We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place”
Review of Merrymouth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrymouth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fifield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly place”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at the merrymouth inn for the past two years on our cotswold holidays we decided to stay for a night on Sunday.
The service is excellent with friendly, helpful staff, a family run establishment with a homely and cosy atmosphere the food and tariffs are reasonably priced for the area and the room was warm and pleasantly decorated.
We will definately be staying again.
Thank you all at the Merrymouth for your hospitality.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    70
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
144
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Passed this delightful Inn on our way to visit Burford. Decided to have our evening meal here, we were not disappointed..... Wonderful food and a great choice, fast friendly service and a charming atmosphere. Would stay here for future visits to the Cotswolds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angie454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Lovely owners and staff - nothing too much trouble. Food is lovely. Very central for visiting the Cotswolds. Don't be put of by the road - the inn has lovely gardens and a friendly horse. If you live nearby it's worth popping in for a pint and to take in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I chose this Inn as it is well placed for Burford or Stow and other areas of interest around Oxforshire and Gloucestershire. Although just off a fairly busy road it has many compensations. Firstly, it has the most enchanting garden in two sections where you can sit and eat, enjoy a drink, or read your book. Secondly, the meals were beautifully cooked and presented although the evening service could be quicker! Thirdly, the room we had (No.9) on the ground floor, approached via a cloister-like corridor, with other rooms leading off it, was comfortable, clean, and fairly large with a wonderful view and a friendly horse who often came up to the window to greet us! The corridor, open to one side, with stone floor and stone columns with pretty hanging baskets looks on to a small secluded garden with a tree. In the middle there are four little tables each with two chairs on their individual little paved area, surrounded by gravel,with flower beds around it. It has an intimate, cosy feel and is very beautiful. Through this garden you walk into another garden directly in front of the entrance with more seating. By the gate is the biggest lavender bush I have ever seen and it was in full bloom. It was a very spectacular sight with bees and butterflies feeding off it and smelt wonderful. I think the diameter must have been at lest 3 - 4ft wide! Someone here has a special talent for garden design which is also very individual, and the overall effect is most attractive. The staff are all extremely well mannered, helpful and professional. They go a long way to making your stay feel really special. This is a place we hope to return to again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a break - or simply en route to somewhere. We look for small individual and good hotels, and this was definitely one of the best we've stayed at.

Room Tip: We had No.9 with no complaints! It was at the end of the corridor, so opened out to the countryside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylanding2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a lovely lunch here this weekend, 7 of us arranged to meet here as its half way from where we live in the south and other family in the midlands, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, the food was delicious and the decor full of character, well worth to stop off and call in

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were two groups three from Staffordshire and four from Hampshire each travelling about 90 miles to meet for lunch at the Merry Mouth. We had reserved a table and were met with friendliness and courtesy. Drinks outside in the sun and a wonderful meal inside because two of our group were nervous with the wasps. Every member of staff were a delight friendly and efficient, never pushy but there if and when needed. I had been before but the others were not disappointed. We will all repeat our visit, it is so convenient, atmospheric and lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you are looking for a short stay, or a long stay in The cotswolds, look no further than The Merrymouth.
We stayed for 3 nights. Our room was spacious, and the bed was incredibly comfy. The food was excellent, the best we have had in a very long time. All home made.
Bill, Mo, Adam and Becky are so welcoming and genuinely friendly. Their hospitality is second to none!
The team made our stay so relaxing.
When we next visit The Cotswolds, if The Merrymouth is full, we won’t go until there is a vacancy. That’s how good it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fifield
5.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
4.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrymouth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrymouth Inn

Property: Merrymouth Inn
Address: Stow Road | Cotswolds, Fifield OX7 6HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Fifield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fifield
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merrymouth Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing