We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
58
51
17
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
51
17
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry gurkha restaurant naan bread lamb lovely night restaurant food is open kitchen slow service nice outdoor area added bonus forest of dean easy access warm welcome well worth a visit stayed for nights mains chepstow
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Having been to the Gurka restaurant on several occasions we decided to go for a meal on our anniversary. Booked a table for 8.00 and turned up about 7.55. The bar was being manned by one of the regulars because the barman was, "On a stag do". Bought a drink at the bar and sat down, the person behind the bar told the restaurant we were waiting. Despite several reminders at 8.30 when there was still no sign of being shown to our table we paid for our drinks and left. The lady serving in the bar apologised and took our money but there was no sign of anyone from the restaurant. Ended up having fish and chips for our anniversary !!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank suegresty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Had one of the house special curry was full of flavour and delicious. Like the fact with the dishes you could chose how spicy you wanted it. Service was good and the food and drinks reasonably priced.
Will be back for another visit I'm sure!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank butteread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

visited a couple times now camped in garden and stayed as guest. staff really friendly, room excellent value and definitely best Ghurka food ever had.. also had breakfast in morning which was well worth it

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The Woolaston in is a Gurkha restaurant in the Forest of Dean.
The staff are very welcoming and service is excellent.
The menu is varied and the food is cooked to perfection.
The staff go out of the way to make you feel welcome and there is the added bonus of the restaurant having a B+B facility.
All in all a fantastic place which we will visit again.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roguetrooper143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

The room was clean and tidy and for 65 quid for a family with a two year old and five year old, it was a bargain. Great breakfast included. Wifi too. Close to lovely family activities. We ate in the hotel as well in the evening and having just returned from Nepal the food took me straight back there. Ordered a load of dishes and we were not dissatisfied with any of them. Even our fussy children ate them! Mr Pun and his family were very friendly and gracious and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The place is simple and there are no airs and graces but it was perfect for us.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews