We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This B & B exceeded our expectations, thanks to the lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome. Upon our arrival we were offered a drink & some sweet treats which went down very well then we were shown to our room, which was just lovely, from the comfortable bed to the luxurious bath towels. Nick was so helpful in recommending somewhere for dinner and we were not disappointed (Barge Inn was perfect) Nothing was too much trouble for them as I had a stain in one of my tops which was whisked away & dealt with! The breakfast was devine, we would totally come back & stay here, we were spoilt!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacqueAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

So nice to be welcomed into such a lovely home. Situated between the village of Rowde and Devizes town it was easy to find but surrounded by countryside. Sadly, travelling meant we arrived late but that was no problem for Nick and tea and biscuits were quickly presented in the comfy sitting room. Our bedroom and en-suite were very well appointed and the attention to detail much appreciated - plenty of chilled water plus all sorts of other goodies available both in our fridge and on the landing. Breakfast gave a huge choice although my husband did comment that his poached egg was not quite runny enough - sorry Nick - he's like that at home too! We will definitely use again when in the area and thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Have just returned home after a 2 night stay here... A really comfy ensuite bedroom with Balcony....everything you need for a relaxing stay...Ideally situated for Devizes and the surrounding area... ..

Room Tip: Our room with the Balcony ...worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a room based on the reviews from previous visitors as well as the information contained on the owners website. We obviously had high expectations! What a treat we had. The reception was very welcoming, the room and en-suite were immaculate, the balcony was a great place to have an early evening drink and snack, the breakfast choice and quality was superb, the information pack was extensive and the service we received from our hosts was very warm, helpful and professional. We could not believe it...............our expectations were well and truly exceeded! And we followed this with visits to Avebury and Lacock.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Owner at Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello again and many thanks for taking the time out to leave a review. Your comments are really appreciated as we know that sometimes places struggle to live up to expectations so we are pleased you had such a good time both at Avalon Lodge and with the local attractions; certainly Lacock and Avebury are not to be missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

excellent three night stay organised as a surprise by my husband and daughter for my 70th birthday. couldnt have booked a better stay very warm welcome by Nick and Jenny made us feel very much at home.absolutely spotless room and bathroom with nice little personal touches.
lovely breakfasts plenty to eat and lots of choices.
certainly the best b&b I have stayed at.
Many thanks to Nick and Jenny

Room Tip: we stayed in serenity which had a lovely balcony looking out over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennny2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Owner at Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Jenny,
Think your husband and daughter did you prod with such a surprise and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Avalon Lodge. Increasingly we are having people stay who are celebrating an important occasion and we try and ensure that everything goes to plan, including sorting out the likes of flowers, chocolates, wine or champagne! Hopefully the pleasure of a few days away will remain for months to come.
Many happy returns, N&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

...and don't always get! Lovely peeps, jolly nice room, quiet, good food and everything well presented and clean. We were moving home and needed a couple of nights until our stuff arrived and this was a perfect place to build up our energy for the task ahead! Thanks to Nick and Jenny, lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Tranquility four-poster and large en suite are light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudeharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Owner at Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

As we had endured the stresses of moving twice in the last 12 months it was our pleasure to offer you respite from your move. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay and that we fulfilled expectations and thank you for taking the time to leave a review when you are so busy sorting things out. Do give us a call if we can help with any local knowledge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in April. Nick and Jenny have created a lovely relaxing environment for their guests. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts are superb. We couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful hosts. Will be the first choice if we get back the this area!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Owner at Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you Jane, it was lovely to meet you and Brian and fascinating to hear about your travels. Hope all has gone to plan since your visit. So glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms and food so pleasing. As you discovered we are in a great spot for exploring Devizes and in particular the canel and Caen Hill locks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
85 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vine Cottage B&B
Vine Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Rowde
139 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
128 reviews
5.0 mi away
Littleton Lodge
Littleton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Littleton Panell
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Avalon Lodge Devizes Road, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2LU, England (Formerly Embrea Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price Range: £68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Lodge is more than just a place to stay! It is centrally situated; a perfect location for touring the whole of the beautiful county of Wiltshire with its wonderful towns, villages, National Trust properties and World Heritage ancient sites, not to mention the crop circles! City of Bath only 40 minutes by car and accessible by public transport. The B&B is within walking distance of good food pubs, the Cain Hill locks and canal & the market town of Devizes with its own brewery and castle, selection of independent shops, weekly market and good places to eat. You are assured a warm welcome, a good night's sleep, a delicious breakfast & lots of little extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast Rowde, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing