We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
58
51
17
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
51
17
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry naan bread gurkha restaurant lamb open kitchen lovely night nice outdoor area easy access added bonus forest of dean well worth a visit warm welcome chepstow mains nepal pun diving
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had a family takeaway from this restaurant. Highly recommend it. Probably the best Indian I have ever had. We had onion Bahji and vegetable pakora to start. Chicken tikka masala, lamb Wollaston special, chicken saag and pilau rice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank caravanholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We had booked a 2 night stay at this hotel and only afterwards discovered it only had a Gurkha restaurant, not good if you have to be careful with what you eat. It is also rather disturbing to be greeted on arrival by a sign saying "closed today" and the doors locked with no visible knocker or bell. After a short time two guys appeared, opened the door and asked what I wanted and seemed amazed when told we had a room booked for 2 nights. After finding a book they did confirm that we were booked in and after asking if we would like to pay, (declined), asked what we wanted for breakfast,, showed us to a room. That room had obviously not been cleaned and the door was hurriedly shut and we were shown to a different room that had been cleaned. In fairness there was no complaint about cleanliness but there were other problems, the bathroom door didn't close properly and the heated towel rail didn't work, the controller for the TV was missing and the electrical fitting feeding the set was loose,. The room was on the front of the hotel, facing a busy main road and the double glazing didn't fit properly so was rather noisey. The next day after breakfast we went out for the day and returned to find our room exactly as we left it. Breakfasts were acceptable but taken in solitary splendour. After checking we found that the good results for these premises were mainly for food and stag nights, either of these would most likely be fine but it is definitely not a place we will be returning to.

Room Tip: Back might be quieter
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Having been to the Gurka restaurant on several occasions we decided to go for a meal on our anniversary. Booked a table for 8.00 and turned up about 7.55. The bar was being manned by one of the regulars because the barman was, "On a stag do". Bought a drink at the bar and sat down, the person behind the bar told the restaurant we were waiting. Despite several reminders at 8.30 when there was still no sign of being shown to our table we paid for our drinks and left. The lady serving in the bar apologised and took our money but there was no sign of anyone from the restaurant. Ended up having fish and chips for our anniversary !!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank suegresty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Had one of the house special curry was full of flavour and delicious. Like the fact with the dishes you could chose how spicy you wanted it. Service was good and the food and drinks reasonably priced.
Will be back for another visit I'm sure!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank butteread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

visited a couple times now camped in garden and stayed as guest. staff really friendly, room excellent value and definitely best Ghurka food ever had.. also had breakfast in morning which was well worth it

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews