We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find..made us want to live in the area so we could go to their events!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old School Cafe Bistro
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Langholm
Cuisines: Scottish
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We were on our way back up to Scotland and we passed through this way, a little of the beaten track. Looking online at the map it looked like there was very little in the way of places to stop for something to eat and then all of a sudden we found the Old School cafe. It's a wonderful find, they provide a lot of service to the area and it acts as a hub for social events (juding by their calendar whic looked very appealing, Fish and Chips and board games or a Mexican food night!). The service was very friendly and the food was very good, we have the almond soup with a sandwich. There are board games, magazines available and even a bike pump incase you are cycling through!

In the future I'd be very happy to take the detour off onto this road just to visit again. Well worth stopping at if you are in the area.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AlexMacdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We were touring around the Lockerbie area and looking for somewhere to have a spot of lunch when we came across this old school now a popular community centre . We had excellent homemade soup of the day , leek and potato , followed by homemade cheesecake both were delicious . What a good idea to turn a redundant school into such a thriving and popular community base for the locals and visitors , we had a warm welcome and immediately felt at home

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank JuliaO567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

It was like an oasis. I did not expect to have dinner that evening until the host in my remote bed and breakfast told me about The Old School Cafe. Super variety of dishes. Lovely enthusiastic staff. Beautiful new extension on the back of the old primary school. Also was able to purchase a glass of wine.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank SandiB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Whether you're traveling from Langholm, Lockerbie, the Ettrick Valley or Selkirk you can enjoy a leisurely journey through very scenic countryside and arrive at this little gem. We had an excellent lunch - delicious steak and ale pie and tasty vegetarian lasagne, both with a side salad and heavenly chunky chips (although healthier options are available). This is a new community enterprise which is well worth supporting and a great place to go as part of a day out. Excellent value for money, nice surroundings and friendly service!

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank Silkie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Called in for lunch after a visit to Samye Ling in Eskdalemuir. This is a relatively new enterprise in a beautifully restored building with lots of space and rooms to rent. The food was excellent and all home cooked. Between us we enjoyed home made soup, steak and ale pies, chips and a dessert between us - all scrummy and very good value.
It would be a perfect venue for a party for people of all ages as the is plenty of parking, wheel chair access and wheelchair bathrooms. Very well worth a visit especially if you are looking for a lovely space to rent for a small business.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaggieWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old School Cafe Bistro also viewed

Newcastleton, Borders
Newcastleton, Borders
 
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway
Newcastleton, Borders
 
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Old School Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing