We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Vine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vine Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed for a week while working in the area. Everything about Vine House was excellent. Ben and Mary couldn't have been better hosts. They even got up early everyday to prepare my breakfast as I had to start work early. The quality of the breakfast was excellent. The house is spotlessly clean and I recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Eric. It was lovely meeting you and thank-you so much for taking the time to write this review and for your lovely comments.

We are particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. Getting up early is not a problem for us, the only difference being, (as you found out) for early business breakfasts we do take orders the night before so that it can be ready at the time requested. For the tourism trade we like to offer a more leisurely meal and so then cook to order on arrival into the breakfast room.

We hope you enjoy continuing to work in Wiltshire, and if the self catering accommodation isn't extended then we hope that we will be able to welcome you to a B&B stay again in the future.
Best wishes
Mary and Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Thanks Mary and Ben for making us feel genuinely welcome into you warm and comfortable B&B. We chose Vine Cottage from TA reviews when visiting friends on the Kenneth &Avon canal. Mary met us with a warm welcome and explained everything we needed to know. Our room was lovely and comfortable and we had a good night's rest. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and, particularly important for us, comprised of local outdoor reared meat. Well done. No hesitation in recommending Vine Cottage and we would certainly visit again. Wish we had stayed a second night instead of moving on to our next B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 622billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks "Billy" for writing this very encouraging review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and noticed and appreciate our efforts. At least we then know we are getting it right. We really hope to see you again and bring your son next time and use our larger family room. As we were discussing there is so much to see around here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Brilliant little rural retreat, perfect for those looking for a very comfortable haven far from the madding crowd. Quiet, clean, comfortable with a first class breakfast table; home made preserves, 'real bread', fully customised option topped off with lashings of conviviality !
Perfect for exploring Devizes

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lavabread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks so much lavabread , I guess you are lovely guests from Wales who stayed recently! We really appreciate you taking the time to write and we are particularly pleased that you enjoyed both the food and atmosphere at breakfast. Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely and clean , every need has been thought about , very attentive nothing is too much trouble . Very quiet surroundings as off the main road , a few minutes from wadworths Devizes , Will use again without a second thought ., highly recommend .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank darter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Nikki, many thanks for your lovely comments. It was great meeting you both and we hope to see you again soon, either at Vine Cottage or with us visiting your new venture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was an excellent place to stay. The owners were so accomodating and kind. The beds were extremely comfortable, breakfast was great, and the hosts were so friendly. Mary and Ben did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBen, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Cindy we are so glad you enjoyed the first night of your holiday in England and hope that the rest of your trip on the boat, Bath and London was equally as enjoyable. You have a wonderful set of friends who we met on the holiday and those left behind in Ohio who have since liked our Facebook page. We very much hope to see some, or all or more of you in the future. Kindest Regards Mary and Ben.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A lovely country location for a short Wiltshire stay with very frindly hosts. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable and the breakfasts kept us going all day. With an emphasis on sustainability and environmentally friendliness, a stay at this cottage is also 'green'. Mary and Ben did everything they could to ensure that our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: The blue room on the ground floor is handy for those with reduced mobility. The green room is a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HammyHammster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Hammy Hamster, thank-you for writing this lovely review, and it was a pleasure meeting you even if only at the end of your stay. Hope the photo came out well of you sitting on our sign. We would love to see you and your owners again, and hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Vine Cottage. Hosts Ben and Mary are warm and friendly, and cook a mean breakfast which is second to none. The rooms are spotless, the beds very comfortable, and there is a great outdoor space which I recommend you take advantage of. While visiting you are also provided with a well stocked reading library, and a selection of DVD's. To be honest there are so many interesting area's to visit, you may not have time to read! Ben and Mary were able to recommend many area's which can easily be visited during the day, and there are many walking trials which allow you to explore the area at your own pace. If you're looking for a spot which makes you feel at home, while offering the peace and quite of the country - and access to interesting and historical locations, this is the place to stay. I would strongly recommend this to my family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pink room, but no matter which one you choose you will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaCanadaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Steve, we are so glad that you and Linda enjoyed your stay, it certainly gives us job satisfaction to hear that. It's also good that you mention something new like the book library, no one has mentioned that before, the books are given to us and can be swapped or taken for a donation for the RNLI. We hope you and Linda enjoy the rest of your holiday and hope that you will make a return trip to England and Vine Cottage in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
1.9 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
George and Dragon
George and Dragon
#6 of 19 in Devizes
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage B&B

Address: 26 Bunnies Lane, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vine Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet country lane in Rowde, we provide an eco friendly environment without comprimising on quality. Our king room can accommodate a family of 3 with a folding bed. Our twin is on the ground floor. We have freeview TV/DVDs, FREE WiFi and you can also use our sauna and garden. We provide an excellent breakfast with own free range eggs and exclusive to Vine Cottage - "Bens mess". We can also provide vegetarian and gluten free options. Our guest lounge can provide a wonderful relaxing place to sit and meet friends with winter log fires. There is an extensive library for you to help yourself for a charitable donation to the RNLI. We are are proud of our awards, including new for 2015 tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence (5/5) and AA 4 stars + breakfast award. We look forward to adding you to large amount of returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Cottage B&B Rowde, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing