We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend most highly !”
Review of Vine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vine Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommend most highly !”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Such a lovely place to spend three nights ! Rooms not large but wonderfully appointed, and beds so comfy almost made us want to stay in them instead of getting up and seeing the many local historic sites. But the delicious breakfasts ensured we'd arise, and "Ben's Mess" is a culinary adventure not available anywhere else ! Their back garden is an oasis of green veggies and feathered friends, some of whom donate their efforts toward those delicious brekkies ( thanks, Muddy and friends). We will always appreciate Mary and Ben arising at a ridiculous hour in the morning, to see us well-fed before leaving for an early flight. You may be asked for your passport number details, as it is a British law (Immigration Act, Hotel component, 1972) and like everything else at this B and B, things are done correctly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
61
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 great nights at vine cottage run by the perfect hosts Ben & Mary will visit again but for pleasure and not business. I would highly recommend this B&B. There is also 2 pubs nearby so very handy. Thanks for a great stay. Ian.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank esad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at Vine Cottage we sensed we were on a "winner". Our splendid hosts Mary and Ben were immediately welcoming. Their local knowledge is quite extensive, they gave us directions to our venue and told us of local restaurants, complete with opening days and times. We stayed in the "Blue Room" where every effort had been made for our comfort - lovely comfortable beds and pillows, a spacious bathroom containing a shower which was spacious. In other b and bs we have often found converted en - suite facilities to be cramped but this had plenty of room, good for 'awkward 'types like myself whose arms and legs have a mind of their own !!! Breakfast was a sumptuous feast, full english with plenty of fruit, nuts, yoghurts, jams, (you must try Mary's home made lemon curd - yumee! ) toast and juices, alternatively there was amongst other choices, "Bens Mess", we cannot divulge anything more than to say it is a closely guarded personal recipe of Ben's. We will say though that its well worth ordering!! Mary and Bens lovely tranquil garden leads on down to a stream, and they keep their own chickens who supply the eggs for breakfast.The Vine is immaculate throughout, spotless and there is nothing,big or small, that is not provided for your every comfort! We have no hesitation in recommending Vine Cottage, you will be made exceptionally WELCOME by Ben and Mary. The whole establishment is a magnificent credit to their endeavours and well worth a visit. GO, you will enjoy !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilasilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great B&B all round, warm welcome from Mary & Ben, cooked a great vegan breakfast which was delicious and much appreciated. Great bed and shower, important when weary from travelling and nice friendly hosts, thanks. Highly recommend. Great value too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir Lowry's Pass, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were made very welcome after a stressful journey, a complete 'home from home', and not only was the room above expectations, but breakfast was a classic example of what an English breakfast should be, scrumptious!

The room was very quiet, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in, with an en-suite bathroom and immaculate decoration throughout.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very pleasant stay for just one night. Host and hostess very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend to friends and family. Plenty of local eateries nearby. Good local information provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acterhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I travel extensively, so as you'd expect we have a bucket list of key elements we look for in any Accomodation (or restaurant), needless to say not all businesses can cover all elements, but on the whole most of our choices have highlighted the best of the best (and they are often not always the most expensive or the most obvious), we don't usually stay in B&Bs for the fear of disappointment, Vine cottage did NOT disappoint one iota.

The first thing to mention is Ben and Mary, two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet, bubbly, friendly, attentive and welcoming.

We were attending a wedding at the Rowdey Cow about a mile up the road (lovely place), we explained this to Mary who helpfully informed us of their closeness to the venue. After the registrars ceremony in Devizes we headed to the guest house to collect our keys (prior to attending the evening do) and check in (Mary accommodated us checking in earlier than normal).

Immediate warm welcome by Mary, who showed us the Pink room (note: we were offered a ground floor room as an alternative as I was on crutches but we decided I could manage upstairs), which was light, airy and every detail meticulous, towels laid out on bed (bath towel, hand towel and flannel), bottles of drinking water, tea and coffee facilities (mugs were sealed), free fast wifi, flat screen TV, useful in room information, fan, hear dryer, extra blankets, Fruit basket you name it, they had it covered - and most importantly for us immaculately clean, absolutely no detail overlooked (none).

We left with our room keys and headed to the wedding, later that evening when we returned to the area we decided to attend the local pub for a last pint. By coincidence Ben and Mary were in the bar having a Friday night drink together and immediately welcomed us and introduced us to the landlord as their guests - lovely touch.

We had our drink and headed back to Vine Cottage and had a very pleasant nights sleep.

In the morning we went down for breakfast, our acid test for any establishment, we noticed the breakfast award in the in room information so we were intrigued. The dining room was light and well appointed, Mary and Ben bright and bubbly as usual. Mary explained the menu (including Bens mess which sounded great,!) despite all the options available we opted for Full English (Ben cooked), coffee and juice.

Also available as help yourself were wide range of cereals, fresh fruit, coffee and toast with homemade jams.

Whilst the breakfast was being cooked we were informed eggs were from their own hens and all produce was local, quality of the breakfast was wonderful, perfectly cooked, tasty. Score 10 out of 10, it was on per with Claridges in London which is our favourite hotel.

To conclude - Vine Cottage is an idyllic, country cottage situated on a sleepy county lane, very close to the local pub George and Dragon. You are made to feel like a part of the family, which made the experience of the wedding a little extra special, we could whole heartedly recommend Vine Cottage and it's owners Ben and Mary.

We will be back in coming months to see family and will undoubtedly be staying at our home away from home whilst in Wiltshire.

Well done both!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
1.9 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
255 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
304 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage B&B

Property: Vine Cottage B&B
Address: 26 Bunnies Lane, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vine Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet country lane in Rowde, we provide an eco friendly environment without comprimising on quality. Our king room can accommodate a family of 3 with a folding bed. Our twin is on the ground floor. We have freeview TV/DVDs, FREE WiFi and you can also use our sauna and garden. We provide an excellent breakfast with own free range eggs and exclusive to Vine Cottage - "Bens mess". We can also provide vegetarian and gluten free options. Our guest lounge can provide a wonderful relaxing place to sit and meet friends with winter log fires. There is an extensive library for you to help yourself for a charitable donation to the RNLI. We are are proud of our awards, including new for 2015 tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence (5/5) and AA 4 stars + breakfast award. We look forward to adding you to large amount of returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Cottage B&B Rowde, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing