We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Private courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private courtyard garden
Platts House Holiday Cottage Pretty courtyard garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Private courtyard garden
Platts House Holiday Cottage
Pretty courtyard garden
Bedroom with king size bed
Dining area
Living Room
Flat screen T.V
Living Room
Woodburner for cosy winter stays!
Cosy evenings in!
Kitchen
Full size cooker - 4 ring hob, oven and separate grill
Large shower cubicle
A 40 minute walk from the cottage will take you to the tranquil Clanna Ponds.
Clanna Ponds. You will often see people fly-fishing!
Clanna Ponds. Feed the ducks!
The Rising Sun, Woolaston Common
Fishing Lakes at Woolaston Court
Nearby walk
View of Tintern from Devils Pulpit. Keen walkers? Its possible to walk to Tintern from the cottage!
The Cottage in winter
Clanna Ponds in Winter
cute and cosy at Christmastime!
Christmas bookings include a seasonal welcome tray including a homemade Christmas cake.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann B
Dersingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really lovely cottage. Big enough for two and lovely and cosy. The owners had put a Welcome tray, including warm bread, homemade jam etc, ready for our arrival. It was situated in a very good position to visit the Wye Valley and Wales. The weather could have been kinder, so we didn't get to use the garden, which was pretty. An altogether great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Used as base for visiting family.”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

After lengthy browsing of the internet for suitable accommodation for myself & partner for a week, I eventually came across this lovely cottage which "ticked all the boxes" (although we would have liked a bath!).
The owner, Elaine, met us at the cottage & showed us in. She had left us a lovely little "welcome package" which included milk & freshly-baked bread, which was much appreciated after our 4 hour journey.
The accommodation was as described, with a cute bedroom upstairs with views (in good weather) across to the Severn from the side window, although we kept the curtain shut at the front window due to a view of the main road!
Downstairs was a cosy lounge with log-burner (we felt a few logs/fire-lighters to use would have been nice), small but very well-equipped kitchen, and shower room. It was spotlessly clean everywhere, the only thing was the smell of dampness, which was why Elaine told us she constantly has a dehumidifier running. That aside, it was still a lovely, cosy cottage, especially after we had sourced logs etc & got the fire going!!
We found it a brilliant location for using as a base to visit family in the Forest-of-Dean, half hour drive away. We also visited nearby Tintern Abbey & Abbey Mills, Berkley Castle, and further afield, Weston's Cider Press (home of Stowford Press Cider) - this is a "must-do" for any cider enthusiast!
All-in-all, we really enjoyed our week and would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful week "away from it all"!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your comments and feedback.

Although you can see the road from one of the bedroom windows, it's a shame you missed the amazing sunsets over the hills towards Wales!

I note you stayed with us in October, and can confirm that we always supply a basket of logs and kindling for every guest during the winter months, however logs and kindling are readily available at the local garage year round should you wish to use the woodburner at other times during the year.

Unfortunately, one of the quirks of owning a 17th Century stone cottage is having to deal with occasional damp issues! However, we manage this very effectively with the use of a de-humidifier which runs 24/7, and should alleviate any problem.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to explore The Forest of Dean and wider area. We haven't actually visited Weston's Cider Press ourselves but feel a visit may be in order!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful getaway!”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was just what we needed for our mini break after our wedding day! The owners were very hospitable providing freshly baked bread and a bottle of bubbly on arrival which was a lovely touch! The cottage was very quaint, well equipped and spotless. It was very well located for walking and Forest of Dean sightseeing. We would definitely recommend staying here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2014
Thank you for the review Alex, glad you enjoyed your stay at Platts House. Best wishes to you and Liam and for your future life together
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rach G
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage!!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just back from a gorgeous long weekend at Platts cottage, it looked amazing but on arrival simply exceeded our expectations.
The cottage is perfect- clean, cosy and has all the necessary utensils!!
Elaine is extremely welcoming, the homemade bread, jam and butter etc was a lovely welcoming gesture, we were left to our own devices, but when we had a couple of questions regarding the local area, Elaine was extremely helpful. Thankyou!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2014
Many thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your weekend. Always happy to have fellow supporters staying at Platts House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAIRESMI...
2 reviews
“A lovely welcoming and cosy cottage that has everything you need to enjoy a break away.”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for a week at platts house cottage and couldn't ask for anything more ! The cottage has everything you need, lovely location close to Chepstow, Forest of Dean, plenty of places to visit and see near by. Elaine was very welcoming and friendly made our stay a delight. We would happily stay here again and would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooey_moo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great little getaway cottage!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Very clean and modern cottage - loved the little treats on arrival! :) Kitchen was well equipped, and the overall place was really comfortable and homely - Would definitely stay here again! Close to shops and fishing lake too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleBri...
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage, fantastic for exploring the Forest of Dean & local area”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had 3 nights at this fabulous self-catering cottage, from which we explored the surrounding area, including Chepstow and the Forrest of Dean.

The cottage itself has been done up to a very high standard - a real home away from home. We loved the set up, with the lovely bedroom upstairs, and the living quarters downstairs. Unfortunately the weather was still a little chilly, otherwise we would have definitely made use of the courtyard for a glass of wine in the evenings.

A car is a must and then you are only a few minutes drive from some amazing natural attractions and a great farm shop that sells a range of delicious local and regional produce.

On arrival the lovely owner had kindly left us some yummy treats, including freshly baked bread that was still warm from the oven, butter from a nearby farm and homemade jam. Delish!

Highly recommend - great value for money!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2014
Glad you enjoyed your short break at Platts House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing