We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great proximity to Stonehenge and Avebury Stones”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookside B&B

Brookside B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookside B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Rowde B&B and Inns
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great proximity to Stonehenge and Avebury Stones”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very comfortable room with firm bed. We had a great sleep. Breakfast was wonderful and Chris even gave us an unexpected gift for our stay with them. Postal code works perfectly for the GPS.
We were only able to stay for one night, but would definitely go back if ever in the area again. Colin suggested we visit the Caen Hill Locks which were just south of Rowde. It was an excellent suggestion as it was a unique sightseeing opportunity we would not have taken advantage of without his suggestion.

Room Tip: Drive through Rowde if arriving from East or South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeandKarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portmacquarie
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thank you both for a wonderful stay. Five minutes after we arrived we felt we were meeting up with old friends. Breakfast entertainment kept us smiling all day. Brookside bear is enjoying his travels and has featured in a couple of photos so far.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merrismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Thank you both so much, you were so hospitable for the short time we were with you... So friendly and kind, amazing breakfast and a beautiful room... Not to forget that you cut your shopping trip short to let us in! Next time we're in Rowde we're totally coming back and I reckon the rest of the family will want to, too!
Thanks to you both, Em and G xxx

Room Tip: Fab garden and upstairs patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flobbillop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

So great!! Perfect location; very clean and quit. Chris, amazing host. Superb breakfast. Very good wifi. My wife and myself felt very welcome and happy all the time. btw, good food around the corner at the George and Dragon (if you like fresh fish from Cornwall)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and me booked this B and B for our first wedding anniversary weekend and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left Chris and Colin made us feel very welcome. They cannot do enough for you to ensure you are happy. When we arrived Chris gave us a lift to Devizes in her car and gave us the number of a taxi company to get us back which only cost us £6.00. We were given a glass of wine and a beer when we returned to the B and B after a busy day out. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very homely. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic and set us up for our drive back to Essex. When we left Chris gave me a special bear for our anniversary. Will definitely be returning in the not too distant future. Cannot recommend Brookside enough...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Our first contact by phone to Colin already confirmed to us that we would be made to feel very welcome when we arrived at Brookside. Having cycled 25 miles along the K&A canal when we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Colin and Chris. Securing our bikes, helping us with our panniers and showing us to our lovely comfortable room - even putting the kettle on for us.
Chris then offered to take us by car to the local pub for an evening meal at the Oliver Cromwell.
Breakfast was first class - the full english! With toast and home made jam.
We would definately go back to Brookside.

Room Tip: Lovely sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Have stayed with Chris & Colin several times over the years and the welcome and stay is always the same - wonderful!!! Nothing is too much trouble and you are immediately made to feel at home. Rooms are warm & comfortable and a great breakfast is ready any time that suits you. Cannot recommend Brookside enough & am already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
0.2 mi away
Vine Cottage B&B
Vine Cottage B&B
#2 of 3 in Rowde
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Blounts Court Farm
Blounts Court Farm
#3 of 22 in Devizes
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
George and Dragon
George and Dragon
#6 of 22 in Devizes
125 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brookside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside B&B

Property: Brookside B&B
Address: High Street, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcomes you to Wiltshire. Situated just two miles from the historic town of Devizes, on the main A342 Devizes to Chippenham Road.'BROOKSIDE' is also situated just 1 mile from the Kennet and Avon Canal and the world famous flight of 29 locks at Devizes. Centrally locateThe village of Rowde has two excellent public houses - 'The Cross Keys' and 'The George and Dragon' both offering excellent food and a fine selection of local ales.Local attraction include Devizes Locks - Avebury Stones / Stonehenge National Trust Attractions e.g. Lacock Abbey / Village - Bowood House Longleat House and Gardens at Warminster and The Steam Museum at Swindon to name just a few. There are also excellent shopping facilities within easy reach with Bath, Bristol, Swindon, Sailsbury, Southhampton and various Shopping Outlet Villages at Wilton near Sailsbury, Street in Somerset and Swindon Railway Village all under an hour's drive away.d for Bath, Bristol, Swindon, Sailsbury and SouthhamptonEach room has tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits, clean towels, soap, hairdryers plus remote controlled flat screen television in each room.A warm welcome and a full traditional English Breakfast awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookside B&B Rowde, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing