We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage has its own fenced garden and patio area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage has its own fenced garden and patio area.
The well equipped kitchen has a full size oven, hob, microwave, and fridge with freezer compartment. The window from the kitchen looks out onto the garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Cottage has its own fenced garden and patio area.
The well equipped kitchen has a full size oven, hob, microwave, and fridge with freezer compartment.
The window from the kitchen looks out onto the garden.
A stable door opens out onto the garden.
The Cottage bedroom
The Cottage bedroom is full of character.
The Cottage bedroom.
The Cottage bedroom.
The Cottage bedroom.
The Cottage bedroom has its own ensuite shower room.
The Cottage garden and patio area
The Cottage garden opens onto the Paddock, and from the Paddock is direct access into Forest of Dean
Monnow Bridge with ancient Gate Tower, Monmouth
Wenchford Picnic Site, Blakeney, Forest of Dean
Bluebells carpet the Forest of Dean in the Spring
Autumn colours in the Forest of Dean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
R5126JRka...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is an ideal location for visiting sites in Gloucester and in nearby Wales. I managed to see Gloucester Cathedral, Chepstow Castle, Tintern Abbey & Tewkesbury Abbey, among other places, and found it easy to travel to and from these places from the cottage.
The Forest of Dean is right on the doorstep and easily visible from the cottage, and I loved being able to look out and see it first thing every morning. The cottage itself was very clean, very tidy, had everything I could possibly have needed. Although I was told that I'd not be able to receive Wifi in the cottage, I was delighted to find that the reception was only slow at times, at others quite acceptable.
I would definitely recommend this cottage to other travellers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
I am glad that you enjoyed staying in The Cottage so much and that the wifi worked for you too! Wifi is good outside The Cottage but, with its thick walls, the signal doesn't always manage to be picked up inside The Cottage.
Thank you for leaving our cottage so nicely :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary J
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding quaint cottage”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

There were three of us that stayed in the cottage. Myself 32 my girlfriend 30 and Sox 9 months who is a maltichon.
At first it was a bit of shock to go from a house to a little cottage.
But it really is perfect. Sox loved the garden and to be able to just walk out in to the forest whenever you want is amazing. The cottage is unbelievably clean and has everything you need.
There is a local tesco for food and drink e.t.c and there are local dog friendly pubs not to far away either.
In the local town there are more takeaways than a small city. We really enjoyed an indian and a pizza. (We were having a very lazy weekend).
Thankyou for an unforgettable experience and we will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
I am pleased that you enjoyed staying in The Cottage so much, and being able to walk straight in to the forest. I think we have the best of both worlds here - in the middle of nowhere and yet within walking distance of the village and only 3 miles from Lydney!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice comfortable cottage, all the equipment you need, very good location for the Forest of Dean exploration.”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Run by very nice people, the cottage is in a holiday complex but you don't notice this, there is a Tesco close by in Lydney for groceries, excellent for dogs as you are on the edge of the forest for dog walks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thanks for the lovely review! I am glad that you enjoyed staying here and walking with your dog straight into the forest. We are 'out of the way' and yet only 3 miles from Lydney town so we have the best of both worlds here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L
1 review
“Lovely cottage in the heart of a wonderful part of the country.”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Dean wood cottage Lydney, we booked for a walking holiday with our dog.
Very enjoyable stay with local pubs and takeaways near by.
Symonds Yat was our favourite.
Will definitely return as one week wasn't enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed staying in The Cottage and also exploring our beautiful countryside. We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Bridg...
2 reviews
“Quiet location, delightful bijou cottage”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A small cottage, beautifully kitted out with all you might need, with the forest at the end of the garden, tucked away on a small site. Very quiet. For any lover of nature and long walks this is ideally situated. Thoroughly recommended. Owner very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am glad that you enjoyed staying in The Cottage and the quietness and proximity to the forest. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S
2 reviews
“Perfect dog-friendly holiday in a perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The week we spent couldn't have been better - both us and our two dogs really enjoyed our stay in the Elaine & John's perfect little Cottage. So much thought has gone into this little gem. It was immaculate and comfortable with lots of local advice about things to do and places to see, and included dog-friendly activities and places to eat. Everything about this break, from the moment of booking to arriving back home went perfectly and hassle-free. The Cottage is an ideal base for exploring all the wonders of the Forest of Dean and it really felt like we were coming home every night, and not just to a holiday let. So peaceful and comfortable and perfectly maintained. Highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed it so much. We love living in this beautiful area ourselves and when our guests love our cottages and the area too it is the icing on the cake for us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laine m
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in this cottage for 4 nights. It was ideal base to explore the forest area. The cottage was very clean and tidy. Very dog friendly with a dog supplies box for our use.
The enclosed garden was a bonus for our dogs. Nice walking from the cottage just a bit hilly on the way back.
We had a great time!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing