drink, or read your book. Secondly, the meals were beautifully cooked and presented although the evening service could be quicker! Thirdly, the room we had (No.9) on the ground floor, approached via a cloister-like corridor, with other rooms leading off it, was comfortable, clean, and fairly large with a wonderful view and a friendly horse who often came up to the window to greet us! The corridor, open to one side, with stone floor and stone columns with pretty hanging baskets looks on to a small secluded garden with a tree. In the middle there are four little tables each with two chairs on their individual little paved area, surrounded by gravel,with flower beds around it. It has an intimate, cosy feel and is very beautiful. Through this garden you walk into another garden directly in front of the entrance with more seating. By the gate is the biggest lavender bush I have ever seen and it was in full bloom. It was a very spectacular sight with bees and butterflies feeding off it and smelt wonderful. I think the diameter must have been at lest 3 - 4ft wide! Someone here has a special talent for garden design which is also very individual, and the overall effect is most attractive. The staff are all extremely well mannered, helpful and professional. They go a long way to making your stay feel really special. This is a place we hope to return to again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a break - or simply en route to somewhere. We look for small individual and good hotels, and this was definitely one of the best we've stayed at.

Room Tip: We had No.9 with no complaints! It was at the end of the corridor, so opened out to the countryside...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happylanding2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a lovely lunch here this weekend, 7 of us arranged to meet here as its half way from where we live in the south and other family in the midlands, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, the food was delicious and the decor full of character, well worth to stop off and call in

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were two groups three from Staffordshire and four from Hampshire each travelling about 90 miles to meet for lunch at the Merry Mouth. We had reserved a table and were met with friendliness and courtesy. Drinks outside in the sun and a wonderful meal inside because two of our group were nervous with the wasps. Every member of staff were a delight friendly and efficient, never pushy but there if and when needed. I had been before but the others were not disappointed. We will all repeat our visit, it is so convenient, atmospheric and lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you are looking for a short stay, or a long stay in The cotswolds, look no further than The Merrymouth.
We stayed for 3 nights. Our room was spacious, and the bed was incredibly comfy. The food was excellent, the best we have had in a very long time. All home made.
Bill, Mo, Adam and Becky are so welcoming and genuinely friendly. Their hospitality is second to none!
The team made our stay so relaxing.
When we next visit The Cotswolds, if The Merrymouth is full, we won’t go until there is a vacancy. That’s how good it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Another lovely stay at Bill and Mo's - everything you need is here. Everyone is so friendly and cannot do enough for you. We had an evening meal and it was exceptional, the Duck was absolutely glorious and Jon enjoyed his Steak Pie.
This pub/B&B is ideally situated for visiting the Cotswolds and surrounding areas and its lovely to go back to a nice comfy room with lovely vies and surroundings, great places to walk to if you wish as well.
We will definitely be going back again and hopefully very soon..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed once again at Bill and Mo's Merrymouth Inn at Fifield. An excellent Cotswold location with most genial hosts, comfortable rooms and superb food. The pan-fried duck breast was as good as any eaten for many a year! This is a great place to stay for an extremely reasonable price. Recommended to all who want a relaxing time in a traditional inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfpbarmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fifield
4.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
731 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
335 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrymouth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrymouth Inn

Address: Stow Road | Cotswolds, Fifield OX7 6HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Fifield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fifield
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merrymouth Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing