We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Woolaston Inn

The Woolaston Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woolaston Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Lydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed last Thursday nite, nice clean room and bathroom and staff nice and welcoming,bar area area lively and pleasant, and the dinner we had in the restaurant was delicious, the breakfast was also good

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room at the front, as traffic is heavy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed at the Woolaston Inn twice now when we have visited this area, both times for 2 nights, the rooms are clean and tidy, the service is first class, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We have eaten in the restaurant on each visit and again the service and food have been first class. If you are visiting this area it is worth staying at the Woolaston Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights ,rooms were spotless .had food in the afternoon which was great.lovely area and owner very polite and helpful .would definitely return
A good base for both England and Wales with stunning scenery all around

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed over at the Woolaston Inn for two nights at the end of June 2014. The hotel was easy to find and centrally located, only maximum 15 minutes drive from attractions such as go ape, the harbour, puzzlewood, clearwell caves and lots more, so we were able to pack lots into our days. It was about 45 minutes drive from Wye Valley. Also if you come out of the hotel, cross the road and walk up the side road opposite there is a farm which leads to the main river, which is a nice stroll in the evening when everything else is closed.

The rooms were fantastic! We had room 6 which was a twin room. It had 2 double beds, good storage space, power shower with a bath tub. They provided us with towels and amenities such as shower gel, soap, shampoo and shower caps. The rooms also included a kettle, tea, coffee and milk.

The staff were polite, welcoming and very accommodating. The breakfast is usually a full english, however as vegetarians they gave us ample helpings of beans on toast, fried mushrooms and tomatoes and also cereal. We were full to our hearts content. We also ate at their restaurant and indulged in lovely Nepalese/ Indian cuisine. Between two of us it was £19 for dinner and we had food left over. The restaurant/ bar seemed to be very popular with the locals and was busy most evenings.

Altogether very happy with the stay and would definitely return to the hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aagud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited the Ghurka restaurant within the Inn with Friends who live close by and had recommended the restaurant to us..We were not disappointed by their choice and really enjoyed the choice and quality of the food .we will certainly return there on our next visit to Lydney

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWalesBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just had really very good lunch at this Inn which is a Nepalese Ghurka restaurant. In need of somewhere that had easy access for a wheelchair we went there and were warmly welcomed and helped in a spotlessly clean dining room. The food was tasty and full of subtle spicing and left us wanting more. This was our 3rd visit and it will not be our last.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HolsHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had been meaning to give here a try for some time, and finally managed to the other day. We got there a little while before they started serving, so had a drink in the bar and waited. Good size, clean dining area, with partially open view of the kitchen. Nepalese food apparently takes its influences from a number of different cuisine’s. The result is the food is full of flavour, but not overly hot like some Indian dishes.
We were brought complementary poppadoms while we studied the menu. To start my wife had the Aludum, a traditional Ghurkha potato dish, I had the Momo, a steamed chicken dumpling dish, both were very nice. For the mains my wife had the Himalayan chicken, slow cooked chicken with ginger, garlic, onion, tomato, and coriander and Nepalese fresh masala. I had the Hill-Boy Special, marinated chicken tikka cooked with garlic, ginger fenugreek leaf and touch of chilli, yogurt and coriander. Both dishes were really lovely. We finished off with one of their tasty ice-creams. The drinks are very reasonable here too. We will be returning at some point I'm sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wales1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydney
9.8 mi away
Littledean House Hotel
Littledean House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Littledean
99 reviews
2.9 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
197 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lindors Country House Hotel
Lindors Country House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Briavels
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
5.1 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
559 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Whitecroft
The Royal Oak Whitecroft
#1 of 1 in Whitecroft
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolaston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolaston Inn

Address: Woolaston, Lydney GL15 6PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lydney
Price Range: £52 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Woolaston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolaston Inn Lydney, Forest Of Dean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing