We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A home away from home”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
The Cabin at North Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
38 reviews
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub
Lounge area
The shower room
Daytime view from the hot tub
Sleeping area
Lounge area
Lounge area with dvd player and a selection of dvds
Kitchen area with 2 burner hob, microwave, toaster & fridge freezer
Sitting area to admire the view and watch the wildlife from the veranda
Panoramic photo of the view from the veranda in winter
Enjoying a quiet paddle on the pond below the cabin
The view across the fields from the veranda
A wildlife haven including deer, kingfishers and even the occasional otter!
A morning visitor
The view of the Deer visiting the pond from the Cabin
unexpected guests!
Fishing the Border Esk, famous for both salmon & sea trout
The Border Esk is only 5 minutes walk away & we can arrange permits for guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fi2105
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

It's such an amazing little place it was so relaxing and romantic with wonderful views and very pieceful . Stuart and Joanne are very welcoming and the hot tub was an amazing experience . We will be returning in the future

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroline...
leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Boarders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Cabin at the last minute - I was a bit worried at first that it might be a bit of a fisher man's retreat, however I had no need to worry the pictures really do not do it justice and it is lovely; clean, tidy with feminine touches, and everything you need for a very comfortable visit. The hosts are friendly yet leave you alone enough to enjoy the peace and quiet, but close enough if needed for help or advice. We had milk and biscuits on arrival and a host of local tourist information - something for everyone's interest. The area is stunning and the wild life is a treat to behold - the bird feeder outside brought endless hours of joy - as did the greater spotted woodpecker who had breakfast with us every morning at 9:30 am. I would defiantly go again and maybe visit Muckle town for their annual event - Langholm is a delightful village 5 miles down the road and a place to go if you like walking and rivers. Hawkins further on has a Salmon ladders just behind the school once again well worth a visit. All in all a fab find and one we will defiantly use again excellent all round - but don't tell everyone keep it quiet.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the setting
Liked least: silly really but no facility for ice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb tranquil holiday Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Stuart and his wife to the time we were waved off two days later we enjoyed the best bed and breakfast experience we have ever had. The cabin is detached and overlooks a large pond. There were wild birds everywhere including swallows nesting in the eaves. We even saw deer drinking a the pond on our last morning. My daughter stayed in the Lodge and was also very impressed by her accommodation. The breakfast was lovely and I cannot fault anything at all about our stay. I would highly recommend this accommodation and location to anyone who wants a quality bed and breakfast stay. We have already booked for next year.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cabin is detached and has an excellent vista
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1fishingr...
hatt
1 review
“We came for the fish and stayed for the peace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Being an avid fisherman, my husband was keen to try his luck on the Boarder Esk. Stuart could not have been more helpful in arranging tickets and helping with fishing spots - and that was before we arrived! We stayed in the cabin. It was very comfortable and provided everything needed during our stay. Stuart and Joanne were welcoming and friendly and made sure that anything we needed was arranged. The view across the pond is wonderful with plenty of wildlife to see. If you like bird watching, the veranda is the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine while the birds come down to feed. Did he catch any fish? No. But that is fishing for you. However, he had such a good time he is coming back later on this year to give it another go - and enjoy North Lodge and all it offers again. I have a feeling it could be a regular fishing venue.
We want to pass on our thanks to Stuart and Joanne for giving us a wonderful time.
Best wishes,
Angela Coleman.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_h1002
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights in the cabin and it was just as good as the first time I stayed there. Perfect for a relaxing break away from it all. Stuart has great local knowledge and tips to guide you around the local area. The location itself is ideal and is a good location for visiting many local attractions - Ice skating in Dumfries is well worth a visit!! Thanks again, Phil & Marie.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the log cabin for our wedding weekend in July 2012 and it was perfect from start to finish! Stuart and Joanne are perfect hosts - very friendly and added personal touches for your stay. The cabin is very nice, immaculately clean, amazing views with everything you need (fridge, kettle, ironing board etc). The hot tub is the icing on the cake!- a perfect place to relax after our stressful weekend. It was great to relax with a glass of champagne while looking at the beautiful fields and ponds. Furthermore, the breakfast was superb - Stuart is very particular about his eggs and they were the best we have ever had! It was a great way to start the day.

It is a perfect getaway and we would highly recommend it for anyone!

Thanks again Joanne and Stuart!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restless0...
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Private and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in July 2012. The cabin is very cosy and separate from the main house. The view over the pond watching the cattle and sheep grazing on the other side is just the treat to watch while you relax and unwind. We made use of the hot tub despite the rain and it was wonderful. Stuart and Joanne gave a warm welcome and were on hand to give any advice/recommendation.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
3 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing