We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merrymouth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrymouth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fifield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lutten, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice B&B”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A perfect stay in the Cotswolds. We had a wonderful time and so did our dogs! Nice walks in the fields around your B&B and afterwards a good meal in your restaurant. We were very pleased that the dogs were aloud to stay inside, that makes your place very special. We will definitily come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    70
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
144
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from our fourth visit to the Merrymouth Inn. As usual Bill and Mo were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble, and our Grand Children loved it, especially feeding Tilly the horse.
The rooms are comfy and have en-suite facilities with good showers.
As usual the food was lovely, and brilliant value for money, and there is an excellent choice for Breakfast.
We highly recommend the Merrymouth Inn to anyone visiting the Cotswolds it is in a great location to stay to explore the area.
Looking forward to our next visit.
Ron and Sue

Room Tip: Pick the family room if you are travelling with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful inn that is in desperate need of some basic renovations in its plumbing.
Our first impression was one of delight at the lovely countryside setting, the old stone building, the beautiful gardens, hanging flower baskets, and the location of the rooms. We were assigned to Room 2 which is on the ground floor, and we were pleased with its rustic charm. The room is small but pleasant and we were pleased with the nice wicker basket of toiletries in the bathroom. Our room had a lovely window looking out into the garden.
We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant. The food was well prepared and the service was excellent. We especially enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in comfortable chairs and relaxing in the beautiful old rooms of the inn.
The first sign of problems to come was the framed sign posted in the room that pointed out that in a rural setting any plumbing is a challenge and that therefore fluctuations in water pressure and temperature could be expected and would occur even in a more expensive establishment (see my photograph for exact wording). Unfortunately we were to discover that this sign was an understatement! I had a shower at bedtime, and found that the water did indeed fluctuate in temperature - from unbearably icy cold to dangerously scalding hot. I had great difficulty in remaining under the water long enough to wash my hair due to the painful extremes of temperature. Eventually I set the water permanently on cold, as I was quite concerned that on the luke-warm setting, the extreme heat on the fluctuation could dangerously burn me. The following morning my husband was unable to get even a second of hot water, fluctuating or otherwise - his water was unremittingly bitter cold.
Unfortunately at bedtime, we also found that our toilet would no longer flush. The tank would fill, the handle would depress but the toilet would not flush. For the rest of the night and the following morning we ended up flushing it by pouring water into the toilet bowl from the sink using our bathroom wastebasket.
In the morning we had an excellent full English breakfast (all of our breakfasts at the inn were delicious). We reported our problems with the toilet and the owner said that the problem would be dealt with during the day. We went out for a day of sightseeing in this beautiful area of country.
On returning we were completely taken aback to find the door to Room 2 standing wide open to the hallway, with a huge set of keys dangling from the lock. On entering through the open door we found no one inside but all of our belongings in the room unattended. Fortunately nothing was stolen but we were surprised by the carelessness with our possessions. A note was lying on the bed telling us we were being moved upstairs to Room 4 as the plumber had been unable to fix the toilet.
We moved upstairs to Room 4. We found the setting much the same - charming room, lovely furnishings, same sign warning of the plumbing. The good news is that the toilet worked in Room 4. The bad news is that there was not even a hint of hot water for any of the showers my husband or I took during the two nights we stayed in the room. To say it was uncomfortably cold would be to understate the icy nature of the water. We were unable to remain under the water for even a few seconds. As the rooms were stocked only with towels, we borrowed cloths from the public bathroom in the restaurant so that we could wash parts of our bodies without having to immerse ourselves in the frigid water. I was forced to wash my hair in the sink, as putting my head under the shower would have taken my breath away!
It should be pointed out also that the ceiling of Room 4 was liberally festooned with cobwebs in every corner (and there were lots of corners). Not being a spider fan, this did make me nervous! I am surprised that someone does not remove these!
So how does one summarize a hotel like this? It is a gorgeous location, the building itself is lovely, and it has enormous potential. I am still glad we stayed here, and we can laugh about our experiences in retrospect. But surely the owners should do something about the plumbing! My husband and I live in a country home and we have never had an issue with our plumbing. Dealing with temperature and fluctuating pressure is merely a matter of money to upgrade the equipment. I think it is time that the inn owners spent the money needed to improve the plumbing, in order to prevent it from marring what otherwise is a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room that does NOT have problems with shower temperature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this excellent Inn - real pub and again had a great stay. Warm welcome from Bill, Mo and the staff who where friendly and very attentive. Excellent clean room and a good shower all topped off with real freshly prepared food and an excellent breakfast. Thanks to all

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to the Merrymouth Inn and have again enjoyed a wonderful stay and warm welcome from our hosts Bill and Mo for whom nothing is ever too much trouble. Our room was clean and cosy with everything we could possibly wish for provided for us and the bed was extremely large and comfortable ensuring a great nights sleep. Plenty of choice for breakfast but for us, Bills full English is the perfect way to start the day, along with his cheerful and friendly manner. We would also like to recommend the evening meals at the Merrymouth as the food is delicious with generous portions all at a reasonable price. Again there is also a good selection of dishes available including a 'specials board'. We would like to thank Bill, Mo and the team for their superb hospitality and would recommend the Merrymouth to anyone visiting the Cotswolds who appreciates a relaxed and friendly atmosphere in attractive surroundings. And a big thank you from Ollie the dog who enjoyed the lovely walks at the rear of the Inn.

Tina Mac

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just got back from a 2 night break at the Merrymouth Inn, to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.
I cannot speak highly enough of the stay we had. The Hotel is conveniently situated for visiting Burford, Stow and Bourton.
The Staff were attentive, friendly and made a point of congratulating us on our Wedding Anniversary, which was thoughtful. The breakfast was superb as was the meal we had on the friday evening.
The Room was clean and more than adequate. We found the Shower to be fine, although the Staff did warn us that the pressure is low. This is understandable as it is in a rural area.
All in all i would not hesitate to recommend the Merrymouth if you want a relaxing base to visit the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Inn was easy to find and had a large car park plus we were made very welcome by all the staff.The food was much more than above average,and we regret eating at a local 4 star Hotel for a late lunch rather than having our evening meal at the Merrymouth Inn.Their " Duck meal" was the best I have ever had,and like others we enjoyed their breakfast. In respect of "Value for money in the Cotswolds" this Inn will be hard to beat!!!

Room Tip: We were warned about the shower difficulties,and should it continue would hope they either get it f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamhendon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fifield
5.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,031 reviews
4.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
941 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
493 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,368 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrymouth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrymouth Inn

Property: Merrymouth Inn
Address: Stow Road | Cotswolds, Fifield OX7 6HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Fifield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fifield
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merrymouth Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Merrymouth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing