We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
58
51
15
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
51
15
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurrygurkha restaurantnaan breadlambopen kitchenlovely nightnice outdoor areaeasy accessadded bonusforest of deanwell worth a visitwarm welcomechepstowmainsnepalpundiving
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

My nephew and I were a little late for our booking, however this wasn't an issue for the staff.
We were taken to our table quickly and our drinks order was taken, with the drinks arriving quickly.
We were quite slow to order, as we were talking too much! But again the staff were wonderful and gracious and didn't put pressure on us to complete our order.
Once we had ordered, the food arrived quickly and was delicious! Both of us leaving very clean plates.
The restaurant is easy to find, being on the A48 east of Alvington, and it has a massive car park. There is a well stocked bar available while you wait....well if you are early!
The decor of the restaurant is very interesting, with many photographs and histories of members of the Gurkha Regiment.
It is well worth a visit and I will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Al2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is second vist here I am not one for curry normally but the food is sublime and a warm welcome always and to see Chef cooking your food is special and it's very reasonable on price, if this place was in town it would be rammed every night !!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had a family takeaway from this restaurant. Highly recommend it. Probably the best Indian I have ever had. We had onion Bahji and vegetable pakora to start. Chicken tikka masala, lamb Wollaston special, chicken saag and pilau rice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank caravanholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We had booked a 2 night stay at this hotel and only afterwards discovered it only had a Gurkha restaurant, not good if you have to be careful with what you eat. It is also rather disturbing to be greeted on arrival by a sign saying "closed today" and the doors locked with no visible knocker or bell. After a short time two guys appeared, opened the door and asked what I wanted and seemed amazed when told we had a room booked for 2 nights. After finding a book they did confirm that we were booked in and after asking if we would like to pay, (declined), asked what we wanted for breakfast,, showed us to a room. That room had obviously not been cleaned and the door was hurriedly shut and we were shown to a different room that had been cleaned. In fairness there was no complaint about cleanliness but there were other problems, the bathroom door didn't close properly and the heated towel rail didn't work, the controller for the TV was missing and the electrical fitting feeding the set was loose,. The room was on the front of the hotel, facing a busy main road and the double glazing didn't fit properly so was rather noisey. The next day after breakfast we went out for the day and returned to find our room exactly as we left it. Breakfasts were acceptable but taken in solitary splendour. After checking we found that the good results for these premises were mainly for food and stag nights, either of these would most likely be fine but it is definitely not a place we will be returning to.

Room Tip: Back might be quieter
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Having been to the Gurka restaurant on several occasions we decided to go for a meal on our anniversary. Booked a table for 8.00 and turned up about 7.55. The bar was being manned by one of the regulars because the barman was, "On a stag do". Bought a drink at the bar and sat down, the person behind the bar told the restaurant we were waiting. Despite several reminders at 8.30 when there was still no sign of being shown to our table we paid for our drinks and left. The lady serving in the bar apologised and took our money but there was no sign of anyone from the restaurant. Ended up having fish and chips for our anniversary !!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank suegresty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews