We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #22 of 34 Restaurants in Lydney
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our oak beamed historic Inn is situated in the picturesque Forest of Dean with stunning rural views from our unique elevated patio garden.We are perfectly located for tourists and businesspersons who want to travel to Cheltenham, Gloucester, Bristol, Chepstow or Cardiff because of excellent road and rail links. Our welcoming Inn is popular with ramblers, dog owners, fishermen and equestrians al
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I booked through lastminute.com after reading five spot on reveiws on here. We were given a very warm welcome, the staff and locals were very friendly. We ignored the heavy metal music coming from the speakers in the garden and right outside the entrance door. We were keen to explore the local area as we had come to cycle in the Forest of Dean.
However, the longer we stayed the more we decided we probably wouldn't go back.
On the first night we ate in the pub; a beautiful building that has great potential. We ignored the tacky extras. The food was average, pub food and we decided to eat somewhere else on the second night. But again, the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room itself was clean, the ensuite however was shabby; dirty walls and broken bits and bobs And not clean where it was thought you couldn't see. Our room was not serviced as we had to ask for this to happen and hadn't had time to read the handbook...far to busy having a holiday.
On both evenings we were serenaded in our beds by a variety of music from the pub's duke box and the outdoor speakers until just after 11pm, this (after 11pm) included music like the Prodigy.

A lovely building, friendly staff, prime location with great views, but, they are just not quite getting it right.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Made very welcome.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped overnight, member of staff who I think was called Stacey made us most welcome, room lovely and clean, went down for dinner, my only complaint was there was no vegetarian options on the menu, although I was provided with a very tasty veggie breakfast the next morning on request. If I was in the area again I would book a room, although weekends are very noisy!!! We needed an early start the next morning and the music from the pub/restaurant downstairs keep us awake, but on the whole, made very welcome, lovely clean and comfortable rooms, would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank MissDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not great! Disappointing!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The staff were lovely today but I'm sad to say the food was over cooked and not great. IT felt like the chef was off for the day. I'm sorry to say it but we didn't have a great experience and won't be returning. I know I should have said something at the time but I couldn't upset the family and didn't want to make a scene at a special occasion

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mallyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth finding.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Came for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. The pub is off the beaten path. I imagine it probably doesn't get a lot of passing trade because of its location - but it seems popular with the locals and is definitely worth taking the trouble to find. Lovely log fire, stone walls and exposed beams.

Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Nr Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect stop over for the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked the Royal Oak Country Inn last minute the night before we headed to the Forest of Dean. We had a party a few miles from the hotel so its position was perfect. It was in a beautiful setting in the forest of dean a perfect base for exploring the forest itself and also close to the Welsh borders . The hotel itself was lovely, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was fabulous. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue-nosebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Bream, Forest of Dean
Whitecroft, Forest of Dean
 
Parkend, Forest of Dean
Parkend, Forest of Dean
 
Parkend, Forest of Dean
Lydney, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing