We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect restaurant away from the tourist area”
Review of L'Alchimista - CLOSED

L'Alchimista
Price range: US$31 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ristorante di nuova apertura, in chiave moderna, raffinato e romantico. Cucina tradizionale e creativa. Prestiamo grande attenzione alla qualità dei prodotti, dovuta a particolari ricerche nel territorio e non, unita a un deciso riguardo alla cantina. Servizio accogliente e disponibile, pronto a rispondere alle esigenze del cliente e alle sue richieste. Brand new restaurant, in a modern, elegant and romantic milieu. we offer italian traditional dishes with a creative supply. we pay attention to the quality of our products, due to great reseaches in the area and surroundings, combined with a particular care to the wine cellar. welcoming and helpful service, careful to the requests, desires and needs of our guests.
Derby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant away from the tourist area”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Castello dal Pozzo in Oleggio Castello a few kilometres from the lakeside of Maggiore. We had thought that we would need to go into Arona if we didn't want to eat in our hotel but a fellow guest recommended L'Alchimista which was just down the road. It was perfect in every way. The young lady who served us was charming - she was attentive but not intrusive. The food was amazing! The restaurant is beautifully decorated, air conditioned and absolutely spotless. If you are staying by the lake don't be persuaded to use the busy tourist restaurants. L'Alchimista is well worth the short taxi ride.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Top quality restaurant with attention to detail. Good menu but we chose the "local" menu and the food was the choice of the chef - we were not disappointed. Expensive but worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are a group of 8 on a golf trip to the locality from Ireland. We found this fine restaurant by chance on the second night of our five night visit. It was so good that we had to go back and enjoy the fine food. At the chefs recommendation on the second visit most of is enjoyed four superb dishes that he presented. We were all impressed by the quality of cooking, variety and presentation of the dishes. The only minor inconvenience was that they ran out of the particular red wine that some of party enjoyed but the younger replacement was appreciated. A special mention to the waiting staff and in particular Julia who was very attentive and helpful. We will return for the third time for the final dinner of our visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 9006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We ate here twice during our stay in nearby Agrate. It was recommended by our guest house owners and it was great! On both occasions we were there with only one other table occupied, so very quiet for the Easter period. The staff spoke excellent English to assist our choices of dishes. The food was very, very good, and excellently served. The dining room was done out like a wedding venue - white covered seats and gleaming table cloths. The general decor was clean & crisp. We'll go there again when we revisit the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“....... Wednesday special in Oleggio Castello”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

... restaurants in Oleggio Castello, like boulangeries in France, in a given spot tend to rotate closing days, so on a Wednesday we needed to find a new restaurant, turns out L'Alchimista is the other side of the road from the Bank so spotted it while getting some euros, returned in the evening and got a table without a reservation (07.30 ....ish), there was one couple already seated and within the hour things got quite busy.

Decided to take on the chef's surprise, a menu of four courses with either a fish or meat theme, at €40 for the fish it was not over priced, a nice touch was that you can tell the waitress if you have any particular dislikes to avoid any unnecessary disappointments. The warm bread was quite different to what you normally get in Italy, more French/English if I am honest, the food was very pretty on the plate and taste was as good as I have eaten in similar style restaurants. The service was very professional, languages seemed to be no problem with our waitress capable in french, english, german and italian.

I think I get the method behind the name, after sampling the food and the surroundings it seems that the "alchemy" involves mixing local fare with a more cosmopolitain feel and presentation than you come across in other more traditional restaurants in the locality. This therefore should be the decision maker, do you want to experience good food in a traditional or contemporary sense?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BGuillaumeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Alchimista also viewed

Oleggio Castello, Province of Novara
Oleggio Castello, Province of Novara
 
Oleggio Castello, Province of Novara
Oleggio Castello, Province of Novara
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing