We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

The Douglas Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My fiancee and I have just spent three nights at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and our dining experiences over all. In fact we ate in the hotel for all three nights which we hadn't intended to do. The food was definitely the best part of our stay - the staff worked their little socks off to provide great service with a smile. The dining room was very busy and it is a bit cramped so we were pleased to eat in the quieter 'breakfast' room the next night.
The rooms were spacious and clean and perhaps not quite as sumptious as they appear on the website - I've stayed in better - but we both would stay here again as it's a great base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AuchterarderJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I have eaten here a couple of times in the past and as we had friends over from Lancashire - one of who had a birthday that day - we surprised them with a meal at this hotel. We were a little apprehensive as the friends can be a little fussy but the food and service did us proud. We took the birthday cake in earlier in the day, and this was brought to the table with candles lit which finished the meal off perfectly. The two young people who were on duty couldn't have been nicer and always had a smile for everyone. Even though we only had the cheaper menu, the food was cooked and presented well. We would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant and won't hesitate to take fiends here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Harrison56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Friendly welcome,good bed and a first rate Scottish breakfast. Bar downstairs and easy parking across the road. Right next to tourist information office and on the main road - thanks to all for a good welcome and great service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petera33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Have stayed at lots of places around the world and always look for good value and appreciate attentive service. Now have 3 children under 5 and stayed here for two nights in an attic room. The owners were thoughtful and went out of their way to be helpful everyday without us even asking for anything. We loved the decor and named the naked woman Aunty Joy and we all had fun saying Peace be with you Aunty Joy when we passed her on the stairs. The hotel is completely individual. The food is incredible, very very tasty, and you can see and smell the chefs cooking fresh each day if you go by the kitchen. Hardly ever write reviews but just had to this time. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterMandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed on saturday night, just for one night only.Only a small hotel but the rooms were nice and clean and very warm.Choice of food good and excellent quality, would not hesitate to go back. Would like to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigsteveChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night to catch up with friends from Scotland, Lancashire and Cumbria. The service was first class, very helpfull friendly staff, but, best of all was the food, excellent choice, reasonable price and delicious. Would not hesitate to come back again, thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heapeyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent a night there last week, bed and breakfast basis. Deceptive hotel, not much to look at from ouside, more than made up for inside with excellent food, comfortable room and attentive owner and staff. Breakfast excellent - also tried diner "special" which was equally good. Fish from nearby Eyemouth "canny be beat"! All in all, good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langholm
0.1 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zara Continental Hotel
Zara Continental Hotel
#3 of 3 in Langholm
16 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
318 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
920 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: High Street, Langholm DG13 0DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Langholm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Price Range: £68 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Langholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing