We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Congenial host and hostess”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vine Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Congenial host and hostess”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very pleasant stay for just one night. Host and hostess very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend to friends and family. Plenty of local eateries nearby. Good local information provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acterhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
57
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I travel extensively, so as you'd expect we have a bucket list of key elements we look for in any Accomodation (or restaurant), needless to say not all businesses can cover all elements, but on the whole most of our choices have highlighted the best of the best (and they are often not always the most expensive or the most obvious), we don't usually stay in B&Bs for the fear of disappointment, Vine cottage did NOT disappoint one iota.

The first thing to mention is Ben and Mary, two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet, bubbly, friendly, attentive and welcoming.

We were attending a wedding at the Rowdey Cow about a mile up the road (lovely place), we explained this to Mary who helpfully informed us of their closeness to the venue. After the registrars ceremony in Devizes we headed to the guest house to collect our keys (prior to attending the evening do) and check in (Mary accommodated us checking in earlier than normal).

Immediate warm welcome by Mary, who showed us the Pink room (note: we were offered a ground floor room as an alternative as I was on crutches but we decided I could manage upstairs), which was light, airy and every detail meticulous, towels laid out on bed (bath towel, hand towel and flannel), bottles of drinking water, tea and coffee facilities (mugs were sealed), free fast wifi, flat screen TV, useful in room information, fan, hear dryer, extra blankets, Fruit basket you name it, they had it covered - and most importantly for us immaculately clean, absolutely no detail overlooked (none).

We left with our room keys and headed to the wedding, later that evening when we returned to the area we decided to attend the local pub for a last pint. By coincidence Ben and Mary were in the bar having a Friday night drink together and immediately welcomed us and introduced us to the landlord as their guests - lovely touch.

We had our drink and headed back to Vine Cottage and had a very pleasant nights sleep.

In the morning we went down for breakfast, our acid test for any establishment, we noticed the breakfast award in the in room information so we were intrigued. The dining room was light and well appointed, Mary and Ben bright and bubbly as usual. Mary explained the menu (including Bens mess which sounded great,!) despite all the options available we opted for Full English (Ben cooked), coffee and juice.

Also available as help yourself were wide range of cereals, fresh fruit, coffee and toast with homemade jams.

Whilst the breakfast was being cooked we were informed eggs were from their own hens and all produce was local, quality of the breakfast was wonderful, perfectly cooked, tasty. Score 10 out of 10, it was on per with Claridges in London which is our favourite hotel.

To conclude - Vine Cottage is an idyllic, country cottage situated on a sleepy county lane, very close to the local pub George and Dragon. You are made to feel like a part of the family, which made the experience of the wedding a little extra special, we could whole heartedly recommend Vine Cottage and it's owners Ben and Mary.

We will be back in coming months to see family and will undoubtedly be staying at our home away from home whilst in Wiltshire.

Well done both!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our visit to Rowde for a family wedding meant that we needed to stay for two nights. Contained within the invitation was information for us to contact Mary and Ben at Vine Cottages. We were met with such a happy welcome to a really lovely house, a delightful room (Pink Room) comfort, cleanliness and so many little touches which are unusual even in the best hotels. Have to say that the pillows on the bed were the most comfortable I have come across anywhere apart from home.
Breakfast was delicious, a varied menu and lots of options to tweak if necessary. All served with a smile, information about the village, where to eat out, directions to venues etc. We will definately return when next visiting our family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Vine Cottage is very cosy with an extremely friendly atmosphere. The room was comfortable as was the bed, and the bathroom is modern, complete with a walk in shower.
Situated in the rural village of Rowde and in a very aptly named lane called Bunnies, one can imagine small rabbits running around there in the early morning dew. If you want peace and quiet, if you want the friendly chat that Mary and Ben produce, then this is the place for you.
Oh, and the breakfast is egg-cellent, lots to choose from.
Harry and Wendy

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, only choose if you need a larger one or a twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Thank you, Mary & Ben, for your warm hospitality. We stayed 2 nights in mid-May, in the Green Room. Although we should have booked a bigger room, it was still very comfortable, with all the amenities we needed. The highlight was breakfast time, freshly made, served at a communal dining room table. Conversation with our hosts & the other guests is something we will remember for a long time.
Ate at the two local pubs, both within easy walking distance. One excellent, the other trying hard!
Marion & Les

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I travel a lot on business & normally book accommodation through an agency. I stayed here one night 19th May and received a warm and friendly welcome. The room was large and spotlessly clean & contained all that was needed for a comfortable night. Two pubs locally (only one serving food on a Monday evening) with one of the wonders of the canal age (Caen Flight of Locks) within a reasonable walk away. Breakfast was excellent & the lay out encourages conversation. Warm, friendly, clean in a good location. What more would you need?

Room Tip: No preference, I heard no complaints about any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for two nights 22nd & 23rd May. Very enjoyable stay, Mary & Ben could not have been more amiable hosts. I stayed in the pink room which was large and spotlessly clean. A good power shower and everything you could want. Location was good in a quiet area with two local pubs in walking distance and a few miles from Devizes. Good location to visit Stonehenge / Avebury & surrounding area. Highlight was the excellent breakfast cooked to order. Can not recommend more highly will definitely be using Vine Cottage again when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
2.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
1.9 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blounts Court Farm
Blounts Court Farm
#3 of 22 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage B&B

Property: Vine Cottage B&B
Address: 26 Bunnies Lane, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vine Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet country lane in Rowde, we provide an eco friendly environment without comprimising on quality. Our king room can accommodate a family of 3 with a folding bed. Our twin is on the ground floor. We have freeview TV/DVDs, FREE WiFi and you can also use our sauna and garden. We provide an excellent breakfast with own free range eggs and exclusive to Vine Cottage - "Bens mess". We can also provide vegetarian and gluten free options. Our guest lounge can provide a wonderful relaxing place to sit and meet friends with winter log fires. There is an extensive library for you to help yourself for a charitable donation to the RNLI. We are are proud of our awards, including new for 2015 tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence (5/5) and AA 4 stars + breakfast award. We look forward to adding you to large amount of returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Cottage B&B Rowde, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing