We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned - still excellent”
Review of DeanGate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DeanGate Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Returned - still excellent”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This is our third visit to the motel. The owners offer a warm welcome & nothing is too much trouble. We found the same high standards of cleanliness & excellent quality rooms for the price. The ability to park outside your room makes for easier loading. Tea & coffee in the rooms a pleasant addition. Plenty of clean towels & toiletries are also available. Please note to ring through for bookings as sometimes the internet system will say full when there is availability. Once again a very pleasant trip, there were 8 guests in our party & all were extremely satisfied.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hayleystansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    37
    8
    5
    14
See reviews for
59
68
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

By keeping the “offering” simple and managing the place with an eye for detail and a disciplined approach the DeanGate Motel gives its guests an excellent stay at a friendly price.

The rooms, the public area and the outside are all kept scrupulously clean, to an extent that is quite unusual in England. The flowerbeds outside the motel rooms are welcoming (at least in July) and suggest that there is someone in charge who loves gardening, though I am not sure when they would find time to do it.

The rooms are a reasonable size for the price, and right now (2014) the furnishings all seem very new. The shower cabin in the en suite bathroom is unusually spacious for this category of hotel. The shower control is a little bit challenging, but once you’ve worked out that the little decorative stud at the bottom of the control panel is actually an on:off button, the thing begins to get easier. (Probably this is not an issue for people who don’t need glasses.) Someone earlier commented that the tap water running into the basin is either hot or tepid. That is not quite right. The tepid tap does run cold eventually, but it does take a few minutes which can feel like an age if you get up in the middle of the night for a sip of water..

Continental breakfast served in the rooms is a great way to wake up. Cereal, yoghurt and toast and (maybe because it was July) nine little delicious sweet and juicy plumbs between the two of us. (I travelled with my son who comes from a generation that has issues with plumbs, so there was no argument resulting from the uneven number of plumbs.) The real joy was that breakfast is £5 per person. There is no restaurant or breakfast room at the Motel itself. For larger meals there are some excellent take-aways (Chinese or Fish&chips and other eating pssibiltities in the centre of the town (some of which close on Mondays) – maybe the furthest away is twenty minute on foot or five minutes by car. That is the (second) Chinese take-away at the far end of the town centre opposite the bus station. The Tesco (supermarket) in town is of a reasonable size, has its own easy parking (and cash machines outside).

Parking at the Deangate Motel is easy – normally directly outside your room.

WiFi connection included in the price is most welcome if you’re a user.

I was trying to think of something negative to write. That is difficult. But for the sake of balance…. There are several wooden benches outside the rooms which is good. They are comfortable which is good. They have an ashtray on each arm which is good for encouraging people not to throw used cigarettes on the ground (which seemed to work) but it leaves you with nowhere at the ends of the benches to put your arms, and sadly the used cigarette butts in the ashtrays can build up very quickly. (Smoking in the rooms is not permitted, which is now normal in England.) I am not sure what the answer is on this.

Our purpose in staying was to find an overnight stop en route to Cardiff where we had a full day of meetings. I mention this not because it is interesting to the reader, but because it is not one of the standard boxes which Trip Advisor provides for you to tick when answers the question "Why?" and I therefore have not yet figured out which of those boxes (if any) I should mark

Overall we enjoyed our overnight stay a lot. It was not expensive. I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend the Deangate Motel to friends

Room Tip: The hotel is at the southern end of central Lydney, so easier to find from the Chepstow side than fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in July,very quiet part of town which is just what we wanted.Ample parking outside.Modern very clean rooms,plenty of eateries around,owners very friendly and helpful,will hopefully be back one day

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here while visiting our family in the Forest of dean
The rooms were spacious Clean and comfortable
The Owners were lovely Nothing was too much trouble for them
They really now how to Run a good Motel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The best place to stay for cycling in the Forest of Dean. Rooms were clean, spacious and airy. Quickly checked in and shown the rooms, free wi fi, lovely large and clean en suite. Parking outside the rooms, place to chain the bikes, staff couldn't do enough. Plenty of places to eat in Lydney and the route to the Cycle Centre about 20 mins away. Our mountain bike club will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogmorelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This place was a gem of a find. Room was spacious and well decorated. Cleanliness was great. Good size bathroom and a good shower. Good quality bedding and towels and a very comfortable bed. Felicity and Phillip who run it are brilliant, they are friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They are very nice people. The location is a good base to explore the Forest of Dean. Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had room 1 it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llanbrynmair
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at the Deangate Motel as my son is a volunteer at the fabulous Taurus Crafts in Lydney. As usual the room was spotlessly clean, bed comfy and the staff very helpful. I am asthmatic so they replaced feather pillows with man made with a cheery smile!
My husband had put his back out and was feeling very unwell. We discovered that the Lydney Osteopaths practice from the building next door and Penny Kavallares very kindly fitted him in with an appointment 20 minutes after we arrived!!! For this, and all sorts of other reasons, the fact that the room was so comfortable was extremely important to us. My husband was able to relax in a peaceful room and start to recover. Many thanks everyone. We will return.

Room Tip: We've slept in the ground floor rooms outside and the rooms in the main building. we have alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicity m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydney
5.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.9 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
5.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeanGate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeanGate Motel

Property: DeanGate Motel
Address: Claremont House High Street, Lydney GL15 5DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DeanGate Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deangate Motel, situated on the edge of the Forest of Dean, offers boutique bedrooms, continental breakfasts for just £5 per person per morning, free parking and free Wi-Fi. The elegant rooms at the Deangate all have a modern en-suite bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Rooms also offer a flat-screen TV,sound proof walls, hairdryer and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DeanGate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deangate Hotel Lydney
DeanGate Motel Lydney, Forest Of Dean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing