We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a break.”
Review of Merrymouth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrymouth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fifield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for a break.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived at Merrymouth Inn on one of the wettest and windiest days in January, in the Cotswolds. Immediately we were made to feel welcome, shown to our room and asked if there was anything we needed due to the weather. The room was very comfortable and facilities were quite adequate for our stay, although I did feel the room was a little tired, but this is not significant and only a personal opinion. We went into the bar fairly early and were made very welcome, called by name and greeted by Bill the owner, and then given the menu and advised of the specials board. A wide choice of food was available and was cooked to perfection. The rest of the evening was spent chatting with other guests, and Bill, in front of a log fire. We both slept very well in a comfortable bed and were treated to a lovely breakfast - all the food was fresh & locally sourced. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshys48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    70
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
144
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Le Langon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The slightly eccentric proprietor makes you very welcome, the food is of excellent quality.
Our late autumn stay was great, punctuated by sight of a number of dogs that the hotel makes very welcome.
Excellent value for money, only downside (on the customer side) is that WiFi is only available in the bar, as the old thick walls make it impossible to get the signal around this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaMare85370LeLangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just had a delicious Sunday lunch here. Very friendly and helpful staff, very good food and very reasonable prices. The chocolate , Grand Marnier, and orange torte is to die for!!!!.Thank you for a lovely meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Visited here for a weekday lunch with my elderly parents after having it recommended. We had been here before, but not for some years. I was in the mood for something hearty so had sausage, egg and chips and i was not disappointed. I had 4 sausages which were local Gloucester Old Spot and two eggs which did not come from a supermarket, the yolks were a good colour and really tasty. There was also a pile of chips. Dad had gammon and when he couldn't decide over pineapple or egg they gave him both! This isn't a fancy place but the customer service is good and it delivers where other supposedly higher quality places don't. We had three drinks, three main courses and two puds and paid just over £40 for it. We had a good lunch and will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzy1Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at the merrymouth inn for the past two years on our cotswold holidays we decided to stay for a night on Sunday.
The service is excellent with friendly, helpful staff, a family run establishment with a homely and cosy atmosphere the food and tariffs are reasonably priced for the area and the room was warm and pleasantly decorated.
We will definately be staying again.
Thank you all at the Merrymouth for your hospitality.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Passed this delightful Inn on our way to visit Burford. Decided to have our evening meal here, we were not disappointed..... Wonderful food and a great choice, fast friendly service and a charming atmosphere. Would stay here for future visits to the Cotswolds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angie454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Lovely owners and staff - nothing too much trouble. Food is lovely. Very central for visiting the Cotswolds. Don't be put of by the road - the inn has lovely gardens and a friendly horse. If you live nearby it's worth popping in for a pint and to take in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fifield
5.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
4.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrymouth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrymouth Inn

Property: Merrymouth Inn
Address: Stow Road | Cotswolds, Fifield OX7 6HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Fifield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fifield
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merrymouth Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing