We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Taste”
Review of The Woolaston Inn

The Woolaston Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woolaston Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Lydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We've often passed this place on way back from the forest, decided to give it a try, wasn't dissapointed. The staff were very friendly and on the ball, food was excellent and very tasty. Would recommend a visit. Plan to go back soon.Located just outside Chepstow towards Lydney

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for The Woolaston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have recently stayed a this inn. It is easily in reach of Lydney by car, and is close to the Forrest of Dean. The room I was given faced the road which conveyed average traffic, but was not noisy. The bed was comfortable, wi fi available, television, tea making, and room service if needed to change linnen, towels etc, and food in the room if needed. The wardrobe was very small for a double room, but was the largest that would fit. Staff were very pleasant and owners mixed in with the guests. Food, 5 star rating was good, served hot and freshly prepared, However the menue was limited to gurka preparations, no English food except at breakfast and must say that was excellant. All round a very nice place to stay for the price, and I would stay there again when visiting lydney..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We visit on a regular bases and always bring our friends and family down when they visit. Baggy runs a fantastic restaurant where the food is fresh and delicious. The service is old school the staff are kind and friendly. I totally recommend you come and eat here, everyone that try's it comes back for more !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a big family lunch here today to say goodbye to my nephew before he heads off to Uni. We all really enjoyed it and will be going back there again for sure. Even the 'off the menu' hot hot pickle that was given to my father on special request was fantastic. The owner who is an ex Gurkha spent time socialising with us and it brought back memories for both my mother and I from our travels in Nepal. The food is excellent, Nepalese/Indian, clean tasting, healthy and fresh. I had Narayani Prawn Special as i don't eat meat and it was just perfectly cooked. Very calm and gentle service and atmosphere. Just wonderful !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avetoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I love this restaurant. We used to live in the village and would visit often. Recently we were back in town for a couple of days, so we chose to stay here.

The food is excellent. I have described it to friends as "like Indian, only fresher". For starters, the Chhoyola and the Sekuwa are excellent. For mains, try dishes like the Everest lamb, the hill-boy special or Himalayan chicken. Nan breads are light and crisp, truly delicious.

Having now stayed, I can say the rooms are spotless, though perhaps a little basically furnished e.g. our double room had just one bedside table, leaving me nowhere to put my glasses.

Another pleasure was breakfast. It is so rare to have a breakfast cooked to order, and to sit where we could hear it sizzling away was a joy.

Overall, a lovely place, which I am happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingscrivens717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Run by Gurkha to a very high standard.Great setting and internal decoration.. Rooms very comfortable and staff could not be bettered for friendliness and efficiency. The restaurant is a totally different experience, menu based on a mixture of Chinese, Indian and Gurkha traditional food. superbly served by extremely helpful staff and management. A wonderful evening and I am told it is advisable to book in advance for Saturdays.
The only slight let down was the room service. If you want to have you room serviced in a morning, you have to request it on checking in. Once done, all standards are very good. Merely a different approach to individuals privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for one night on a Saturday with my family and the rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff attentive and helpful and the rooms, which were at the front, were not noisy from the road outside at all. Breakfast was really great and we were served by the owner, who is an ex-Gurkha, who was charming and very interesting when we asked about his experiences. All-in-all a very pleasant stay with the only minor problem being quite a strong smell of curry (I think - it was traditional Nepalese food) drifting upstairs from the restaurant below.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydney
7.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
753 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
6.1 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
2.6 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
194 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Whitecroft
The Royal Oak Whitecroft
#1 of 1 in Whitecroft
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolaston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolaston Inn

Address: Woolaston, Lydney GL15 6PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lydney
Price Range: £50 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Woolaston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolaston Inn Lydney, Forest Of Dean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing