We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag!”
Review of The Boat Inn

The Boat Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Kielder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Boat Inn, sits on the edge of the Kielder Water and has fantastic panoramic views. Our chef’s work to bring you the best seasonal produce and create a menu full of delicious meals for you to pick from. Pick from snacks, starters, mains and desserts; if you have an allergy simply let us know and we will be happy to cater to your needs. We also have a children’s menu for the little ones to pick from complete with colouring in sheet to keep any hunger pangs or boredom at bay. If you would prefer to not eat we also have a range of hot and cold drinks both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. Please be aware we do not serve food from 4.00pm to 5.00pm.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A mixed bag!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We ate here three times whilst staying on adjoining caravan site. Overall it had very pleasant atmosphere with lovely views and good food, if a bit overpriced. A few mistakes though - but to be fair they were rectified or money refunded. The menu is a wee bit limited - would have been good to have more local meat and fish. Overall - can't give a very good so have to give average where "good" might be a better description!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    76
    45
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awful cafe in a beautiful spot ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Four of us sat down in this restaurant, which is in a wonderful lakeside location. Unfortunately the food was awful and the service was such that it was clear that no - one cared.

I had a mushroom risotto containing fungi that I had difficulty cutting and even more difficulty chewing! These were set in a mush that exists once rice has been cooked for so long that the grains are no longer discernible.

What a shame; this should be a goldmine that offers food to match the superb facilities and surroundings if Kielder Water.

Tip .... take sandwiches!

Helpful?
Thank Xeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked a table here for an evening meal on Friday night whilst en-route to the Kielder Observatory. The food was lovely & very well presented, couldn't fault any of it. The service was fast even though it was busy and the staff were great and really friendly & helpful. It was a good price too for what you got. We had stunning views a cross the lake from our table. I would recommend. We will be returning soon x

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from a week at Kielder Water where i ate at the boat inn on 3 occasions,each of which got progressively worse!
On our first visit the food was OK but the service was a bit weird when we asked staff where the toilet was they replied "We don't have a toilet just a bucket" then when we all just stared blankly back they laughed and gave directions to the loo?? This seemed to be the standing joke between the staff? When we then went to pay our bill they mixed up our bill with another parties Bill this was eventually sorted out
On the 2nd attempt at a meal here my daughter and son in law paid for 2 adult and 2 children's carveries when they entered the queue for these meals they saw there wasn't enough food left and when they asked if more food was coming they were told no so they asked for a refund which staff were able to sort out, and we were given a round of free drinks
On our final visit my daughter ordered a burger meal when this arrived she opened this to find 2 hairs on the burger. This was returned and again we were given a refund, and offered free drinks which we didn't accept
I was at this point very angry and complained to the reception staff at Keilders main reception. I also spoke with the restaurant manager and we were offered a free meal for the whole family at the restaurant , which as you can imagine we turned down.
I know this is quite long winded but i really want others to be aware before spending their hard earned cash here. The food quality was terrible and the service was poor.
Take my advice and drive a further 10 minutes down the road to The pheasant inn, no magnificent views over the lake but wonderful service and delicious food :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Serious contender for best pub view ever.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely stunning view from the garden and window seat in the restaurant. Book first! Then leave time to wander round the shore pathway. We really enjoyed the food: good pub grub, tasty, filling and well-presented. Staff really friendly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepsi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat Inn also viewed

Kielder, Northumberland
Stannersburn, Northumberland
 
Kielder, Northumberland
Bellingham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing