We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly lovely”
Review of DeanGate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DeanGate Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly lovely”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a large room, huge bed, beautiful quality linen. The location is perfect for exploring the Forest of Dean and surrounding areas. We stayed here two nights and then moved to an old posh hotel in the forest itself, next time I would just stay here. I like Premier Inn - this was better but of a similar standing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    38
    8
    5
    14
See reviews for
60
69
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a first class motel, the staff are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Their recommendation for an evening meal, at the Sun Inn, reflected the attention to detail they obviously maintain. Our disabled room was probably the best we have ever stayed at, with grab rails at every position. The shower was flexible and could be adjusted to suit all needs. The continental breakfast was comprehensive and very well presented at the time we requested it. Our stay, though only for one night, was a very pleasant experience and I would highly recommend this motel to anyone who is visiting this area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband an I stayed for one night on December 20th 2013 and we cannot fault this little gem! The room was massive and the bed so so comfy .Everything was spotless and the bathroom immaculate.Very peaceful so slept very well .Cannot fault this delightful motel.Managers ars so helpful.We will be back x

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or 10 as they are the biggest-but I gather from other people that all the rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandacb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

There's no question about it, the DeanGate deserves all the praise that can possibly be lavished upon it!

Comfortable, convenient, welcoming, very competitive, and the place is cleaner than a surgeon's scalpel.

If only this standard of accommodation was the norm in our tourist sector. One can dream. And how they manage to maintain such reasonable costs I just do not know.

Excellent value, and a very comfortable stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acoustic_willi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight when visiting family in the area. The motel is clean, modern, fresh-smelling [ie no damp] and the rooms have good facilties. There was amplea and easy parking right outside the room. The bedding was clean and warm; the television well positioned and easy to use. There was [as you would expect] tea and coffee-making provision in the room and with plenty of tea etc sachets. We paid around £60 for our stay which we would consider good value in view of the quality and standards that this motel has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddleboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was our first night after we departed on our trip from Devon to Scotland. The Motel is clean, has large rooms, a comfortable bathroom and a great service by the owners Phil and Phyllis. Parking in front of the room door is always very handy. The breakfast came on a tray and the table was a bit overcrowded for eating. That is the one negative remark I have to make. perhaps some would badly look at the neighbour: the Police office is just next door. This adds probably to feel very secure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baumgaertner_Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We travelled to the Forest of Dean for a friends birthday party and stayed in the Deangate Motel. The room was very clean, spacious, parking space just outside the room and large shower in the bathroom, shower gel and shampoo provided and tea and coffee in the room. We had a continental breakfast the next day which was brought to the room. The Staff at the Motel were friendly and I would definetly stay in the Deangate again if staying in the Lydney area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydney
5.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
643 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeanGate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeanGate Motel

Property: DeanGate Motel
Address: Claremont House High Street, Lydney GL15 5DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DeanGate Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deangate Motel, situated on the edge of the Forest of Dean, offers boutique bedrooms, continental breakfasts for just £5 per person per morning, free parking and free Wi-Fi. The elegant rooms at the Deangate all have a modern en-suite bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Rooms also offer a flat-screen TV,sound proof walls, hairdryer and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DeanGate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deangate Hotel Lydney
DeanGate Motel Lydney, Forest Of Dean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing