We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
58
51
15
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
51
15
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurrygurkha restaurantnaan breadlambopen kitchenlovely nightnice outdoor areaeasy accessadded bonusforest of deanwell worth a visitwarm welcomechepstowmainsnepalpundiving
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We arrived at 15:30 and were greeted with a warm smile and great service. We stayed for dinner and were impressed with the service and quality of food. All the staff were polite and professional and we could not fault anything. The hotel room was very good value for the price.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotless and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osnauk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Travelled from west Wales just to have a Gurkha curry for the 1st time for many years, well worth the effort, great food and welcome.
Remember to book a table or you may be dissappointed as it gets busy at night. We had booked but it was not recorded,however the ever helpful staff fitted us in (only 2 of us).
Great meal and local cider on draught. Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank organ254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I stayed here in June, not long after Woolaston Inn re-opened. It's now run by 3 retired Gurkhas & Nepalese staff. It's clean & fresh with pleasant decor and they are very polite & friendly. Good value double room - £50 - with full English breakfast included. It's not the Ritz but the rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and have lovely new bedding. TV with DVD & lots of hot water plus tea, coffee etc. the rooms are upstairs, quiet despite being near a busy road. No lift so I guess would not be accessible to people with disability but the downstairs pub & restaurant is all flat & has disabled toilet.

Big car park & outdoor terrace.

The pub incorporates a 'Gurkha Restaurant' serving very tasty Indian/Asian food, a little more expensive than usual curry house prices but they do use local fresh (not frozen) chicken, lamb etc and it's worth the extra quid or two! Landlord Bagbir ("Baggy"!) is a great landlord, very chatty & friendly. All in all a great stay and I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask the check in person for the free wifi!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J-Jools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The Woolaston Inn was a really wonderful find, situated just minutes from the Forest of Dean it is an ideal place to base yourself. Asha and Ivor could not have been more welcoming or more sociable from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The room was spotlessly clean with a comfy bed, Tv and tea and coffee making facilities. The Inn itself is really lovely, cosy and welcoming with a really comfy bar area complete with lots of sofas and and outside decking area. We had an evening meal in their restaurant which has a Caribbean themed menu and was absolutely delicious, Ivor really does know his stuff, I would recommend the Mustique Chicken or Rib eye steak and the Key Lime Pie was just mouth watering. Breakfast was freshly cooked and huge! We didn't eat for the rest of the day! All in all this really is a lovely place to stay, great staff, lovely owners and really friendly locals too....we only live 30 miles away so will be returning soon to sample more of that lovely menu. Thanks Ivor and Asha for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueGBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My partner and i stayed here for his birthday. We had a wonderful stay the room was lovely and the food was excellent. The owners were lovely they couldnt do enough for us. They even decorated our table with birthday celebrations how lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews