We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully looked after!”
Review of Vine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vine Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderfully looked after!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We cycled the beautiful Kennet and Avon canal over the weekend and stayed in this lovely accommodation. The hosts,Mary and Ben go out of their way to make you welcome,the locally sourced and home made food makes for a wonderful breakfast.The attention to detail in everything makes the difference.It's like staying with your favorite aunt and uncle!
Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
59
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed with Ben and Mary for 3 days as a base to see the area around Devizes, Chippenham etc. Facilities were excellent. Travelling for extended periods can be quite stressful with the constant need to make arrangements, find information, fit everything in etc. Vine Cottage was instantly a place where we felt relaxed. This is for us the true English B&B unlike many that are now merely houses with bedrooms for rent with absentee owners and cereal left on a bench. Mary and Ben were friendly, helpful and obviously sincere in their wish to make our stay trouble free and enjoyable. Walk to Caen Locks - drive to Lacock. Little details - fresh fruit in the room, a small sewing kit etc were testimony to thoughtfulness for their travellers. Breakfast was stupendous (we hope we made an addition to the menu). When we found Vine Cottage it was another lucky moment for us and we will go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaTruk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had occasion to stay with Mary and Ben at Vine Cottage over this weekend..

Hospitalty, service and a welcome far far over and above any 5 star hotel i have stayed in,..... and i have stayed in some...

Beautifully clean , with absolutely everything you need, and in a great location.

If Harrods in London did breakfast..... It would be like Ben and Mary,s.

CANNOT RECOMMEND THESE LOVELY PEOPLE ENOUGH ..

Well done chap,s

Pani Panos

Room Tip: Pink room was 1st class
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panipanos .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My mother and I stayed here and was more than happy with the warm welcome and the excellent standard of service. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was outstanding and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble for Ben & Mary to make your stay with them seem like you were part of the family. We will definitely stay with them again when we are in that part of the country and would recommend highly. Thank you both for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sandra, thank you so much for writing this review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely meeting you and Joyce, although we are sorry that it was in those circumstances. We very much hope to see you both again, in happier times and would love to meet your husband as well next time. I forgot to ask you for your email address, so please get in touch so that we can keep you up to date with goings on at Vine Cottage! Best wishes Mary and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed for a week while working in the area. Everything about Vine House was excellent. Ben and Mary couldn't have been better hosts. They even got up early everyday to prepare my breakfast as I had to start work early. The quality of the breakfast was excellent. The house is spotlessly clean and I recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Eric. It was lovely meeting you and thank-you so much for taking the time to write this review and for your lovely comments.

We are particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. Getting up early is not a problem for us, the only difference being, (as you found out) for early business breakfasts we do take orders the night before so that it can be ready at the time requested. For the tourism trade we like to offer a more leisurely meal and so then cook to order on arrival into the breakfast room.

We hope you enjoy continuing to work in Wiltshire, and if the self catering accommodation isn't extended then we hope that we will be able to welcome you to a B&B stay again in the future.
Best wishes
Mary and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall, england
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Thanks Mary and Ben for making us feel genuinely welcome into you warm and comfortable B&B. We chose Vine Cottage from TA reviews when visiting friends on the Kenneth &Avon canal. Mary met us with a warm welcome and explained everything we needed to know. Our room was lovely and comfortable and we had a good night's rest. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and, particularly important for us, comprised of local outdoor reared meat. Well done. No hesitation in recommending Vine Cottage and we would certainly visit again. Wish we had stayed a second night instead of moving on to our next B&B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 622billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks "Billy" for writing this very encouraging review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and noticed and appreciate our efforts. At least we then know we are getting it right. We really hope to see you again and bring your son next time and use our larger family room. As we were discussing there is so much to see around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Brilliant little rural retreat, perfect for those looking for a very comfortable haven far from the madding crowd. Quiet, clean, comfortable with a first class breakfast table; home made preserves, 'real bread', fully customised option topped off with lashings of conviviality !
Perfect for exploring Devizes

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lavabread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks so much lavabread , I guess you are lovely guests from Wales who stayed recently! We really appreciate you taking the time to write and we are particularly pleased that you enjoyed both the food and atmosphere at breakfast. Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
247 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
1.8 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
298 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage B&B

Property: Vine Cottage B&B
Address: 26 Bunnies Lane, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vine Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet country lane in Rowde, we provide an eco friendly environment without comprimising on quality. Our king room can accommodate a family of 3 with a folding bed. Our twin is on the ground floor. We have freeview TV/DVDs, FREE WiFi and you can also use our sauna and garden. We provide an excellent breakfast with own free range eggs and exclusive to Vine Cottage - "Bens mess". We can also provide vegetarian and gluten free options. Our guest lounge can provide a wonderful relaxing place to sit and meet friends with winter log fires. There is an extensive library for you to help yourself for a charitable donation to the RNLI. We are are proud of our awards, including new for 2015 tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence (5/5) and AA 4 stars + breakfast award. We look forward to adding you to large amount of returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Cottage B&B Rowde, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing